learning japanese

dimitri_can

dimitri_can is a very good speaker and by conversing with him, he point out my mistakes and i learn from my mistakes.

There are a lot of senpais and experts here.... dimitri_can is one of the very good experts here in HWZ and can provide you very good advice, guidance and direction...

よろしく

そんなことを言わないで。。。

光栄の至りです. =)
------------------------
1級文法 

1番:名詞+至り (the utmost.... )

2級文法 

1番:普通形+からといって(although)

3級文法 

1番:ます-形+かた(the way of doing ~)

4級文法 

1番:名詞1は 名詞2です (Noun 1 is noun 2)

dimitri_can

Thanks for your encouragement... just wondering if anyone is also facing problems with the ni, wo, ga, de, no (the particles)? I am not sure when to use the correct one... then I also have problems with the donna, dou****e, dou, douno, doko... dunno when to use the right one.... seems confusing to me....

Basic 1 Term 2... hmm, i don't say so chim first.

を(wo)名詞(noun)他動詞(transitive verb)
Action (verb) is done on the noun.

私は ごはん を 食べます
I eat rice (the action of eating is done on the rice)

他動詞 are those that you are currently learning (L6,L7)

の(no)
Means 之/的 (if you know what i mean)

わたしのかばん(我的包包)

風の魔法 (风之魔法)

で(de)
Chapter 5: 乗り物(transport)場所(place)へ行きます/来ます/帰ります
Go/come/return home by _________(type of transportation)

わたしはバス  へかえります
Chapter 7: 場所(place)+で+______
Do something at a place

部屋 で 食べます

ahmahippo

Just started Basic 2 Term 1 at Ikoma... getting more and more difficult... getting "lost" in the classes... I am attending the twice a week classes... quite siong for a working adult.... but hope to clear JLPT 3 end of this year.. so still trying very hard to understand what is going on....

Realized that there's a lot of memorization to be done.... normal? Seems that the sensei prefers us to use Hiragana to Kanji... if we write Kanji, we have to add the furigana at the top of the words.... can we write Kanji for the JLPT 3 exam?

me going in soon :D
but hor, how's the test there?

noelnoel

just received my results today
passed my elementary1 at bunka
going to register for elementary2~

terraj

You can probably survive with 1000 SGD for 2 months but that might make you quite miserable cos you'll be eating convenience store food everyday. Fukuoka has a lot of fantastic food and if you're studying in a school you'll be meeting friends who you'll wanna dine with at nice places. My friend who went on a two month trip ended up spending a lot more than he budgeted for (40k yen) because it was just difficult to do so.

The food isn't expensive though. Maybe about 600-700 yen for a nice lunch; 2000 yen for all you can eat buffet. I recommend you budget higher, at least 1500 sgd which is about 100k yen for your extra expenses that you might buy while you're there. I brought about 100k for 1 month in Fukuoka. Didn't spend it all of course but it's important to have spare cash in case of emergencies or rare things u might wanna get.

Where will you be studying btw? GenkiJACs? There's a new school called Wahaha Japanese language school set up by ex GenkiJACs teachers and they're a lovely bunch of people. I had the chance to hang out with the teachers on Christmas eve (GenkiJACs is all right as well though and they might have a bit more experience)
You can check out the schools on Facebook.
Wahaha http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=logo#/group.php?gid=142882250091&ref=ts
Genki http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=logo#/group.php?gid=2528721497&ref=ts

bumblebee>> Cuz jlpt uses hiragana more often than its kanji, as its international and caucasians are taking it too. And, they are probably afraid that you may not know the exact hiragana for it like its isshoni not ishouni etcetc.

NUS syllabus kills beginners.

Btw, for those living/lived in Japan, how much did you spend on food and touring around? I'm gonna study in Fukuoka for 2 months. I was thinking $1000 shud be enough? Am I unrealistic? Excludes my accomodation and utility bills of course.

ahmahippo

You can probably survive with 1000 SGD for 2 months but that might make you quite miserable cos you'll be eating convenience store food everyday. Fukuoka has a lot of fantastic food and if you're studying in a school you'll be meeting friends who you'll wanna dine with at nice places. My friend who went on a two month trip ended up spending a lot more than he budgeted for (40k yen) because it was just difficult to do so.

The food isn't expensive though. Maybe about 600-700 yen for a nice lunch; 2000 yen for all you can eat buffet. I recommend you budget higher, at least 1500 sgd which is about 100k yen for your extra expenses that you might buy while you're there. I brought about 100k for 1 month in Fukuoka. Didn't spend it all of course but it's important to have spare cash in case of emergencies or rare things u might wanna get.

Where will you be studying btw? GenkiJACs? There's a new school called Wahaha Japanese language school set up by ex GenkiJACs teachers and they're a lovely bunch of people. I had the chance to hang out with the teachers on Christmas eve (GenkiJACs is all right as well though and they might have a bit more experience)
Wahaha http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=logo#/group.php?gid=142882250091&ref=ts
Genki http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=logo#/group.php?gid=2528721497&ref=ts

wonder who are allow to go there to study? :s11: i mean what level.

Yea....I know I need to survive on cheap bentos everyday in order to save, and that eventually I'll be tempted to walk into those stalls or restaurants. :s22:

I'm studying at NILS. Its financially student-friendly. XDDD
http://www.nils.gr.jp/
For my course, its only ard SGD750-800 per month. And the cheapest lodging is only SGD250 a month excluding the utility and registration bills.

