learning japanese

dimitri_can

Wow, thank you for so much for taking the time to get the book and scanned and sent to me!! I took a look briefly earlier, and the first part, seemed like listening comprehension? So, the multiple choices A B, didn't make sense? Am I right?

Eh... which page are you referring to?

Ohhh I could?!
Wouldn't it be weird though, "hey, could I have these three books opened, cause I wanna take a look?"
Kino staff evenutally asks, "You thinking of buying it?"
Me: Probably, not . . . .

Lol...awkward lol. I'd feel bad having them open them all up lol.

Don't worry about it. Just make sure if you ask them to open, bring the whole stack that you want to browse, then ask them to open. Don't open one book then later on ask them to open another book. =)

How would you go about getting a tutor then? Call up tuition agencies looking for a Japanese teacher?

In case if you are looking for a private teacher, be warned that schools charge about $70-$80/hour.

I know how the workbook looks on the outside. I saw it at the store too. I was just saying, that for the first couple of seconds, I didn't know if the Asian version had a workbook.

The Asian version doesn't have a workbook. It's from the Japanese version.

You're right! In the scanned copy that you sent, I saw the pronunciation.
However, when I asked my Japanese mate, he said, "we don't care".

I think you should check with more Japanese people... Maybe your friend is one who doesn't really care... If you want to learn Japanese, also must learn properly right. :D

dimitri_can

oh dear just realised singapore has jlpt exam in july for now. Haiz at the rate that I'm going... I guess it's dec for me. Still hovering around lesson 30 only!!!!!

Since when we are able to take in july?
がんばってください。
From last year onwards, it became possible. =)

JCMaths

I think you should check with more Japanese people... Maybe your friend is one who doesn't really care... If you want to learn Japanese, also must learn properly right. :D

Well, it depends on whether you wanna speak 標準語 (standardized Japanese that most people in Tokyo use). If your accents always sounds wrong, you can just pretend that you're speaking with a Kyushu accent. I have Kagoshima friends who told me that their pronunciation of the 雨/飴 (rain/candy) pair is opposite to that of 標準語 and they themselves can't remember which is the 'correct' one. It doesn't really affect their communication, like how wrong intonations in Mandarin/Cantonese would.

solarwings

Hi! JLPT registration period is coming up! Anyone taking in July?
I think I'll go for N3. ;) I will start studying in May after the semester exams

Is it me or are the fees increasing every year? When I took 3kyu back around 2009, the fees were around $45...

Poster in JCS:pic
and
Here's the info:
Exam date - 1 July 2012, Sunday
Registration period - 12 March to 5 April 2012
Application form - $2 each
N1, N2, N3 - $65
N4, N5 - $55

edit: Link to JLPT info on JCS website
http://www.jcss.org.sg/exams.htm

dimitri_can

Hi! JLPT registration period is coming up! Anyone taking in July?
I think I'll go for N3. ;) I will start studying in May after the semester exams

Is it me or are the fees increasing every year? When I took 3kyu back around 2009, the fees were around $45...

Poster in JCS:pic
and
Here's the info:
Exam date - 1 July 2012, Sunday
Registration period - 12 March to 5 April 2012
Application form - $2 each
N1, N2, N3 - $65
N4, N5 - $55
increase by $10. ARGHHHHHHH

XasakuraX

hope is not wrg to ask this here... do u all know of any [fr ee] e-books on N5 that I can refer to on9 instead of buying? cos i see the books in kino r chotto takai desu =X haha =P

if really dont hv then i guess i ll buy e bk dimitri_can rec...

plutoplace

hope is not wrg to ask this here... do u all know of any [fr ee] e-books on N5 that I can refer to on9 instead of buying? cos i see the books in kino r chotto takai desu =X haha =P

if really dont hv then i guess i ll buy e bk dimitri_can rec...

If you want free go google. Dun be lazy. :s13:
For all JLPT levels there are plenty of online notes and practice questions that are free.
Or you can ask ard in this forum if anyone has a second hand N5 book for you lor...

bumblebee

Dimitri_can makes learning Japanese fun and interesting. You can learn a lot from him because besides teaching the syllabus from Minna no Nihongo, he teaches real Japanese which you will not learn in a school environment. Another important aspect is the class size. It is small so each student gets ample attention.

Yup, I totally agree that Dimitri_can is a good Japanese teacher.. I have just started taking his classes recently as I am coming to the end of my class at Ikoma.. one big difference in the teaching style is that Dimitri_can can explain in English and Chinese.. which makes it very much easier for me to remember... his class size is also small and there's many opportunities to speak up.. as I am quite slow in my Ikoma class, I usually do not speak up.. but at Dimitri_can's class, he makes sure I speak up... he has interesting ways to make me remember my Japanese... though I have only started with him recently, I have already learnt things that I haven't learnt before in my 3 years at Ikoma.. such as exam tips.. haha...

XasakuraX

If you want free go google. Dun be lazy. :s13:
For all JLPT levels there are plenty of online notes and practice questions that are free.
Or you can ask ard in this forum if anyone has a second hand N5 book for you lor...

Sorry I dun know how to help you. :s22:

it's not me being lazy. like i said, i dont know wat to search for. fyi, i alrdy tried googling b4 i posted. apparently i cldnt find anything relevant, cos all the results were like amazon books links. so i was thinking maybe u guys can provide some ideas of what to search for, or u probably bookmarked some gd sites, since u all probably hav some prior experience in this n i can probably save some time by posting for some help. tt's what forums are for, arent they?

perhaps u dont mean it in a harsh manner:(, but i just dont like ppl accusing me of being lazy aka waiting to be spoonfed:s27:. i tried, i cldnt find, so i asked. simple as that. to me, there's a fine line btw the two. :s22:

nvm if one cant help, but i will definitely appreciate it if one keep any sarcastic remarks to oneself, imho. just my 2c. no offense.

dimitri_can

cool down... try this and this

I can also photocopy the book for you, but u have to pay the printing charges, if that's ok with you...

Change topic: Kino books are getting more expensive... :(

plutoplace

it's not me being lazy. like i said, i dont know wat to search for. fyi, i alrdy tried googling b4 i posted. apparently i cldnt find anything relevant, cos all the results were like amazon books links. so i was thinking maybe u guys can provide some ideas of what to search for, or u probably bookmarked some gd sites, since u all probably hav some prior experience in this n i can probably save some time by posting for some help. tt's what forums are for, arent they?

perhaps u dont mean it in a harsh manner:(, but i just dont like ppl accusing me of being lazy aka waiting to be spoonfed:s27:. i tried, i cldnt find, so i asked. simple as that. to me, there's a fine line btw the two. :s22:

nvm if one cant help, but i will definitely appreciate it if one keep any sarcastic remarks to oneself, imho. just my 2c. no offense.

Relax my friend. Dun get so emo. :s12:

When you say you do not know what to search for , most people may misunderstand you mah.

Just google "JLPT N5 VOCAB LIST" or "JLPT N5 Grammar notes" or "JLPT N5 Ebooks" etc . You get the idea. Alternatively go to 4shared.com or scribd.com and search JLPT. Many resources there. If you want cheap JLPT books (and dun mind reading some chinese) you can go brash brasah complex to look for the books.

XasakuraX

sakura-chan, your pm mailbox full le.

haha. yar noticed that after i saw ur reply, so i just cleared some space out :s12:

n... actually... my nick is X asakura X. haha a lot ppl see Sakura instead of Asakura. lolx. but i like sakura oso. haha. maybe i shld use sakura nxt time. lolx.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.