xiaowhois

Boss reporting in.

Hope everyone had a good holiday.

We see so many discussions out there so our question to everyone is this:
What do you guys love about Alienware? And if you have a choice, what parts would you change to make your Alienware more awesome? :o

Alienware for gamer to love but non gamer wont love it~ if got choice ofcause make it lighter cheaper faster :s13::s13:

lighter => alienware 15/17 series heavy for portable usage

cheaper => who dont want buy it at cheaper price?

Faster => gaming is about fast processing :)

kimsix

Boss reporting in.

What do you guys love about Alienware? And if you have a choice, what parts would you change to make your Alienware more awesome? :o

What I like about alienware laptops is the high quality of material used to make them. Touching and carrying them, you can feel the premium and heft.

I also like the large dual vents cooling system to ensure the powerful gaming components are kept cool and prevent throttling.

Price for spec wise, alienware laptops are a little higher than Asus, Aftershock or MSI. However the extra cost is paid into good material and the best after support here. As long as Dell maintain their pro-support nbd fix, I can accept the slightly higher price premium is justified for peace of mind and minimal downtime.

One area alienware can improve is their laptop screen. The fhd screen should have wide color gamut and deeper contrast, and in late 2015, I would expect g-sync compatibility in all gaming laptops which is missing in Dell latest alienware.

MoneyFace =p

Boss reporting in.

What I admire about Alienware is their strong upmarket gaming PC branding presence with proven system reliability, solid build with its carbon fibre composite frame, meticulous engineering of each and every component with gamers' needs in mind, their signature playful LED backlighting and their top-notch Dell aftermarket support as seen in their product offerings. I don't see any other competing brands like ASUS, MSI, Aftershock coming close to Alienware to deliver such high standard in every aspect of product experience, from purchasing to actual usage to aftermarket support.

Yet still, there are some features found on competing brands' gaming laptops that are omitted from Alienware laptop lineup. If i am given the opportunity to buy an Alienware laptop and tweak it (out of their limited options) to my ideal specs, i will want all of these:

Matte AHVA panel Full HD display at 144 Hz
So far all laptop models only offer regular 60Hz panel. Currently only AU Optronic's AHVA panel offers refresh rate past 60Hz with IPS panel characteristics. And i believe many games are able to churn out >100 fps even on max in-game settings with the GTX 980M onboard, even better with desktop top grade graphics from the amplifier. For me, Full HD resolution will satisfy me perfectly fine as i will not be able to discern any difference between Full HD and 4K with the tiny pixels on such small screen. Lesser pixel also less taxing on graphics card and battery power, get more smooth gameplay with higher fps.

Nvidia G-Sync module
How can Alienware notebook geared with all the top-end specs satisfying the hardware requirement not comes with the G-Sync module?? It is already available on MSI highest-end Dominator gaming notebook. Hence, it doesn't justify Alienware R3 notebook not to have one too. It dynamically adjusts the screen refresh rate according to game fps and eliminate any possible screen tearing to produce silky smooth gaming scenes: a luxury Alienware owners should be enjoying on their highest end laptops. Everyone will appreciate that, not just me.

SLI support with Graphics Amplifier
As mentioned before, current amplifier do not work with internal discrete graphics. With SLI support possible, i can take advantage of the external discrete graphics power, yet continue to harness and tap on the internal graphics resource to produce superb graphics performance on par with the highest end discrete graphics available on market, all at just fraction of the cost. Very much similar to the hybrid crossfire technology on AMD APUs. Current SLI configurations on gaming notebooks tend to be very bulky and heavy that effectively eliminates their portability. With such hybrid SLI taking place, i can even choose a lower end Alienware laptop to pair with graphics amplifier!

Mechanical RGB backlit keyboard
Sadly current Alienware laptops still only offer membrane/scissor keyboard, while mechanical keyboard on notebook is already a reality with MSI Titan gaming notebook. Mechanical keyboard keys tend to be thick, so i wish i can opt for shorter keys will also shorter actuation distance to prevent Alienware laptop profile from getting too thick.

Intel RealSense 3D camera
How can such awesome ideal gaming notebook miss out on gesture based gaming experience? Specs on Alienware laptops are very well in abundance to support Intel Realsense 3D camera. With the camera, i can also enjoy interactive games in full glory with the merits of other laptop components. Meanwhile, i can also make my expensive gaming base more secure with Windows Hello biometric recognition service on Windows 10.

