learning japanese

buyaodawo

ender51244 said:
yeah. i got 2 friends who do that. now they studying in university liao. what we learn in jcs 1 year, i think they only spend 2 to 4 weeks to teach.

actually, the school fees is okay. it is the living expenses that kill. My friends went for a japanese university for preparation school where international students gather. and they provide dormitory for you to stay. the use of dormitory and water/electrical expenses is about 1,000 a month. and if you dun visit the restaurants often, just feed on supermart's onigiri most of the days, you should be able to save alot.

the preparation school focus on intensive Japanese training everyday, and a few hours of other subjects you have to take, like mathematics, Japan and the world, science (chemistry, bio, etc) and so on. for Japanese, you normally have grammar lessons in the morning, oral and listening in the afternoon. so this trains you to speak very well.

When you head out. let's say you want to order something from ... say, the canteen, you have to order in Japanese. if you can't, you still have to force yourself to ask. and in doing so everyday, you will watch, observe, learn and experience for yourself. if you get yourself embarrassed at first, i think it is okay. from there, you will learn this for life and never make the same mistake again.

and if you think u need to get some entertainment like.. overnight ktv, bowling, shopping, snooker and so on, you can always earn your expenses by working. Most of the chinese will work as waitress or service officers (they have very strict standards, but it is a good training) so that they will be exposed to the Japanese more. in this way, they will pick up japanese faster and earn some extra expenses. anyway, most of the university studies work to earn their expenses. not every japanese can afford the education there. so most of them will earn their pocket money by working. and depending on your job, the amount varies. i have seen a variety show on uni girls working as cabaret as part time job, gets to earn even more than some full timers working over there.

so all in all, in a year, with everything included, would be around 65,000 sgd (without entertainment expenses). and this is for the livestyle in the extremely expensive tokyo. if you go other places like sendai and so on, you will only spend 2/3 of what you spent in tokyo. but it is better to check out the fees and rates properly. my friends only give me a rough figure when i'm considering whether to go over there to study or not.

as compared to australia's university studies of 45,000, Japan is slightly steep because of the expenses. but if that's your dream and you want to go for it, you shouldn't hesitate. however, for university studies in Japan, the fees will be much higher than this price... because university fees are very expensive and unless you approach JSSO for lodging, you will need to rent you own house, which your expenses will be doubled.

Aus is actually much much cheaper for me becos my relative is staying over there. And her house have a extra room.

Ya the expenses are crazy there. I went there once a few years ago. The only way for me to stay there is to stay in my friend's house(Tokyo). But I doubt that will be a good idea to stay there for a whole year..... And I still have some contract here and there in Singapore.

I will go Tokyo again soon this year, I will check it out when I go there.

For now, I have to go for Singapore schools. I don't really want to go JCS becos it takes long.... Same with all the 1 week 3 hours lesson.

ender51244

haha.. yes. unfortunately, JCS is long. but cheap. haha~ too bad i dun have time like you have to study japanese.

one more thing you can do is to perhaps ask ur friend if you could rent the room at a lower rate. that might not make you too awkward. but you might have to consider the distance between your school and your friend's home. if you have to take the expensive subway there, sometimes it is better to stay nearer the school and cut the subway fares.

the transportation i took back in japan (after i lost my JR pass) is no joke. imagine you need to take a long train ride everyday to school... will make you spend more.

buyaodawo

ender51244 said:
haha.. yes. unfortunately, JCS is long. but cheap. haha~ too bad i dun have time like you have to study japanese.

one more thing you can do is to perhaps ask ur friend if you could rent the room at a lower rate. that might not make you too awkward. but you might have to consider the distance between your school and your friend's home. if you have to take the expensive subway there, sometimes it is better to stay nearer the school and cut the subway fares.

the transportation i took back in japan (after i lost my JR pass) is no joke. imagine you need to take a long train ride everyday to school... will make you spend more.

JCS is very affordable that attracting me also. I wouldn't know what I will be doing in 1~2 years time so I might not have the time to study Japanese later on. So trying to squeeze as much as possible within this "free" time heh.

Ya I guess so. I don't know if he stays alone or with his family and stuff like that. Haven't been to his house yet :p

ShougunX

buyaodawo said:
JCS is very affordable that attracting me also. I wouldn't know what I will be doing in 1~2 years time so I might not have the time to study Japanese later on. So trying to squeeze as much as possible within this "free" time heh.

