learning japanese

alpha_helix

oic... thanks alot. does anione knows of any prep schools? care to share some advices, my standard right now is about jlpt 3

alpha_helix

thanks symb10te, i have read through the webby u gave and found the prep schools. however, i have found 4 prep schools which are to my liking and i feel is ok. im new to this and i hope anione can give me some advice or comment on the 4 schools i have chosen, if anione had frens who studied at aniwhere else pls oso tell mi, thx alot. i am aiming for the 1yr course. thank u all very much

the 4 prep school websites are
http://www.jasso.go.jp/tokyo/index_e.html
http://www.naganuma-school.or.jp/school_2/en/home/index.html
http://www.shukutoku-school.com/yy_default.asp
http://jet.ac.jp/english/index.htm

the_gryffindor

Ghostie said:
Try out the community centres.. they offer cheap classes on Japanese...
Hmm I don't think so because CCs offer only weekly sessions of 1.5 hours. Commercial schools like bunka offers 3 hours per session.

CCs charge $100 and bunka charges $200

the_gryffindor

read a few messages about the JCCS courses being cheaper. Can someone share and tell us the cost?

I know Bunka charges around 200+ for 8 sessions of three hours each.

ender51244

alpha_helix said:
sry if i did not notice some of the ans which u already have posted, and also whats the diff between prep sch and intensive course? intensive course only focuses on japanese and nothing else?
Preparation school is just as the name gives - Preparation for universitiy education.

Intensive courses lets u know Japanese in more in-depth. not only the language itself, but also the culture. one of the projects my friend did was on Kansai Ben. its like.. you dun just study japanese, but its other dialects and so on. Its something like ... you majoring in Japanese Studies in NUS.

symb10te

alpha_helix said:
thanks symb10te, i have read through the webby u gave and found the prep schools. however, i have found 4 prep schools which are to my liking and i feel is ok. im new to this and i hope anione can give me some advice or comment on the 4 schools i have chosen, if anione had frens who studied at aniwhere else pls oso tell mi, thx alot. i am aiming for the 1yr course. thank u all very much

actually, for your case i really suggest you go for the counselling session offered by the Embassy of Japan in Singapore.

Counseling Sessions for Studying in Japan
Japan Study Advisor: Madam Rumi Ninomiya

Counseling sessions are held only on FRIDAYS from 8:30am to 11:30am.

Tel: 6733-3957 / Fax : 6733 2957

PingJun

Today is my 1st day of Japanese lesson.

Usually, on 1st day, what does the teacher teach?

BTW, how come nowadays didn't see any more Japanese input?

PingJun

Actually I am interested, but because I haven't even finish (or rather, start) my basic.

Thus, too difficult for me to understand......

ShougunX

haha ender, told u it'll die off. It's also rather hard for some to show their appreciating of our input. Anyway, my job scope has just been increased 2-3 fold. haha. dun think i can come to hmz so often but i'll check back every now n then. instead of just inputing vocab, let's just welcome all questions regarding the language. i hope i can help in watever areas i can.

pingjun>> memorise all the hira n kata. U'll find ur basic a breeze. More often than not, those that do not bother to memorise the characters find it hard to follow as the sensei uses less n less roma-ji.

ShougunX

Btw, those tat wish to take JLPT, pls be reminded tat the dateline is nearing in September.

PingJun

ShougunX said:
pingjun>> memorise all the hira n kata. U'll find ur basic a breeze. More often than not, those that do not bother to memorise the characters find it hard to follow as the sensei uses less n less roma-ji.

Thanks for your advice.

BTW, how do you all write the word "a"?

For the 3rd stroke, will there be a little stroke coming out?

PingJun

For the numbers, 4 is pronounced as yon or shi, 7 as nana & shichi, 9 as kyu & ku.

So, when should I pronounce 4 (for example) as yon & when as shi? What about the others?

What about when pronouncing the telephone numbers?

VH2006

PingJun said:
For the numbers, 4 is pronounced as yon or shi, 7 as nana & shichi, 9 as kyu & ku.

So, when should I pronounce 4 (for example) as yon & when as shi? What about the others?

What about when pronouncing the telephone numbers?
Month - Shigatsu (April)

Telephone - yon

ender51244

ShougunX said:
haha ender, told u it'll die off. It's also rather hard for some to show their appreciating of our input. Anyway, my job scope has just been increased 2-3 fold. haha. dun think i can come to hmz so often but i'll check back every now n then. instead of just inputing vocab, let's just welcome all questions regarding the language. i hope i can help in watever areas i can.
shougan, yeah. i know it will die off. expected mah.

i'm just thinking... here i am trying to help, but no one seems to appreciate that... then why help ? besides, they think i am so free ah ? I also have to work too (work is driving me nuts. so much office politics and pushing around). and here i am, spending early mornings or late nights inputing some of the vocab i know or i think is interesting and not a single word of appreciation. clearly, even for gratitude, no one even spend half the effort of what i spent. either that, or they dun that interesting nor helpful. after a few weeks of trial, i think its enough.

well, in any case, let them explore themselves. whether they give up halfway (like my brother do) or they continue to learn with great interest, its up to them. i will continue to learn what i learnt from my teachers and the "japanese environment" i live in.

speaking of JLPT, are you going to attempt level 1 this year ?

PingJun - too bad hor. being interested and being appreciative is entirely 2 different matters.

Pronouncing phone numbers is entirely up to you. but for people to clearly recognise the numbers over the phone, it is better to say 4 as yon and 7 as nana and so on.

Writing hiragana characters can be found here. usage of numbers and WHEN/WHAT to use can also be found there.

PingJun

Thanks. Because I read from a Japanese textbook I bought many yrs ago that for telephone, the nos 0, 4, 7 & 9 should be read as zero, yon, nana, kyu respectively.

However, last night, I asked my sensei, he said can also pronounce as rei / shi / shichi / ku. So a little confuse.....

BTW, how do you all write the hiragana "a"?

Nanashiro

There are different ways to pronounce certain Kanji. Sometimes its the "Chinese" way sometimes its the "Japanese" way. And for the telephone numbering, they use those as you said as they are more announced and wouldn't be easier to differiate them when someone's giving the number. Example: Shi and Shichi sounds quite close, thats why they use yon and nana instead.

ShougunX

PingJun said:
Thanks for your advice.

BTW, how do you all write the word "a"?

For the 3rd stroke, will there be a little stroke coming out?
erm....it's up to preference by if i interprete ur question correctly, it shud be contained within the 3rd stroke sumthin like a 'no'

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.