LG G4

Alexz_Hong

Seems like the M7 has the better camera than S6?

The night scene for M7 shows more details in surrounding areas and the day pic house is sharper on M7.

:s22::s22::s22:

i wouldn't call the night scene "details". the exposure is brighter (and in fact over exposed), that's all. If you zoom in, it's grainy, and slightly blurry. The S6 looks darker simply because I made the ISO lower so the shot is more natural looking. If i had used a higher ISO or brighter exposure settings, it would show all those "details" in the surrounding area too, and in much better quality and less grain.

S6 with exposure pushed up to similar levels
17233336451_3185d29f1c_c.jpg

M7 :
IMAG0065.jpg

The house is sharper on the M7 probably because of its narrower aperture at f/2.0 as explained earlier. But i suspect it has more to do with image processing too. But anyway, the house is in the background, and it being blur gives the image a nicer depth of field effect. But of course that's personal preference. lol.

knightshaz

Picture comparisons are useless if manual controls in the camera app are not used to set exact same settings across all the phones, eg. shutter speed, aperture and ISO.

mokseng

:s22::s22::s22:

i wouldn't call the night scene "details". the exposure is brighter (and in fact over exposed), that's all. If you zoom in, it's grainy, and slightly blurry. The S6 looks darker simply because I made the ISO lower so the shot is more natural looking. If i had used a higher ISO or brighter exposure settings, it would show all those "details" in the surrounding area too, and in much better quality and less grain.

S6 with exposure pushed up to similar levels
17233336451_3185d29f1c_c.jpg

M7 :
IMAG0065.jpg

The house is sharper on the M7 probably because of its narrower aperture at f/2.0 as explained earlier. But i suspect it has more to do with image processing too. But anyway, the house is in the background, and it being blur gives the image a nicer depth of field effect. But of course that's personal preference. lol.
Eh I like it like that. Will it turn out like that if I use auto mode at night?

Sent from 4one using GAGT

Alexz_Hong

Eh I like it like that. Will it turn out like that if I use auto mode at night?

Yes actually. To me the photos are slightly over exposed at night for the S6. Which is why i will tap on the viewfinder or go into pro mode to push the ISO down. If you use auto mode, it will look close to this, but still not as over-exposed as this. :s13:

WhiteAnt

It says 29th Apr leh

Lol I self-pwn!

That one should be trial. :crazy:

Play G Flex2 first :o

In HTC's ultra pixel case, the aperture is just part of the equation. It's the sensor as well which has "larger" pixels on the sensor. The sensor itself is actually no bigger than other phones these days. The larger pixels on the sensor allows for better light sensitivity according to HTC, but it come with its downsides too with the overall output being the main one.

I've not used the M8 before but did have the M7 which has OIS. But you can clearly see how much better the camera on the S6 is, especially in low light. Both were taken at the first try. The one taken on the M7 even has some minor motion blur despite having Ultra Pixel and OIS. The S6 does have a wider aperture and a larger sensor though.

M7 night:
IMAG0065.jpg

S6 night:
20150417_045346.jpg

M7 day:
IMAG0051.jpg

S6 day:
20150416_180650.jpg

In the day time shot you can also see the difference in the aperture and depth of field. How the Guan Yin is slightly more blurry on the S6 and how it's sharper on the M7.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

The nightshot for S6 pretty cool and very sharp, albeit a little too dark for my liking... unless it is really that dark in real life. :o

Wahhh the 2nd picture can see the shadow clearly on the grass patch on S6!

King of LG G4 quick come beat S6! :s12:

Alexz_Hong

Picture comparisons are useless if manual controls in the camera app are not used to set exact same settings across all the phones, eg. shutter speed, aperture and ISO.

If you're talking about manual controls... yes. Photo comparisons are probably useless. Since not all camera have the same manual controls. And different phone have different style of processing, different type of hardware.

But what can be shown in picture comparisons, are how good the cameras are as a whole in auto mode and using the default camera app. And of course how well each manufacturer optimise their camera. Testing auto mode is more relevant to me as that's what most people will use most when taking photos on phones.

falcom2002

All the comparisons here, I take it with a grain of salt.
Real fruitful comparisons should be done professionally with
a tripod on each phone or a device to support the two or
three cameras.

Then get two persons or three if you need to...slowly
release the shutter of the camera at the same
time without moving the camera at all to get maximum
sharpness.

Of course you have to set all cameras with
the same ISO, same colour balance and at the correct
exposure determined by the camera automatically or
set manually if this feature is available.

Alexz_Hong

All the comparisons here, I take it with a grain of salt.
Real fruitful comparisons should be done professionally with
a tripod on each phone or a device to support the two or
three cameras.

Then get two persons or three if you need to...slowly
release the shutter of the camera at the same
time without moving the camera at all to get maximum
sharpness.

Of course you have to set all cameras with
the same ISO, same colour balance and at the correct
exposure determined by the camera automatically or
set manually if this feature is available.

Agree. Even in controlled environments like you described, you need to take the comparisons with a pinch of salt too. Since those doesn't factor in how different phones' software handles those settings automatically.