Oh! I thought GenkiJACS was in Tokyo at first...Seen the website before. It looks good too! And LOL that WAHAHA language school's name is funny! Looks like they have varied courses, and weekend homestay options for those not doing homestays. The latter part is what I wish for...But arhhh! I've already signed up with NILS. Anyway its cheap. :)

Ok, I think I will raise it to 2000. (Was having a hard time deciding 1500 or 2000.) Especially since I got permission to use my other account's money. Its a relief to hear that you didn't spend all your 100K yen cuz I think with a little more saving 2000 for 2 months can work.. Btw I think 600-700yen is still quite expensive haha. Going to aim for those Singapore-like prices ie $5.

Thanks for the info~!! :s12:

ah_keong>> Ya lor, that's what I think...t kills their interest. How can you start writing a composition when you haven't even learn the te-form??? I was like "what???" when my friend told me shes writing a compo...

ahmahippo>> All the schools I've seen cater to beginners all the way to JLPT 1. There are some schools that even provide for Japnese after JLPT 1.

ahmahippo

ah_keong>> Ya lor, that's what I think...t kills their interest. How can you start writing a composition when you haven't even learn the te-form??? I was like "what???" when my friend told me shes writing a compo...

ahmahippo>> All the schools I've seen cater to beginners all the way to JLPT 1. There are some schools that even provide for Japnese after JLPT 1.

thx :D
wonder for total of the course + place to stay + air tickets (both ways) + spending, will S$3k in total enough for 1 mth? =:p

terraj

I've gotta warn you that even those Yatais (open air makeshift stores) aren't cheap. They can cost you about 1000 yen for a meal. Convenience store bentos are around 350-400 yen so it's not like you'll be able to find anything for SGD5 unless you plan to eat plain soba or something. Bread in Japan is expensive, a bun would set you back about 120-200 yen.

Ok, I think I will raise it to 2000. (Was having a hard time deciding 1500 or 2000.) Especially since I got permission to use my other account's money. Its a relief to hear that you didn't spend all your 100K yen cuz I think with a little more saving 2000 for 2 months can work.. Btw I think 600-700yen is still quite expensive haha. Going to aim for those Singapore-like prices ie $5.

Thanks for the info~!! :s12:

affa14

Lecture is about 2 hours. TA (2 hours) focus on vocabulary, grammar, reading and writing. TB (2 hours) focus on sentence structure and conversation. TC (1 hour) focus on dialogue, situational and listening.

Not to mention there will be graded weekly lecture quizzes, weekly vocab quizzes, dictation quizzes, oral test, kanji test, mid-term test, exam, lots of homework. You will enjoy it though haha, very little Japanese school in Singapore provide this much value or intensity, and since you already paid the semester school fees might as well go for it.

OooO..I didnt knoe that TA n TB have different focus. All along I thought both of them are the same =:p feels the same tho
I think along the same line too i.e. I've paid the fees, why not take it only that it's time consuming. BTW, ur in what level? Are we allowed to crash the lec if we are not taking the mod? I'm thinking of doing that next sem donno whether they will allow or not. :s11:

Ah_keong

Thanks for your encouragement... just wondering if anyone is also facing problems with the ni, wo, ga, de, no (the particles)? I am not sure when to use the correct one... then I also have problems with the donna, dou****e, dou, douno, doko... dunno when to use the right one.... seems confusing to me....

i can recommend this yellow - grammer dictionary book to you...

it has served me well... :D

thx :D
wonder for total of the course + place to stay + air tickets (both ways) + spending, will S$3k in total enough for 1 mth? =:p

Haha depends on ur spending...(And subjected to the unfavourable exchange rate)
Anyway my expenditure PER month is:

Programme fees for Daily Conversation (incl/ textbk,activity fees) 52,000yen
Housing fee (Registration) 10,000yen (Shared School Dormitory) 17,000yen (Utility) 7,500
Transport fees 900yen per DAY (from the ohashi branch to ogori city. there r 2 branches.)
Meals ????? (Dunno what I will end up eating)
Air fare + tax (Cheapest I saw for 30days) ard SGD300++ by China Eastern

Of course if you take other courses, and stay in other places, it will be more exp. i took the cheapest one alr.

And beware of China Eastern transit at Shanghai. Need to identify your baggage to be sent onto the plane and need to find your own way for transit.

Think can survive.

PS But I think you should try to learn what you can learn in Singapore first, then put ur knowledge to practice over there. If you are earning a salary, then its good to jumpstart your Japanese there, and go there again the next time again to really practise.

Ah_keong

そんなことを言わないで。。。

光栄の至りです. =)
------------------------
1級文法 

1番:名詞+至り (the utmost.... )

2級文法 

1番:普通形+からといって(although)

3級文法 

1番:ます-形+かた(the way of doing ~)

4級文法 

1番:名詞1は 名詞2です (Noun 1 is noun 2)

wah! JLPT 1の文法 !!! pro! :D

Sorry!

terraj>> Ah! Should avoid yatais then. Maybe try once only. Oh! I was thinking of surviving on buns if I can't find any cheap bentos. 350yen bentos are ok for me. And anyway, I'm now surviving on buns for lunch and sometimes dinner..Actually on top of 2000, I intend to bring a supplementary credit card in case my expenditure is not enough. And now my parents wanna give me more money to set up a bank account so that I can withdraw money. (Though I don't think it will be as convenient as they say.)

Ah_keong

its like that lah, i now has to submit 2 compos by this week, i only done 1 nia... die!! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.