Let's DELL

MoneyFace =p

Thanks $$$face for the estimate posts. :D i just aiming for the voucher so I have the infinityedge uhd touch screen and powerful core i7 Skylake with Intel speed shift in XPS 15 that is sized closer to 14" laptop. :D

Ah, then you don't need to worry too much and you will sure get it! ;):s12:

I think Boss can award himself 800 bonus points to redeem the DBS for keeping this thread peaceful. =:p

Ohayo!

No idea for other electronic stores but Challenger confirmed have Apple MacBook & IMac.

Ah thank for informing me. I must have been blind then. Always pop by Challenger but never see any Macbook.

So far which stores carry the Dell XPS 13 and Macbook?

Ohayo!

Going to redeem soon, may be tomorrow ba.

The reason why yet redeem is this will somehow make me come here to learn some useful knowledge on new product XPS 13, once redeem sure will MIA.....;)

Congrats!!

Thank you for contributing so much even though you have enough points..

now getting hard to post since so few people discussing about Dell XPS 13 :(

what88

Congrats!!

Thank you for contributing so much even though you have enough points..

now getting hard to post since so few people discussing about Dell XPS 13 :(

Gain some and must contribute some ma...:)

This Dell XPS series is not suitable for me as I prefer a laptop with full keyboard. :).

jarred1223

Actually the Dell XPS 13 should leave a small depression on the top of the screen so can open it with one hand.. I saw the video the last part he's got a valid gripe. The MacBook can just open with 1 finger but Dell XPS 13 need to use both hands.

But then it will again be a challenge for Dell to implement it to keep it with their InfinityEdge screen.

Lol yeah.. First world problems. Laptop too thin, can't flip up the screen.. Or flip up the screen the laptop base too light then whole laptop gets lifted :s13:

kimsix

Ah thank for informing me. I must have been blind then. Always pop by Challenger but never see any Macbook.

So far which stores carry the Dell XPS 13 and Macbook?

Best Denki also have both Macbook and Dell XPS13.

kimsix

Gain some and must contribute some ma...:)

This Dell XPS series is not suitable for me as I prefer a laptop with full keyboard. :).

How about Dell Inspiron or Dell Precision laptops, they have the numpad and. :D

Ohayo!

I saw both at Best Denki Parkway Parade before....

I will be more interested to see how they fare with Windows 10 both onboard XPS 13 and MacBook

Thats a valid point. If both Dell XPS 13 and MacBook boot Windows 10 we can check the difference accurately without prejudice.

Ohayo!

Ya it should be the older design XPS17, waiting for them to update to new infinity edge design. There is also new xps12, it is to go up against the surface book. Also not in Singapore yet.

Well at least SG store brought the Dell XPS 13 here.

Hopefully we can see the Dell XPS 17 soon... although i feel its a bit too large for my liking..

Actually got reason to choose XPS 15 over XPS 13.. XPS 15 got GTX 960M :(

I seriously wonder if the Intel HD can play 1080p MadVR sia. My previous laptop got dedicated GPU but also fail to play 1080p :s22:

Ohayo!

One question:

if you guys have an XPS 13 right now, what would you do with it? Is there anything you would want to change (eg. hardware)? and what are your concerns.

If I had Dell XPS 13 I would use it for projects.

Well i think i have mentioned some of them but let me summarize.

I would definitely put a ethernet port on it. Also, it definitely needs more USB ports too. The webcam position doesn't affect me much since I never use webcam at all. Probably good for people who love selfies? I duno.

Sim card slot! VERY few notebooks have it. But since SG telcos have such thing as multi SIM, it will be convenient to just slot the other SIM card into the Dell XPS 13. No need for tether and waste your phone battery.

Upgradable RAM. 8GB is currently like the minimum standard for PCs. It will not be adequate in the years to come.

Removable battery is more of a want than a need.. If Dell requires it to be internal to save space then no choice I guess.

MoneyFace =p

Boss here hates the non removable battery part. Why can't they let us do what we want. The old macbook use to allow people to remove the battery and now we can't. Not sure about other brands, but we would assume it is the same? :s11:
I believe Dell will love to make their battery removable on their XPS ultrabooks, but current technologies just doesn't allow that to happen for now. This is why they circumvent this problem with their innovative, small and very portable Dell Power Companion to provide extra omph of power whenever needed. No other makers have done so to their ultrabooks.

MoneyFace =p

I think the integrated battery is a case of form over function. Because people demand their latest gadgets to have full metal casing with unibody curves, a removal battery will have to cut a hole somehow and also compromise on the structural integrity.

The way to deal with this is to continue making gains in processor efficiency, to make the OS smarter to go deep sleep such as Intel speed shift in the Skylake cpu.

Dell is the fastest brand in Singapore to go full Skylake range, I feel the XPS13 will benefit from it as the other ultrabooks selling now still on haswell

Don't worry... Dell still made it darn easily to remove the back panel to access all the key features for upgrades :s12:

NNW6JsTZNfTeLlh1.huge

VsRkKDG21pAboGXE.medium

Info from ifixit

MoneyFace =p

One question:

if you guys have an Dell XPS 13 right now, what would you do with it? Is there anything you would want to change (eg. hardware)? and what are your concerns.