Ya I guess so. I don't know if he stays alone or with his family and stuff like that. Haven't been to his house yet :p
What u doing now? studying? Working?

ender51244

buyaodawo said:

lol~ ganbatte ne~

and i read the tokyo property prices are up by 1% ? people say it is a good sign... because economy is recovering. its bad sign for us, honestly, because when property prices rise, you rent will rise too. so better make up your mind... its not easy to get placement in japanese schools. and school starts every april. (which means next year, if you plan to go Japan for studies)

buyaodawo

ShougunX said:
What u doing now? studying? Working?

Working(sort of). Completed my diploma and army already.

I still have responsibilities within my house like give my mum allowance and stuff like that. So it's not easy to go over to Japan especially the expenses is very high. Exceed my whole savings liaoz lolz.

JoySakurai

if got $ can come ikoma~ ^^

im studying at ikoma, really good, but don't know if i can continue after intimediate coz its really pricey for me.. kinda, wayyy too x for me lor..
so mayb gonna find a cheaper place after that or sth..
=(

ShougunX

ender51244 said:
lol~ ganbatte ne~

and i read the tokyo property prices are up by 1% ? people say it is a good sign... because economy is recovering. its bad sign for us, honestly, because when property prices rise, you rent will rise too. so better make up your mind... its not easy to get placement in japanese schools. and school starts every april. (which means next year, if you plan to go Japan for studies)
Tokyo property price are exorbitant by any standards even when it is 'cheap'....Rents can run into tens of thousands a month for a small store in Tokyo. Btw, some schools (esp unis) have 2 starting semester, one in april, and one in august.

buyaodawo>>ya i know it's almost impossible to take one yr off to study in japan. But since u are still young ( i assume u are born in 1982/83/84), why dun you start out searching for work in a japanese company (like me:D) and it can help much in your learning of the language. Some japanese companies even sponser japanese lessons and jlpt tests.....

buyaodawo

ShougunX said:
Tokyo property price are exorbitant by any standards even when it is 'cheap'....Rents can run into tens of thousands a month for a small store in Tokyo. Btw, some schools (esp unis) have 2 starting semester, one in april, and one in august.

buyaodawo>>ya i know it's almost impossible to take one yr off to study in japan. But since u are still young ( i assume u are born in 1982/83/84), why dun you start out searching for work in a japanese company (like me:D) and it can help much in your learning of the language. Some japanese companies even sponser japanese lessons and jlpt tests.....

I can do that too I guess. But I already got other companies(non japanese) which want to employ me. Sort of aquintance kind of thing. The pay will be slightly higher as I would be treated as a experienced staff instead of fresh staff.

I really don't mind the cost for Ikoma(full time) but I will have to think about my overseas schedule which is still unconfirmed !!! :(

2 Weeks overseas will really screw up my studies there.

ender51244

for kids course, inoue school has lessons for kids. so does ikoma and aoba language school.

For full time courses, it seems like only Ikoma, Aoba and Cambridge Lanaguage Centre provides full time courses.

Inoue and cambridge language centre provides "study in tokyo" courses for periods ranging from 6 months to 2 years. i'm not really sure about the cost... coz i didn't call up and ask.

List of Japanese Schools in Singapore [extracted from my bookstall] :

Akizuki Japanese Language School
tel: 6292 7808
homepage: information not available

AOBA Language Centre
tel: 6334 0123
homepage: http://www.aoba.com.sg

Bunka Japanese Pte Ltd
tel: 6737 3601
homepage: http://www.bunkalang.com/index.htm

Cambridge School of Languages
tel: 6336 4556
homepage: http://www.cambridge.com.sg/languages/japanese.htm

Hougang Japanese Language School
tel: information not available

Ikoma Language School
tel: 6238 0288
homepage: http://www.ikoma.com.sg

Inoue School of Language & Art Pte Ltd
tel: 6333 3318
homepage: http://www.inoue.com.sg/home.htm

The Japanese School
tel: 6775 3366 / 6778 9710 / 6545 1941)

JCS Japanese Language School
tel: 6338 8964
homepage: http://www.jcss.org.sg

Pyaess Japanese Language School
tel: 6535 4229

Yano Language Services Pte Ltd
tel: 6220 6884
homepage: http://www.yanolas.com.sg

ShougunX

buyaodawo said:
I can do that too I guess. But I already got other companies(non japanese) which want to employ me. Sort of aquintance kind of thing. The pay will be slightly higher as I would be treated as a experienced staff instead of fresh staff.