Customisable back panel
Current Alienware laptops only have a single design on their back panel, just having adjustable RGB backlighting. It is already available on Aftershock laptops. Getting to personalise its design and texture on my laptop back panel gives it an attitude and a unique identity that only belongs to me.

:vijayadmin:

koreanlover

Boss reporting in.

Alienware is awesome because of the Graphics Amplifier which allows boosting of gaming performance and easy access to its components allowing DIYers to upgrade easily.
And of course, Dell's excellent Pro support allowing gamers minimal downtime.

The Graphics Amplifier could be shrunken by changing to a SFF PSU.
Even better, the latest desktop GTX 980 can be used in the new series of Alienware laptops so the Graphics Amplifier might not even be needed at all.

SLI mode with the Graphics Amplifier and the laptop's GPU could be enabled.

A switchable feature could be introduced so users do not need to shut down the laptop, unplug/plug Graphics Amplifier and restart laptop.

Mechanical backlit keyboard option for Alienware laptops.

Easy access for the CPU for upgrading like the Graphics MXM module socket.

Nvidia G-sync support.

MoneyFace =p

Alienware is awesome because of the Graphics Amplifier which allows boosting of gaming performance and easy access to its components allowing DIYers to upgrade easily.
And of course, Dell's excellent Pro support allowing gamers minimal downtime.

The Graphics Amplifier could be shrunken by changing to a SFF PSU.
Even better, the latest desktop GTX 980 can be used in the new series of Alienware laptops so the Graphics Amplifier might not even be needed at all.

SLI mode with the Graphics Amplifier and the laptop's GPU could be enabled.

A switchable feature could be introduced so users do not need to shut down the laptop, unplug/plug Graphics Amplifier and restart laptop.

Mechanical backlit keyboard option for Alienware laptops.

Easy access for the CPU for upgrading like the Graphics MXM module socket.

Nvidia G-sync support.
Walao mai copy my idea leh... :vijayadmin:

Ohayo!

Good evening everybody. Time to punch in card. Been busy lately.

what88

Boss reporting in.

My first impression to Dell Alienware is its solid build and premium feel. Beside knowing it is a solid and high performance gaming device for serious gamers, and also it 'good' pricing..

If possible, hope Dell will able to the weight of their Dell Alienware 15 R2, 17 R3 by using Titanium or Carbon fiber material to replace those metal parts..

MoneyFace =p

Alienware for gamer to love but non gamer wont love it~ if got choice ofcause make it lighter cheaper faster :s13::s13:

lighter => alienware 15/17 series heavy for portable usage

cheaper => who dont want buy it at cheaper price?

Faster => gaming is about fast processing :)

Like that all other brand and model laptop no need to consider liao... I also want.:crazy:

what88

Good evening everybody. Time to punch in card. Been busy lately.

Just punched card... =:p

Almost took me 20 hours+ to avoid post anything in this Dell Alienware thread in order to reset my clocking timing...:o:o

MoneyFace =p

idqbvdhyi7jfbtrzuotn.jpg

So that’s the Alienware Graphics Amplifier port on the side of Alienware laptop. I am kind of concern that they chose to let the port expose in the open air, as external interface ports have high tendency to accumulate dust and rust from oxidation, especially in exposure to high humidity climate like in Singapore. As far as I’ve observed this happening on all my older electronic appliances with exposed interface ports. Hence, I’ve bought a pack of PC interface ports silicone cover to cover up the unused ports on my newer gadgets and they still looked brand new even till now.

I can’t really imagine how much the amplifier port will deteriorate several years down the road in exposure, which can potentially affect and reduce its bus performance, especially when this port is electrically sensitive by nature of its PCI Express bus. They could have been more mindful when designing such important port to include a waterproofing port cover, something like Samsung Galaxy S5’s USB port cover.

So users who have sweaty palm should take note of this and avoid holding the laptop in contact with the amplifier port, as your sweat can potentially sip inside, increasing its probability to oxidation. And also avoid electrocution since it is pretty electrically sensitive.

Ohayo!

