LED lights really not worth it sia

coyote

This are like the late 1960s

Not really. I had this in my hdb in around 2000. The advantage of such lamp just remove the bulb and replace it. Remaining 2 will still work giving you amble time to find replacement. Zero need for electricians. So, by now it's been 25 years still working.

coyote

I use this type. Cheaper and does the same job.

electrical-cable-connector-quick-connect.jpg

This type needs to strip out the shielding first. These are what's inside my lamps now. I shall change them.

keenklee

i did some research
Pros
-easy to replace

Cons
-More expensive
-Not slim (intact to the ceiling)
-Look ugly...something protruding
-Replacement units take up more space
-Collect dusts

actually now they come with this kind of slide in then just connect.
O1CN0192haZq1TqMglcq9dB_!!4611686018427379905-0-rate.jpg_960x960.jpg_.webp
IMHO.
Thanks for the pic. Must look into the slimmer ones.
My existing "nice" lights are breaking apart, so looking for something ease to maintain. :ROFLMAO:

keenklee

If your E27 still working, just leave them. They will continue producing E27(led ver). Mine have been working for 8 years+ and my spare E27 led bulbs are still sitting in the store room... That's why instead of buying more spare G24-1D for my toilet down lights, I ordered 4 more G24-to-E27 adapter for my toilets.
IMHO.
The most frequent used ones are not E27. So now, need to convert them.

thinline

LED lights not all are cost saving.
NEA maybe refer to those HDB corridor / commercial led lamps. Those resident house use LED magnetic module is not even cost saving except for those E27 led bulbs.

EJB

I buy from taobao, so I know what goes into my LEDs... anything I just replace wholesale from taobao.

If not just every few years replace all the lights in the house for easier handling.

thinline

Taobao so many led modules. Even our neighbourhood shops selling more like OEM products. Bring in from China, put your own brand name.
Sad that those big brand NEC, Panasonic...used to make fluorescent tube, not making any led lights. Consumer have to try their luck on those OEM led lights.

sunsetbay

I diy the replacement for my blown fluorescent circular light to LED~ bought from shopee only $4.84~ it eliminates the need of starter and ballast~ can get a smaller power LED cos it much brighter than fluorescent tube~ :s22:

LED-circular-light.jpg

Cokacola

my study room one even worst, not sure how they install the LED strip it is embedded deep into the woordwork , to replace i probably need an axe and destroy my built in desk.

MaskedRider555

I diy the replacement for my blown fluorescent circular light to LED~ bought from shopee only $4.84~ it eliminates the need of starter and ballast~ can get a smaller power LED cos it much brighter than fluorescent tube~ :s22:

LED-circular-light.jpg

look easy....wat the link

grevq80o

We were always told the 'benefits' of it - it saves electricity and can last very long, blah blah.

But then when you ownself want to replace, it is a bit complicated. Either need to hire handyman or ownself refer to tutorials and ownself figure out.

I managed to do ownself... But it is hell. I cannot replace it at night then must endure until next morning... Have to use table lamp. Then next morning when want to replace, must unscrew so many parts. Then I realised we got tricked because we were told LED light could last 5,000 hours or what, but then when I counted it barely even reached 2,000 hours as advertised.

And depending where you installed the LED light, it can be pointless. For example, toilet... You don't use toilet for hours what. At most, at night or during dark rainy days, and you usually just use 5-30 mins max.

And if you notice, the LED lights are usually in serial connection (one connecting to the next), so if suay suay after the first LED is burnt, the rest all cannot on liao since there's no 'closed' circuit. And you don't know where is the fault sometimes, the connection or LED adapter.

When want to replace, usually must replace the whole damn thing... Then must unscrew here and there, and replace the compartment just to slot out the LED parts.

I rather stick to my old 8 watt light bulb sua. Just unscrew and put in. Easy.

Also, replace normal light bulb - $5-8. Anyone can do, even your parents or grandma or grandpa.
Replace LED, $15-20; if hire handyman add in $30-50.
That why PAP gib u climate vouchers. So that u can afford to spend $ on installation.

thinline

When you are getting old, and eye sight poor. This kind of LED module need to connect the 2 wires... too troublesome. My house got trip twice when I change and "upgrade" to LED module . I didnt switch on my light switch.

sunsetbay

I also replaced my blown PLC downlight to LED~ 8W LED is equivalent, if not brighter than old 18W tube~ 1 pcs $2.60 from shopee~ :s22:

PLC-LED-downlight.jpg

PLC-LED-tube.jpg

PLC-LED-downlight.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.