Let's DELL

kimsix

Never had chance to touch new XPS 13.

anyway need to compare the two side by side then will know which one is the winner. ;)

They are both similar class products but feel distinctively different. Apple went for more power in a familiar form with hard cold aluminum unibody, while Dell go for compactness possible, striking onscreen visibility and a softer carbon fiber touch.

Apple feels German to me, cold and precise, Dell feels American warmer and more casual

what88

No need to touch it yourself. Here's the YouTube video i've come across:

In summary the Apple MBA higher a warmer tone while Dell XPS 13 a colder one, but latter has deeper black and its matte display is a big welcome to avoid glaring from sunlight outdoor.

So this makes Dell XPS 13 not just suitable for lightweight home and student user and business associates but also ideal for photography and design professionals who also requires high duty mobility, for example, wedding planners and interior designers, to bring such exquisite laptop around to meet clients across different places, and doesn't feel burden by its lightweight. Comparing side by side, it made MacBook seem so yesteryear.

Thanks for the video.

One thing to highlight is the price of XPS 13 is higher than MacBook 13, so in order to attract mere consumer, Dell somehow need to reduce their XPS 13 price to compete with Apple. :)

Ohayo!

Soldered on? Jialat lor if RAM GG early, which happens to be next after discrete graphics....

Yeah :s22:

nowadays laptop following mobile phone.. slim and thin laptop but non removable battery.. now even the components inside also solder on :(

Is this the trend for ultrabooks like Dell XPS 13 ? Hopefully the regular laptops will remain the same.

what88

Yeah :s22:

nowadays laptop following mobile phone.. slim and thin laptop but non removable battery.. now even the components inside also solder on :(

Is this the trend for ultrabooks like Dell XPS 13 ? Hopefully the regular laptops will remain the same.

This means die die need to get Dell ProSupport if we plan to buy XPS series.

kimsix

This means die die need to get Dell ProSupport if we plan to buy XPS series.

Dell pro support is good leh, so if you envision the Dell laptop you bought is enough for years of use and not chase the latest laptop trend, buy the pro support as insurance because Dell Support is pro!

Ohayo!

Seriously dun have any experience or hands on this Dell XPS 13, everytime went to electronic store, always felt Macbook screen display is the best, may be I bias..=:p

I think very hard to compare unless you put them side by side to see using your own eyes.

Apple MacBook only retail at reseller like Epicenter etc right? Dell XPS 13 would probably be in stores like Challenger etc. How to compare sia? :s11:

:(

what88

I think very hard to compare unless you put them side by side to see using your own eyes.

Apple MacBook only retail at reseller like Epicenter etc right? Dell XPS 13 would probably be in stores like Challenger etc. How to compare sia? :s11:

No idea for other electronic stores but Challenger confirmed have Apple MacBook & IMac.

commach

Thanks for unravelling the mystery. Never notice he was posting all those emoticons. I believe he deserved the consequences of his own action.

May i ask if you can also help clear my name from this self-pwn saga as i've unknowingly embroil myself into this incident and became scapegoat for somebody else (YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE :vijayadmin:) that arises from a simple link quote since page 200. This had negatively impacted my image and reputation here somehow and also created a gusting cloud of paranoia and suspicion of shady people backstabbing one another etc... :s22:

Just hope to see the light of this. :o:sad:

Frankly speaking, I didn't even bother to click or check the leaderboard before any warning or infraction. Neither do I need to check anything as I'm not interested to know the reward as well. :)

To me, controversy is part of the game, nothing seriously wrong. I don't see the need to clear any name nor attempt to do so as long as fellow members adhere to forums TOS.

Regarding gribber, nothing to do with cheat or not, I don't consider posting of emoticon only as cheat within or outside of this thread but as nuisance replies instead. HWC will never become EDMW as both forums catered for different users.

Rules are clearly stated in HWC for one liner posting or any attempt to turn HWC into EDMW. Whoever posting nuisance reply will get warning or infraction.

Hopes I cleared the air. :)

Ohayo!

Hallo reporting in for last leg!

I would to like see Dell do a XPS17! Because of their infinity edge design, a 17" will look and handle more like a 15" and 15" to most people is the portability limit. With a bigger case, they can put better and useful parts like 4gb gpu, numpad, raid ssd and lte radio

When i google Dell XPS 17, seems like there is such a product but its available only overseas. Singapore store only have Dell XPS 13 and 15.

