Let's DELL

WhiteHunter

For those interested to get the dell laptop discount voucher only :)

(h) 10 x S$300 off XPS 13 (i7 model only) voucher worth $300 each
2299-300 = 1999

(i) 10 x S$400 off XPS 15 (i7 model only) voucher worth $400 each
2899-400=2499

(j) 10 x S$300 off Inspiron 24 7000 voucher worth $300 each
2049-300=1749

(k) 10 x S$250 off Inspiron 15 7000 voucher worth $250 each
1799-250bucks = 1549$

whether worth or not you all decide :)

vouchers not exactly worth and dun think will have people redeem them.

jarred1223

i purposely dont wish to put the % because this event is by dell later less people take part how there are total 14 actual prizes only :)

if you bother to visit every 3mths pc fair that kind of discount for high end laptop not that hard to get :)

those vouchers are the lowest prize, sort of like a 'consolation prize'.. i'm sure dell people also know ;)

but usually people won't aim for the lowest prize mah :s13:

all see top 3 prizes one

xiaowhois

Supposed to. But seriously 32GB is a joke. Even if it contains just the OS you will soon encounter disk full. My old trusty MBA is 128GB already lor.
Dell device should not be hard to change your own parts you had to swap in one SSD or else live with it because dell no longer that customization for their webstore

micheloving

those vouchers are the lowest prize, sort of like a 'consolation prize'.. i'm sure dell people also know ;)

all see top 3 prizes one

I aim for 1tb hdd one leh.

Can't win hwz sexperts spammers .

xiaowhois

vouchers not exactly worth and dun think will have people redeem them.

all see top 3 prizes one

14 prizes to get~ top 3-5 prizes most likely u need to earn bonus pts to gain advantage unless admin this time round not active to give pts~

WhiteHunter

Alienware Alpha seems like don't have the Intel RealSense Camera so can't control with your gestures.

WhiteHunter

the OS should be run from the 32GB mSATA Solid State Drive :)

32GB mSATA Solid State Drive is it even enough for other programs like office etc after installing the OS in it. wonder how come they don't put the Dell Inspiron 24 7000 as 1st prize.

WhiteHunter

all see top 3 prizes one

Inspiron 15 7000 with vouchers not exactly good to hoot also. top 3 is hard to get.

what88

I think they need more time to develop this.

wp_20150305_13_06_42_pro-100571847-large.jpg

RealSense is Intel’s “eye” into the world, a depth camera much like the Kinect camera that was designed for (and rejected by buyers of) the Microsoft Xbox One. It not only includes a video camera, but an infrared projector and laser to better intuit the real world. At the Game Developers Conference, CES, and the like, Intel has showed off a number of applications that take advantage of the RealSense cameras, from “scanning” your face onto a 3D avatar, to games that take advantage of gestures made with your hands. They can either be discrete cameras, or built into laptops and tablets.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2893...apps-intels-realsense-camera-is-a-puzzle.html

WhiteHunter

Nah all here :)

1. Realistic Avatars

RealSense is really good at scanning faces and turning them into objects that can be used, not only in 3D printing but also in software. I tested FaceShift, an application that replaces your real face with an avatar for video chats.

After leaning in for a few seconds so that the software could scan my face, I was able to chat as a robot, a red-haired boy or an ogre. As I moved my eyes, eye brows, lips and cheek muscles, the avatar followed my expressions closely. Unfortunately, it couldn't stick out its tongue when I did because it doesn't detect the inside of your mouth.

2. 3D Scanning for 3D Printouts

Though you won't be able to buy a system with a rear-facing RealSense camera until later in the year, Intel has a prototype tablet that can scan people's torsos and then 3D print them as decorative crystal paperweights.

The potential is there to create not just interesting paperweights, but fully-functional 3D-printed objects. Just imagine 3D scanning one screw in so you can print out another one.

Intel product manager Anil Nanduri told me that front-facing RealSense cameras can perform 3D scanning when used with the right software. Of course, the ergonomics of pointing your laptop webcam at an object presents a challenge. You'd have to lower the lid to just the right angle so you can get a small object in front of the deck and then carefully rotate it or use a rotating platform to capture all sides.