Like some phones can have top end hardware, and takes great images in manual mode. But when it comes to auto mode, it messes the exposure, ISO, colour balance up. Vice versa. Some phones can have slightly lower end hardware, but with a brilliant auto mode can take consistently better looking images than ones with good hardware but poor auto mode. Let's face it, on a phone, most people aren't going to be changing the camera settings manually for every shot they take.

Also mounted on tripod, you can't see how the OIS or Digital stabilisation performs. Or how the lack of OIS affects the shots taken. Not to mention most of the time when shooting on a phone, you're doing it with minimal to no support. I doubt many people carry a tripod with them everywhere they go.

So yeah. It's better to take everything with a grain of salt and just test out the phone yourself. :s13:

Alexz_Hong

That said, can't wait for LG G4. The camera looks really interesting, and LG has always been pretty good at camera tech too. Have high hopes for it. :s12::s12::s12:

2015 is shaping up to be a really interesting year for mobile tech unlike 2014... :s13::s13::s13:

mokseng

Yes actually. To me the photos are slightly over exposed at night for the S6. Which is why i will tap on the viewfinder or go into pro mode to push the ISO down. If you use auto mode, it will look close to this, but still not as over-exposed as this. :s13:
Cool. I'm happy with my s4 running on aosp. The only feature I'm lacking is the camera performance. :lick:

WhiteAnt

That said, can't wait for LG G4. The camera looks really interesting, and LG has always been pretty good at camera tech too. Have high hopes for it. :s12::s12::s12:

2015 is shaping up to be a really interesting year for mobile tech unlike 2014... :s13::s13::s13:

Me too, really looking forward to LG G4.

I already have 0 expectation of the trial contest since there are literally 10 of thousands of participants.

trenzterra

Agree. Even in controlled environments like you described, you need to take the comparisons with a pinch of salt too. Since those doesn't factor in how different phones' software handles those settings automatically.

Like some phones can have top end hardware, and takes great images in manual mode. But when it comes to auto mode, it messes the exposure, ISO, colour balance up. Vice versa. Some phones can have slightly lower end hardware, but with a brilliant auto mode can take consistently better looking images than ones with good hardware but poor auto mode. Let's face it, on a phone, most people aren't going to be changing the camera settings manually for every shot they take.

Also mounted on tripod, you can't see how the OIS or Digital stabilisation performs. Or how the lack of OIS affects the shots taken. Not to mention most of the time when shooting on a phone, you're doing it with minimal to no support. I doubt many people carry a tripod with them everywhere they go.

So yeah. It's better to take everything with a grain of salt and just test out the phone yourself. :s13:
Agreed. I think my S4 can take quite decent photos, BUT I need to keep my hand perfectly still. Once I move just a little bit, the whole shot is gone.

Now I value optical image stabilisation or OIS+ for the LG G4 and place it near the top of my list, esp. with the website I'm running now, it requires me to take sneaky shots of prices at various places without being questioned if I'm a competitor :s13:

Anyway, has anyone been contacted yet about the try-out? I hope I can get it... although it's in between my exams but I still quite gian to try it out and maybe post a review. TBH, seems like the G4 has #hotcurves as well but I would've preferred a true Samsung competitor: don't need to curve, but a smaller 5" screen. Hopefully the curves make it easier to handle?

Alexz_Hong

Agreed. I think my S4 can take quite decent photos, BUT I need to keep my hand perfectly still. Once I move just a little bit, the whole shot is gone.

Now I value optical image stabilisation or OIS+ for the LG G4 and place it near the top of my list, esp. with the website I'm running now, it requires me to take sneaky shots of prices at various places without being questioned if I'm a competitor :s13:

Anyway, has anyone been contacted yet about the try-out? I hope I can get it... although it's in between my exams but I still quite gian to try it out and maybe post a review. TBH, seems like the G4 has #hotcurves as well but I would've preferred a true Samsung competitor: don't need to curve, but a smaller 5" screen. Hopefully the curves make it easier to handle?

If slight curve I don't mind actually. The Nexus S and Galaxy Nexus has #NotSoHotCurves, but still feels nice in hand. i wished they would go to 5" or 5.2" at most too, but I've never seen a manufacturer go smaller. High chance it's 5.5" already. They even announced the panel already (http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech...isplay-higher-color-gamut-and-better-contrast) LOL.

yamihamir

New LG G4 teaser video shows off the device’s leather back :)

And, it will have a slight curve to its display but not as extreme as g flex 2, more like lg magna and sprint.

trenzterra

Can they just unveil the whole phone already...

And I noticed they revealed almost all the specs except the processor and ram... Hmmm

kaysee

New LG G4 teaser video shows off the device’s leather back :)

And, it will have a slight curve to its display but not as extreme as g flex 2, more like lg magna and sprint.

dont really like the leather sia. Leather always got wear and tear. Unlike plastic or metal casing phones, use after 2 years still can sell nice nice in 1 piece. Leather maybe got kena poke here poke there or scratch which will be obvious.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.