Most importantly must have dedicated graphic card.. Intel HD cant do much.

commach

And if u think commach knows nuts about what's going on here, trust me, he has been controlling himself. If this thread weren't stickied and left to admins to manage, u would have been p-banned by him for your comments from day 1. Don't believe, just continue your current behaviour in HWC main forum and see how long u last...
Edit: original quote deleted coz too long

Yes, indeed.

You know me well enough, at time, seem like I'm not doing anything but definitely not. I always give benefits of doubt and observe cautiously before taking action on reported post/thread.

If the situation does not require further action, I will let the thread continue without any warning or infraction. But for gribber's case, I can permanent banned him/her with 6 more points for posting nuisance replies but instead stopped at 4 weeks banned. If you search his/her nuisance replies, there are more than enough for 6 points infraction to p-banned.

I'm duty bound to maintain HWC as a healthy and informative forum, anyone trying to degrade HWC will surely be banned sooner than he/she expect.

Sincerely thanks for the understanding and upheld the spirit of HWC. :)

Cheer.

commach

No need to get too hot, just be happy pcw. :D It is still a simple way to win good prizes from Dell, appreciate that!

Indeed, keep cool, have fun and at the same time win prizes from Dell's event.

Without the active participation of fellow members, this event is dull and boring as hell. :D

xtramadness

got saga in the last samsung contest meh :s11:

i thought why still got dell pb and speaker left over? what88 no want the prize issit :o can pass to me then i can claim the other speaker to get surround sound

What88 no want price isit? :s11:

Yea... the rules changing thing.lol

MoneyFace =p

Yes, indeed.

You know me well enough, at time, seem like I'm not doing anything but definitely not. I always give benefits of doubt and observe cautiously before taking action on reported post/thread.

If the situation does not require further action, I will let the thread continue without any warning or infraction. But for gribber's case, I can permanent banned him/her with 6 more points for posting nuisance replies but instead stopped at 4 weeks banned. If you search his/her nuisance replies, there are more than enough for 6 points infraction to p-banned.

I'm duty bound to maintain HWC as a healthy and informative forum, anyone trying to degrade HWC will surely be banned sooner than he/she expect.

Sincerely thanks for the understanding and upheld the spirit of HWC. :)

Cheer.

That bugger mentioned he is not going to use both accounts. So can you help check whose main account is his? And also clear my name... :o

commach

That bugger mentioned he is not going to use both accounts. So can you help check whose main account is his? And also clear my name... :o

Action taken by admin, I don't see the need to dig deeper into the issue at this point in time.

As I mentioned earlier, no name need to clear. I don't see anything wrong in your replies thus please don't take it too hard with replies from fellow members. :)

Side note: Currently having vacation in Taiwan with my entire family till 26th Nov, please let's me enjoyed my holiday. :D

what88

What88 no want price isit? :s11:

Yea... the rules changing thing.lol

Going to redeem soon, may be tomorrow ba.

The reason why yet redeem is this will somehow make me come here to learn some useful knowledge on new product XPS 13, once redeem sure will MIA.....;)

MoneyFace =p

Hallo reporting in for last leg!

I would to like see Dell do a XPS17! Because of their infinityedge design, a 17" will look and handle more like a 15" and 15" to most people is the portability limit. With a bigger case, they can put better and useful parts like 4gb gpu, numpad, raid ssd and lte radio

That will be great if hey amalgamate such design language into their own Alienware line of laptops. I don't mind having thicker laptop but having high screen/size ratio is definitely cool!

MoneyFace =p

Action taken by admin, I don't see the need to dig deeper into the issue at this point in time.

As I mentioned earlier, no name need to clear. I don't see anything wrong in your replies thus please don't take it too hard with replies from fellow members. :)

Side note: Currently having vacation in Taiwan with my entire family till 26th Nov, please let's me enjoyed my holiday. :D

Hogay boss! Enjoy your stay there! Which city? :s12:

MoneyFace =p

I saw both at Best Denki Parkway Parade before....

I will be more interested to see how they fare with Windows 10 both onboard XPS 13 and MacBook

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.