Let's DELL

jarred1223

Looked like Dell is going full scale in gaming desktop/laptop, all videos related to gaming using Dell machines, be it from Inspiron or Alienware. The gaming market must be good to make $$, I supposed gamers are more than willing to fork out $$ for superb visual and audio experiences in gaming?

But for a laptop, I still maintained the same view, best leave it for a bit of gaming and on the move usages. Furthermore I seldom see people gaming on the move using laptop. Or those serious gamers always bring the Alienware 15 R2, Alienware 17 R3 + the Alienware Graphics Amplifier to each other's houses for gaming sessions overnight, mass gaming orgies??? =:p Siao leh, dunno need how many multiple plugs... Of course if free one, i certainly dun mind. :p

I think only alienware 13 met my criteria for gaming on the move with a 13.3" screen. Hardcore gaming, would preferred desktop like the Alienware Alpha and at home.

Every PC manufacturer will have some sort of 'Gaming' system, be it desktop or laptop. However the components they include in their 'Gaming' system are usually terrible or not bang for buck.

Before Dell aquire Alienware, Dell themselves also offer poor 'Gaming' systems.. much like Acer/HP/Lenovo/etc.

Just google <brand name> gaming desktop and take a look at their specs and the amount of money it cost. As long as the consumers learn how to DIY their own PC, these branded desktop systems will never get the gamers $$$.

koreanlover

I think you are referring to the Alienware 17 R2. I have checked the Alienware R3 series and seems like its not touch supported. There isnt any option to change too.

Maybe is typo. Should be GTX 980M

The Alienware Graphics Amplifier then can use the GTX980 graphic card.

Yes it should be a typo.

Big difference between GTX 980 and GTX 980M.
If the Alienware series can come with Nvidia GTX 980, then there would not be any need for the Graphics Amplifier anymore.

koreanlover

Why do the video put up to gtx980, but alienware website do not allow for this selection? Typo or a new option is coming soon? It could be the first gtx980 laptop in Singapore, wonder how it will cost?

I also see alienware 17 has the option of selecting 6820hk i7, that is the first overclocking mobile i7! Dell states it can dynamically overclock to 4.1ghz. But we can use Intel xtu software to further the overclock in Windows! This is fun that laptop users can join in the silicon lottery and will push alienware cooling qualities to its max!

Will overclocking the i7 CPU void the warranty of the Alienware laptop ? It will be a nightmare for such an expensive laptop if warranty is void.

koreanlover

Base on the latest video~ got up to 4K display screen for Dell Alienware series laptop :)

17.3 inch UHD (3840 x 2160) IGZO IPS Anti-Glare 400-nits Display

price : $3,999~

Yes and also up to GTX 980M, 16GB DDR4 RAM and 1TB HDD + 512GB PCIe SSD for the Dell Alienware series laptop.

koreanlover

Dell has done a very good job with Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Quite useful if you want the best gaming experience. Too bad Alienware laptops do not have Intel® RealSense™ 3D Camera and can't use Windows 10 Hello.

Maybe Dell can include RealSense + Windows 10 Hello support in their R3 or R4 of the Dell Alienware series laptops.

koreanlover

It is... Like how Apple charges for their s***ty MFI or lightning cables. This raises costs, prices... Unlike Apple, Dell does not have the scale of Apple... So consumer has pretty much alot to lose in getting spare parts for this (in pricing).

And the fact that only selected models such as the Dell Alienware 17 R3 can use, it further constricts the amount of sets the Dell graphics amplifier can sell since Asus and MSI supporters won't be able to use it.

Then this is bad for consumers.
We must get Alienware Graphics Amplifier for the Alienware series laptops.

WhiteHunter

y dell alienware laptop no touchscreenz one?

this is because they may feel gamers do not need touchscreen and also to keep the price as low as possible hence they put it as an option to have touchscreen should the buyer want it.

to be honest is there really a need to have touchscreen when you can use the mouse. games in the market do not have touchscreen capability. what gamers want is a good processor like i7 and a powerful graphics card say GTX 980 or GTX Titan X.

Alienware 17 R3 with Alienware Graphics Amplifier would definitely give gamers an ultimate gaming experience even without the touchscreen.

NobunagaOda

That's why i say... boo to the use of proprietary! But i think we got someone in thread here who bought the Dell Alienware 17 R3 so not that hard bah... Anyway, imagine if macbook pro or desktop can use... :love:

How many SLI combos... :love:

Who is the someone who bought Dell Alienware 17 R3?
Did he bought the Alienware Graphics Amplifier?

NobunagaOda

I think most gamers play at home using their powerful gaming desktops. Maybe only rich ppl buy Alienware laptops and bring them to each other's houses for gaming sessions.

There are some who prefer to use laptop than desktop. Alienware laptops are not only for rich as there are instalments available. They are for those who prefer to have all the good hardwares in a single laptop and a good external graphics card so Alienware 17 together with Graphics Amplifier is suitable for them.

NobunagaOda

Maybe Dell can include RealSense + Windows 10 Hello support in their R3 or R4 of the Dell Alienware series laptops.