3. Green Screening Without a Screen

If you're doing a video chat and want someone to see your face, but not the messy living room behind you, a program called Personify will automatically remove the background and replace it with a graphic or a plain white space. In the past, you needed to film against a solid color background to separate your torso from the objects behind you, but RealSense's depth-sensors can tell the difference on its own.

Imagine doing a podcast about outerspace with animated stars behind you instead of your basement paneling. Picture yourself doing a video call from home with your boss and showing a blank white space behind you, rather than the wall your toddler just scribbled on.

4. Measuring Distances in Pictures

The Dell Venue 8 7000 tablet has the RealSense Snapshot camera, which adds depth information to photos it takes. With photos taken on the tablet, I was able to measure the distance between two points by drawing a line on the picture with my finger. For example, the software told me that the radius of a bike wheel in a photo was 27 inches.

Unfortunately, the software can't calculate everything. When I tried drawing measurement lines on a photo of an ice cream stand, the software informed me that many of my lines represented distances that were "too far" to measure.

5. Photo Layer Editing and Focusing

The Venue 8's camera also allows you to change which layers of a photo are in focus, long after you capture the image. You can even use filters that transform the color of some layers while leaving others untouched.

When I opened a photo of a vegetable stand and selected "Refocus" from the editing menu, I was able to blur or sharpen each set of vegetables, just by tapping on them.

I also enjoyed applying filters to the different layers on an ice cream stand photo so that the ice cream and the torch lights above the stand were in full color, but the buildings behind it were grayscale.

6. Holographic Navigation

Intel has shown a prototype PC with a virtual nav bar that appeared to float on air in front of the lower screen bezel. RealSense didn't create the holograph itself but it allowed me to interact with the virtual buttons by judging whether my fingers were at the right height to tap them.

7. Accurate Gesture Control

You can do gesture control with a regular 2D camera, but it doesn't always work well, particularly if your hand blends into the background or you put one hand in front of another. RealSense can easily distinguish all your fingers from each other and from your body and the world behind you.

At CES 2015, Intel had a giant wall of LED displays with a snow scene displayed on them and a series of RealSense cameras on top. As I raised my hand and moved my arms, the snow on the screen wall moved to shadow me.

8. Gaming With Your Body

A good used case for RealSense's gesture control is playing games. I got to play a spaceship game that relied on my movements for turning and firing.

RealSense Space Game

RealSense games can use other body parts as controls. In a LEGO racing game I tried, I moved a speed boat right and left by titling my neck. When I navigated up a ramp and jumped into the air, I could lift my hands to grab powerups.

9. 3D Gaming with Oculus

RealSense can add hand recognition to existing game systems such as the Oculus Rift VR glasses. Editor Mike Andronico played a game of volley ball on the headset, sticking his hands out in front of him to hit the ball. While Oculus has always provided the ability to play games in an immersive virtual world, it normally requires a controller. Adding Intel's depth-sensing cameras allows users to use their hands as the controller.

10. Object Avoidance

How do you make sure your new drone doesn't run into someone else's drone when you take it for a flight in the park? Intel showed off a sample drone with RealSense cameras on each side, allowing it to see how far it is from other objects and adjust its course to avoid a collision.

Apparently, it is not just the camera. Also a breakthrough in software. But some of them sounds too good to be true especially during this first approach. Reliability is a question.

Visit source with videos: http://www.tomsguide.com/us/intel-realsense-guide,news-20286.html

like this will definitely let admins minus away your points.

Nakedtoes

Thats why if u need the power bank or bluetooth speaker or 1tb HDD then chiong... no point fighting for top 3.. :(

shadow84

I think they need more time to develop this.

wp_20150305_13_06_42_pro-100571847-large.jpg

RealSense is Intel’s “eye” into the world, a depth camera much like the Kinect camera that was designed for (and rejected by buyers of) the Microsoft Xbox One. It not only includes a video camera, but an infrared projector and laser to better intuit the real world. At the Game Developers Conference, CES, and the like, Intel has showed off a number of applications that take advantage of the RealSense cameras, from “scanning” your face onto a 3D avatar, to games that take advantage of gestures made with your hands. They can either be discrete cameras, or built into laptops and tablets.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2893...apps-intels-realsense-camera-is-a-puzzle.html

I think maybe the reason it was rejected by buyers for Xone was that it had not much use and microsoft purposely bundle it and jack up prices in initial launch.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.