And i believe Alienware made the right decision to omit graphics card from the box to let buyers flexibility to decide for themselves. If Alienware were to include graphics card altogether, they are more likely to include top-of-the-line GTX Titan/GTX 980 or AMD R9 Fury/290X, which likely cost more than the amplifier + standalone graphics card from local shops. And not everyone needs the top-of-the-line graphics card and they may want to go for more VoM models like GTX 970 or R9-390. This amplifier also designed for long term utility, where Alienware will continue to provide updated driver availability for future, newer graphics card and buyers can keep upgrading their external graphics card, without needing to change and upgrade their Alienware laptop. In fact, they are saving on the long term.

And with graphics card omitted from it, Alienware warranty coverage also no need to cover for graphics card, which can be quite headache for both Alienware and users themselves, as graphics card tends to spoil faster and more frequent.

One thing i like about Dell and Alienware is the flexibility to choose which parts you want to upgrade. A lot of manufacturers dont do this; they simply sell you the model with everything fixed. It's like sometimes you prefer the other model design but you want to choose the parts you want.

Hmm if Alienware allows consumer to upgrade their graphic card in the Alienware Graphics Amplifier it will be really great. It will bring greater gaming performance and flexibility like how a DIY desktop would.

Ohayo!

Boss reporting in.

I think what sets it apart from others is of course the design. It is a sleek and thin gaming laptop with all the beautiful illuminated strips on the lid. The Graphics Amplifier is also pretty helpful for gamers who wants to keep their tables near without all the messy cabling which desktop users have to bear. They get to enjoy the same experience (well, almost; in terms of gaming performance) but still enjoy the mobility and portability which a laptop can offer.

The Alienware brand alone screams guaranteed good quality and the best powerful performance you can get from a notebook money can buy. I'm sure my friends would certainly go "Wow!" like the Chinese dude in the video, if they see me own one.

From the images, I can see that the Alienware 15 does not come with a numberpad but the Alienware 17 does. The Alienware 15 still has some extra space by the sides of the keyboard, im sure they can find a way to include the numberpad which is very important to gamers.

The weight is also very heavy. If you include the bulky adapter, it would take up even more weight. Also, like i have mentioned in my past posts... should make SSD a norm for the price that you are paying already. SSD take much less space and can provide long battery life. SSD should be the de facto standard.

Ohayo!

Why not switch off the air-con. Is it true the Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier generate that much heat?

I think the extra space in the Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier is meant for airflow. Its conveniently situated by the side with openings so that the fans are not obstructed.

373598-alienware-graphics-amplifier-with-laptop.jpg

:o

what88

idqbvdhyi7jfbtrzuotn.jpg

So that’s the Alienware Graphics Amplifier port on the side of Alienware laptop. I am kind of concern that they chose to let the port expose in the open air, as external interface ports have high tendency to accumulate dust and rust from oxidation, especially in exposure to high humidity climate like in Singapore. As far as I’ve observed this happening on all my older electronic appliances with exposed interface ports. Hence, I’ve bought a pack of PC interface ports silicone cover to cover up the unused ports on my newer gadgets and they still looked brand new even till now.

I can’t really imagine how much the amplifier port will deteriorate several years down the road in exposure, which can potentially affect and reduce its bus performance, especially when this port is electrically sensitive by nature of its PCI Express bus. They could have been more mindful when designing such important port to include a waterproofing port cover, something like Samsung Galaxy S5’s USB port cover.

So users who have sweaty palm should take note of this and avoid holding the laptop in contact with the amplifier port, as your sweat can potentially sip inside, increasing its probability to oxidation. And also avoid electrocution since it is pretty electrically sensitive.

Normally will buy those clear transparent type of silicone (avoid colorful type) covers to protect any unused port, who knows those colourful silicone covers may content some acidic substance that will may corrode the ports. ;) As this Alienware machine is so expensive, so better get a premium grade for the protection. :)

wadsad

I think the extra space in the Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier is meant for airflow. Its conveniently situated by the side with openings so that the fans are not obstructed.

373598-alienware-graphics-amplifier-with-laptop.jpg

:o

yup. if use all the slots liao definitely will be hot inside.

what88

Imagine you already spend $3999 on Dell Alienware 17 R2, are you going to spend another $500 on Alienware Graphics Amplifier?

That's a total $4500 for a laptop just for gaming~ :s22:

I guess Dell should have a better solution for a cheaper price, getting dell Inspiron 24 7000 would be better for all rounded use ~ :s22:

The price of $3999 for Alienware 17 R3 should have included the Alienware Graphics Amplifier ba?!

wadsad

Boss reporting in.

thanks! bookmarked this liao. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.