Frankly speaking, I think i might give/sell it off to my brother-in-law who needs one for his work since he already intend to get one during upcoming SITEX (assuming if i get it). With it, he can port it around many different places to meet several clients without worrying battery going flat or feeling it burden with the all workday battery life (8-10 hours) and ultra lightweight. His clients will also feel more confidence investing in him seeing his unique foresight with the right choice of laptop, witnessing its ultra sharp and vibrant display, and that one-of-its-kind laptop screen bezel on the virtually borderless InfinityEdge display. With such laptop line popular as a expensive premium, his client will also think he is doing well in his career to have the ability to own such a premium gadget and hence have more faith in reaping better profits from the investments with him. Huat ah! :flash:

After reading reviews and opinions from the rest here, i would like my unit of Dell XPS 13 to have these improvements:

Screen
Given this laptop primarily targeted at business and design media professionals, the screen still fall short of colour calibration to moderate its rather cool default colour tone. It will have been truly ideal if Dell does factory colour calibration just like what Aftershock offers on the laptops before handling to end users. This will have really hit Apple in the nail to seal its lost against Dell XPS laptop in the war.

Better IGP
As mentioned by kimsix above, Iris Pro graphics is a better candidate to power such high resolution display for media productivity as well as some light gaming. Battery life on this XPS 13 is already pretty long, so trading off some for better gaming performance shouldn't see any objection from potential buyers.

Removable RAM
Yes i do see having totally 2x removable RAM slots as an achilles heel to the laptop's thickness. But Dell can have been more flexible to offer both soldered on RAM as well as a single SO-DIMM slot for expansionary purpose as well as mitigate the problem of spoilt RAM on the long run. Since they can afford to have M.2 slot and mPCIe slot, i really don't see why they can't have a single RAM slot of the same thickness.

Webcam
Shift its webcam to the centre zone, ideally just adjacent to the Dell logo to achieve a better view for the opposing viewer and for selfie shots. Intel Realsense 3D camera as an optional upgrade is also welcomed to value-add the experience on the laptop.

Gigabit Ethernet LAN port and SIM card slot
As pointed out by Ohayo!, omission of these ports are a big deal breaker for those business associate individuals or potential enterprise contract as a whole. Especially for LAN port, since it is one of the key necessity feature in corporate environment, where network security and stability is paramount. It is still possible to include the LAN port with an enlargeable port flap as seen in my earlier post. Having a SIM card slot also enable to fully maximise its lightweight advantage to connect to the web anywhere on-the-go, which is advantageous for them to monitor latest news / stock market realtime.

Hackintosh :p
As mentioned earlier, Windows 10 and its programs still have a long way to refine and iron out to deliver a truly seamless high quality GUI. I would like the capability to turn it into a Hackintosh to take advantage of its high resolution friendly ecosystem.

wadsad

we are expecting one more video right? or no more liao ah.

oh ya got 1 more tml. :s13:

hope next time the events also can get sph/ hwz(?) employees to act in short skits for topics. better than seeing pictures only. :s13:

what88

Wow the Dell Powerbank is gone! Left speakers!

Yea, I took the last piece.

Dun think anyone will able to redeem that DBS as this Let's Dell thread going to end soon..kimsix is planning to redeem voucher for his XP 15. :)

MoneyFace =p

The Dell XPS 13 also features a very handy button on the left side which you can push to check the remaining battery life on your device even when its powered off.

I feel that Dell has really put themselves in the shoes of their consumer as this little feature is small yet a very helpful one. There is no more need to power up your laptop or having the need to remember whether your laptop has enough juice to last you throughout the day (it should, at max capacity).

All you need is a push of a button to determine its remaining life and it will tell you whether you have to plug in AC.

The battery indicator has been a very useful and practical initiative that is unseen from other laptop makers. However, by placing both the button and the LED indicator by the side, users have to either tilt head towards the side or tilt the laptop up to see the battery level well. Some users may find this troublesome to keep tilting head or laptop to be able to view the LED. I AM ONE OF THEM. I will suggest Dell to relocate the button and LED indicator to the front edge of the keyboard base like the one below just like my old Sony VAIO CR. So anyone can see the battery level upfront without needing to lift up screen to view from OS.

s4.jpg

MoneyFace =p

Well at least SG store brought the Dell XPS 13 here.

Hopefully we can see the Dell XPS 17 soon... although i feel its a bit too large for my liking..

Actually got reason to choose XPS 15 over XPS 13.. XPS 15 got GTX 960M :(

I seriously wonder if the Intel HD can play 1080p MadVR sia. My previous laptop got dedicated GPU but also fail to play 1080p :s22:

I believe XPS 17 won't make its way here as it is rather big size. Through many laptop-oriented review sites, such 15.6" form factor notebook are much better received in AMDK regions where their people are generally bigger in size and have preference for that. Meanwhile, Asians prefer 13.3-14" better. I really wanna see XPS 14 in a 13.3" notebook form factor as i find it the ideal size for me having carried many notebook of different sizes...

My Intel HD Graphics 4000 still CMI for madVR. Perhaps Iris Pro can handle mid level rendering. Which discrete graphics model is that on your laptop? 1080p madVR rendering on highest setting requires graphics chip of GTX 650 equivalence.

kimsix

Xps13 is so thin and light, but made of durable metal, I thought of I can bring it out when going holidays. Which in normal cases I won't. I can now slip one into my luggage or backpack without a fuss and can use in plane or hotel room to photo edit and not limited to my smartphone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.