LG G4

Jim Gordon

A lot of people's phones are suddenly dying and stuck in boot screen when re-attempt to power on it looks to be affecting a whole batch of phones whose serial number (not IMEI) starts with '505'.

The 505 I think is the year and month naming format for manufacture date used by LG, 5 = 2015, 05 = May

You can check the serial no. on the box, or on the phone, if you remove the battery there should be a sticker stuck on the battery compartment with the serial and IMEI

This problem is scary cos once it strikes, you have no way to save your phone's internal memory, and of course when the service centre receives it, they will wipe the phone.

Sony camera is overhyped. I come from a Z1 Compact in the past and the new xperias they use still arent up to standard in camera software, the phone still lacks OIS and the noise reduction still is too aggressive in low light

on side note, has anyone who went through the whole service process can help me confirm do they really need the proof of purchase? cos i cant find my receipt and only have the warranty card (which does have the retailer's stamp and all but its still no receipt)

Jialat, 505 is For H818/815 model is it or affect F500 model (export set) as well ? I just bought one export set but haven reached me yet. sian sia.

OutBreak

Is it because due to many motherboard changing? Quite slow though

Most probably they did not anticipate the influx of motherboard failures with G4 owners. I am surprised that they did not see it coming, it's a global issue affecting the early batch of phones. It is really disgusting when LG fails to acknowledge or admit the issue. The nonchalant attitude with a huge company like LG is disturbing. I am waiting for a class-action lawsuit in the US.. it needs to hit them where it hurts.. their profits!

Global issue:
https://www.reddit.com/r/lgg4/comments/3wir18/psa_if_you_purchased_a_g4_before_october_it_may/

(US) Sprint Recall:
https://www.reddit.com/r/lgg4/comments/3nhzuw/sprint_lg_g4_recall/

LG ratings in US:
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/cell_phones/lg_cell_phones.html

doki81

Most probably they did not anticipate the influx of motherboard failures with G4 owners. I am surprised that they did not see it coming, it's a global issue affecting the early batch of phones. It is really disgusting when LG fails to acknowledge or admit the issue. The nonchalant attitude with a huge company like LG is disturbing. I am waiting for a class-action lawsuit in the US.. it needs to hit them where it hurts.. their profits!

Global issue:
https://www.reddit.com/r/lgg4/comments/3wir18/psa_if_you_purchased_a_g4_before_october_it_may/

(US) Sprint Recall:
https://www.reddit.com/r/lgg4/comments/3nhzuw/sprint_lg_g4_recall/

LG ratings in US:
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/cell_phones/lg_cell_phones.html
damn... i am having the first batch as well... nowadays seldom use it as i have nexus 6p ady.... dunno when my g4 will die on me... :(

Sent from Huawei NEXUS 6P using GAGT

bomiacheng

1.ILoveMYMAMA
2.FishandWater
3.jungle_sg
4.sky133
5.cacafoo
6.studmufn
7.devilot4
8.radiancez567
9.josephlpw
10.mds8080
11.iciclexlolli
12.balzebub
13.lumjil
14.dreamz13
15.aeng
16.mecha_power
17.OutBreak
18.jess_sy
19.ParkJinYoung
20.slo_mo
21.Descay
22.dasreich
23.tess_yoyo
24.HuatKway
25.GenocideX
26.kumar2004
27.bluecheap
28.ti122000
29.chehjin
30.ShinigamiX
31.Chemist_Sim
32.DesertStrike
33.Azuzok
34.angelgemini
35.chiaRH
36.shady86
37.efini81
38. eyeheych
39. spyder79
40. NoKiALoVeR
41. oldturtle

mine died on 10th Dec. Just got back yesterday after they sent me an SMS for collection. at svc centre, i saw a cabinet full of phones :s22: (not sure if they are all G4s or not)

But it's running on MM though! Just relieved that I got it back before the holidays.. :s12:

Hi, I am new to this forum. Come to here when I google for LG G4 boot loop issue.
My LG G4 (H815) also kena the boot loop issue and has the serial number starts with 505.
However, I already have my bootloader unlocked and rooted the phone :(
Any bro/sis here has same experience and knows if by any chances Singapore LG service centre would still recognise the warranty?

ahtea

Most service centres including Apple are repairing their products instead of exchanging them.

1:1 normally applies for products defective during the first 7 days of purchase - via telcos (not too sure if that has changed too).
Telco now also don't do 1-1 within 7 days if I am not wrong. Usually they ask you to go back to service centre if the set is faulty after you leave the shop.

Bryson

1.ILoveMYMAMA
2.FishandWater
3.jungle_sg
4.sky133
5.cacafoo
6.studmufn
7.devilot4
8.radiancez567
9.josephlpw
10.mds8080
11.iciclexlolli
12.balzebub
13.lumjil
14.dreamz13
15.aeng
16.mecha_power
17.OutBreak
18.jess_sy
19.ParkJinYoung
20.slo_mo
21.Descay
22.dasreich
23.tess_yoyo
24.HuatKway
25.GenocideX
26.kumar2004
27.bluecheap
28.ti122000
29.chehjin
30.ShinigamiX
31.Chemist_Sim
32.DesertStrike
33.Azuzok
34.angelgemini
35.chiaRH
36.shady86
37.efini81
38. eyeheych
39. spyder79
40. NoKiALoVeR
41. oldturtle
42.Bryson

Firmware: V10D
S/N: 505

Died on me while I was just surfing the net on my way home in the bus and the service centre has closed! :mad:

spyder79

Hi, I am new to this forum. Come to here when I google for LG G4 boot loop issue.
My LG G4 (H815) also kena the boot loop issue and has the serial number starts with 505.
However, I already have my bootloader unlocked and rooted the phone :(
Any bro/sis here has same experience and knows if by any chances Singapore LG service centre would still recognise the warranty?

Can't even boot in the OS. no way can see.

If s/n 505. Don't update to v10d? Scary leh.

Sent from Huawei NEXUS 6P using GAGT

It is mainboard issue not software... update or not still will kena. just remem to backup weekly...

slo_mo

Just got my device this morning. Mobo change to s/n 512 and software updated to V20a marshmallow.
Sent to service center 12Dec, received sms last 24Dec to claim device.

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.