Dell should include Intel® RealSense™ 3D Camera + Window 10 Hello in their Alienware laptops or they should make it an option for buyers to opt for it.

NobunagaOda

Will overclocking the i7 CPU void the warranty of the Alienware laptop ? It will be a nightmare for such an expensive laptop if warranty is void.

I don't think it will void the warranty if you run the Alienware laptop as it should be. The Alienware Graphics Amplifier can be overclock.

NobunagaOda

Yes it should be a typo.

Big difference between GTX 980 and GTX 980M.
If the Alienware series can come with Nvidia GTX 980, then there would not be any need for the Graphics Amplifier anymore.

There would still be a need for Alienware Graphics Amplifier as in future games may require better graphics power. One need not buy a new laptop and can just switch out the card in Graphics Amplifier.

NobunagaOda

Have GTX 980 graphic cards on laptops. Someone posted this image here before.

geforce-gtx-980-notebooks-upcoming-models-r2-640px.png

But then it will be extremely bulky and take up huge space. Battery life also severely affected. That's why Alienware choose to manufacture a separate AGA for its gamers to enjoy desktop gaming when they are at home. Best of both worlds!

How does these laptops compare to Alienware laptops and Graphics Amplifier?

NobunagaOda

:s22: Not sure whether Dell Alienware or MSI invented the Graphics Amplifier first~

But one thing for sure, it was a silly invention for a laptop, since is a powerful gaming portable unit, why do we still need an external driver unit that was not powered by a battery? :s22:

The cost of these gaming laptop already at sky high prices for average citizens~

But a problem if you DIY upgrade may void the Dell warranty.

I guess most would just settle for Dell Inspiron 17 7000 for the 4K UHD touchscreen for added feature.

Users can't change the parts in the laptop so the Graphics Amplifier is made for this purpose.

kimsix

4 slots for the Alienware 17 !
Can you do RAID with the m2 SSDs ?

Alienware_17_R2_19_von_22.jpg

A picture of the exposed 4 m2 expansion bays, the easily accessible back panel where you upgrade the ram and 2.5" harddisk. You can safely do without voiding the warranty. Alienware 17 can be self diy to be as powerful storage as desktop PC

kimsix

I like to see Alienware do a take on slim gaming laptop at 15.6". They are gaining popularity and the other brands have this line of laptops, but the limiting factor of the small casing limits heat dissipation and causes throttling, those with slim laptops have GPU/CPU running 80-90 degrees.

I believe the problem can be solved with more investment in this category. It can be a rebirth of liquid cooling in a laptop because of higher efficiency of water, smaller heatsinks are used.

Dell already have the XPS15 and Precision 15 5000 of slim powerful workstation class, a tweak here and there with cooling and a slightly thicker bottom can work.

The specs of such a laptop should be gaming grade , so a quad core i5 6300HQ configured down to 35W, 2x8GB of DDR4 ram as it is more efficient than DDR3 and GTX 970M, 256-1000GB of m2 SSD, and must include the graphics amplifier connector.

WhiteHunter

I like to see Alienware do a take on slim gaming laptop at 15.6". They are gaining popularity and the other brands have this line of laptops, but the limiting factor of the small casing limits heat dissipation and causes throttling, those with slim laptops have GPU/CPU running 80-90 degrees.

I believe the problem can be solved with more investment in this category. It can be a rebirth of liquid cooling in a laptop because of higher efficiency of water, smaller heatsinks are used.

Dell already have the XPS15 and Precision 15 5000 of slim powerful workstation class, a tweak here and there with cooling and a slightly thicker bottom can work.

The specs of such a laptop should be gaming grade , so a quad core i5 6300HQ configured down to 35W, 2x8GB of DDR4 ram as it is more efficient than DDR3 and GTX 970M, 256-1000GB of m2 SSD, and must include the graphics amplifier connector.

i would prefer Alienware to come out with a laptop with very good cooling system becos the heat generated from the graphics card as well as processor would be alot. long term use would degrade the lifespan of the laptop. also if they can reduce the weight would be even better.

kimsix

It should not void warranty i believe if you do discreetly and do not flash with unsupported bios. I also think Alienware will have built in limiter and restricters to prevent users to overvolt and kill the hardware.

Talking about overclocking, it should be something for the likes of gaming grade hardware like Alienware laptops.

The 970M graphics is a good overclocker according to feedback on the interwebs, where it can reach as good as a 980M after you play overclocks. With Alienware superior cooling system, i like to see how much it can overclock.

kimsix

i would prefer Alienware to come out with a laptop with very good cooling system becos the heat generated from the graphics card as well as processor would be alot. long term use would degrade the lifespan of the laptop. also if they can reduce the weight would be even better.

Yes i also prefer a good cooling for gaming grade laptops.

Alienware cooling design is very good and one secret is to have higher rubber feets to prop up the laptop to allow air flow
DbAb.jpg

Thermal image of Alienware with gaming grade parts against a lower powered macbook pro and alienware is cooler!
EbAb.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.