Let's talk about SG population. Again

zetraw

Why are we so fixated on increasing population?

I think many can give excellent examples on how automation can reduce manpower requirement. Now we have AI, more examples.

I am not denying many tasks need physical manpower.

We go "lower" and talk about family. The family size used to be huge, but are getting smaller. Have we fall behind?

So why do we need so many people?

I hope the answers are not related to financial, like IRAS need more revenue, CPF need more contribution, etc.

zetraw

Just want to add. Even "opposition" are also talking about increasing population or something about limiting the population.

I understand the old civilization where the more people, the faster we can build, the faster we can harvest, etc.

Now??

zetraw

Maybe someone knows that half our population will suddenly disappear. So now, we have doubled and half disappeared, we are back to square one.

Sauron

Human is our only resource. We have no natural resources

Litmuss

I think many can give excellent examples on how automation can reduce manpower requirement. Now we have AI, more examples.

We go "lower" and talk about family. The family size used to be huge, but are getting smaller. Have we fall behind?

I hope the answers are not related to financial, like IRAS need more revenue, CPF need more contribution, etc.
I can tell you the answer right away.

As per the Men in white previously, 'Foreigners' create jobs for locals.

Our govt is running out of ideas on how to create jobs for singaporeans without recruiting more foreigners. And they are asking for Minsters salaries review. Ironic.

pspandwp

Maybe someone knows that half our population will suddenly disappear. So now, we have doubled and half disappeared, we are back to square one.

bro, there is a difference between local born citizen and new citizen

and in new citizen, there is a difference between new citizen
who has served full time NSF and those who have not

on the above criteria
local born < 2.8 million
new citizen who has completed full time NSF < 1,000 (aka 0.001 million)

total red blooded citizens (local born + new citizen who has completed full time NSF)
is about 2.8 million

at current resident population of 6.23 million

sinkie small island is already overwhelmed with aliens FTs PRs
and this is, without doubt, the major failure of white government

6.23 million less 2.80 million = 3.43 million
3.43 > 2.80 by 0.63

local born sinkies in 2026 and thereafter
are screwed the moment they are born
because if they are males
they waste NSF time to serve non citizens, and all for nothing
but the privilege of being local born

lalalalalala

Because gov is addicted. Importing is like steroids, take already feel shiok shiok, your performance go up because revenue surplus etc. ppl think you running the best govt.

As long as you rich enough you don't suffer with the poor yucky people. The shopping centres you go are those only accessible by car etc

majestixv3

You bo learn economics? Population increase is part of equation to increase GDP

kreja

I want more eye candy to beo when I go out. So please increase the population with more chiobus. The rest not impt for bbfa that is too poor to leave his hdb anyways.

coyote

You need a growing economy and GDP for it's citizens to be gainfully employed for longer term. If the economy shrinks, everyone will suffer pay cuts and job losses... So, the process will be painful for everyone. Like wise, if we do not progressively improve ourselves, we will get displaced by technologies...like AI displacing programmers.

There's a famous book called "Who moved my cheese". Read about it and it will explain better. We simply cannot just sit in our comfort zone and expect everything will stay the same till eternity.

stanlawj

Correction: Humans that can earn income immediately and be used to secure more bank lending.
That's why FT more desirable than babies.

Watch what they do, not what they say.

boredom2012

More votes to pap

coyote

You bo learn economics? Population increase is part of equation to increase GDP

And we need an increasing GDP for everyone to be gainfully employed. That'll only work if the economic pie grow bigger progressively. If economy shrinks, companies will be leaving and more people lost their jobs, then one will really be competing fiercely with everyone, regardless locals or foreigners, for the remaining smaller pool of jobs...

volarth

Yes but no?

In the 70s/80s you saw this need and SG invested into educations and productivity... aka more and "better" human. We build up a workforce that was known to be dependable and efficient.

Today we simply "take" the human "resource" from other countries to the point where the local population is obsolete.

Low TFR? Import more. Need cheap workers? Import more.

This lead to the SG losing the productivity/skill edge as the workforce is effectively 50% "FT".

GundamG

they just want to milk the current situation for themselves because after their generation they can migrate as a wealthy man. the future mess will be dealt by poor sinkies. lower educated, lower paid, replaced by AI and many more.

NintendoSwitch

The larger the population, the more VAT is collected.
iu

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.