I really don't mind the cost for Ikoma(full time) but I will have to think about my overseas schedule which is still unconfirmed !!! :(

2 Weeks overseas will really screw up my studies there.
Hmm...guess the next best option is to go for normal classes. Actualli, some companies gave out language allowances (can range from 300-1000+) if you have acquired a certain standard of language skills if that is required in the job (no, not me, i dun have any haha but just wanna have the experience of working with japanese and honing the language).....

buyaodawo

ender51244 said:
for kids course, inoue school has lessons for kids. so does ikoma and aoba language school.

For full time courses, it seems like only Ikoma, Aoba and Cambridge Lanaguage Centre provides full time courses.

Inoue and cambridge language centre provides "study in tokyo" courses for periods ranging from 6 months to 2 years. i'm not really sure about the cost... coz i didn't call up and ask.

List of Japanese Schools in Singapore [extracted from my bookstall] :

Akizuki Japanese Language School
tel: 6292 7808

AOBA Language Centre
tel: 6334 0123
homepage: http://www.aoba.com.sg

Bunka Japanese Pte Ltd
tel: 6737 3601
homepage: http://www.bunkalang.com/index.htm

Cambridge School of Languages
tel: 6336 4556
homepage: http://www.cambridge.com.sg/languages/japanese.htm

Hougang Japanese Language School
tel: information not available

Ikoma Language School
tel: 6238 0288
homepage: http://www.ikoma.com.sg

Inoue School of Language & Art Pte Ltd
tel: 6333 3318
homepage: http://www.inoue.com.sg/home.htm

The Japanese School
tel: 6775 3366 / 6778 9710 / 6545 1941)

JCS Japanese Language School
tel: 6338 8964
homepage: http://www.jcss.org.sg

Pyaess Japanese Language School
tel: 6535 4229

Yano Language Services Pte Ltd
tel: 6220 6884
homepage: http://www.yanolas.com.sg

Thanks for the comprehensive information :)

WillieTan

Hey guys, i'm 20 this yr, getting enlisted next month! But i'm in Pes E. Thus everyday 8 to 5, wish to better utilise my time so any suggestions which sch better suit me? I'm VERY interested to pick up Japanese! Living in the north.

hi. im also currently in ns but im a stay-in personnel. i'd like to study jap too. actually i learnt jap for around 1.5 years at moelc during my secondary school time before dropping it. if my memory doesnt fail me, i learnt kanji and hiragana and basic speech already.

can you guys recommend me schools for me? living in bishan. i'd like the courses to be geared towards jlpt3 if possible since having read the above replies that level 3 and 4 are rather similar. which school has weekend classes?

thnx for help.

ShougunX

sembawang ah...hmmm....think if u all realli wan, i recommend JCS at bugis. Central area is they have direct links with Ambassy of Japan & JAC too. Ender51244 has alreadi provide a very comprehensive list. Pls call the schools to check on the rates, schedule etc.

VH2006

thousandisland said:
hi. im also currently in ns but im a stay-in personnel. i'd like to study jap too. actually i learnt jap for around 1.5 years at moelc during my secondary school time before dropping it. if my memory doesnt fail me, i learnt kanji and hiragana and basic speech already.

can you guys recommend me schools for me? living in bishan. i'd like the courses to be geared towards jlpt3 if possible since having read the above replies that level 3 and 4 are rather similar. which school has weekend classes?

thnx for help.

Hi, perhaps you could try Bunka Language Private School in Delfi Orchard. You have to take a placement test if you do not want to start from scratch.

v1hypersg

went to apply for JCS intensive course for jun to nov 2006, but i am on waiting list,

so i am afraid that i cannot be enrolled for the classes,

after reading through the past posts, it seems that bunka hav oral components which is good and JCS offern grammar components,

is there any school that have the strengths of both schools ?

money is not a problem but cannot afford personal coaching so what do you guys suggest /

i am staying in the east, and i want to start my japanese classes soon and improve my japanese language ability,

pls help

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.