LG G5

kopi22

but honestly, her review is mostly about how bad the unit is because of the light bleeds etc and its because of the unit she brought, you go check other reviewers see they got complain same problem anot lor if out of 10 reviewer 9 got same problem then i nothing to say la. she simply suay as fck thats all i can say right now... and this one certainly is not a problem for me. and i personally tried the G5 at JP singtel and it felt great.. and i did not see any uneven gaps at the modular area as well.. , the camera of g5 is really stunning.. who never get g5 just lose out lor.
Well that's what we call a review right? If she can get a set with light bleeding, possible that it is a batch issue and others may get the same problem as well. That's brings us to the question of QC. When you tried the phone at JP, did you try it in a dark room? How you so sure that the unit is not having light bleeding issue? As for the gaps she already mentioned that it is not happening on the demo unit she tried at MWC. So ultimately is still about LG QC. Let's put it this way. Will you like it if you are holding onto an inferior set like hers?

As for the camera, can't comment much because there is no official camera comparisons yet. As a benefit of doubt I will think G5 camera may be just as good if it is using the same V10 camera module.

Sent from inside the toilet bowl taking upskirts using GAGT

chiaRH

but honestly, her review is mostly about how bad the unit is because of the light bleeds etc and its because of the unit she brought, you go check other reviewers see they got complain same problem anot lor if out of 10 reviewer 9 got same problem then i nothing to say la. she simply suay as fck thats all i can say right now... and this one certainly is not a problem for me. and i personally tried the G5 at JP singtel and it felt great.. and i did not see any uneven gaps at the modular area as well.. , the camera of g5 is really stunning.. who never get g5 just lose out lor.

If you already like what you see, there's no need to even consider reading review because your decision is already set anyway.

But there's going to be people out there who arent ok with things like backlight bleed and gaps in the magic slot. And this is a premium flagship device that is only 10 bucks cheaper than the S7 so its understandable that people wouldnt want to have to live with these sort of little quality problems.

nexus2cee_DSC01974_thumb.jpg

this is the 'little gap' as seen in the android police review. As i mentioned from my hands on at M1, this gap is there on all devices I saw, so if LG will say its a manufacturing defect, then its a pretty widespread one.

Twisties86

Same thoughts. When I saw how we need to remove the battery for acesssories I knew something is just not right. Will suffer wear and tear for sure.

Sent from inside the toilet bowl taking upskirts using GAGT

Beside having a loose clip in future, there is no back volume rocker (LG DNA is lost) and the inside of the removal modular will accumulate dust and prone to water sip in my own opinion. With a removable back, we can still open and clean but with a small opening hole of G5, there is no way we can clean or dry if water sip in.

a9500494a

Beside having a loose clip in future, there is no back volume rocker (LG DNA is lost) and the inside of the removal modular will accumulate dust and prone to water sip in my own opinion. With a removable back, we can still open and clean but with a small opening hole of G5, there is no way we can clean or dry if water sip in.

It is obvious they need to relocate the volume rocker to make way for the removable battery. Otherwise the capacity will shrink more when it is smaller to begin compared to G4.

Use cotton buds, or go service center ask them to clean for you.

a9500494a

If you already like what you see, there's no need to even consider reading review because your decision is already set anyway.

But there's going to be people out there who arent ok with things like backlight bleed and gaps in the magic slot. And this is a premium flagship device that is only 10 bucks cheaper than the S7 so its understandable that people wouldnt want to have to live with these sort of little quality problems.

nexus2cee_DSC01974_thumb.jpg

this is the 'little gap' as seen in the android police review. As i mentioned from my hands on at M1, this gap is there on all devices I saw, so if LG will say its a manufacturing defect, then its a pretty widespread one.

From bootloopgate to gapgate. Lol. LG flagships sure cursed with problems. Good luck potential G5 owners.

chiaRH

It is obvious they need to relocate the volume rocker to make way for the removable battery. Otherwise the capacity will shrink more when it is smaller to begin compared to G4.

they can actually maintain or even increase the capacity. Problem is, LG like every other company think that the size of a phone can only 'improve' by growing thinner, and are willing to forego that extra battery just to save a few millimeters.

and it doesnt help when the most influential smartphone company of all, thinks its ok to stick s 1715mAh battery into their latest flagship

From bootloopgate to gapgate. Lol. LG flagships sure cursed with problems. Good luck potential G5 owners.

the pacing of releasing smartphone flagships has quickened so fast that i think the people no longer even have time to do proper QC. More so if, in addition to the flagships they still need to "waste effort" on their 'midrange' (LG class, X cam, X screen etc) that probably most people wont care too much about.

With the upcoming Note 6 rumoured to arrive earlier than usual too, i wonder if it will hit a pengate-style hardware issue like its predecessor.

chiaRH

HWZ has confirmed Apr 16 launch date

wish all the eager customers a happy waiting

hpv500

Other than M1, have the other telcos put out their sets?
cannot wait to go molest . :p hahahahah

i saw the demo set at Singtel Jurong Point on saturday.

Pretty much ok for me. dont mind the gap etc. but then the wide angle cam seems abit too overrated

ecneret_eel

looking at all the news, the reviews etc, I would say LG Mobile is in for a roller coaster ride, a storm is coming man, they better be ready.

chiaRH

looking at all the news, the reviews etc, I would say LG Mobile is in for a roller coaster ride, a storm is coming man, they better be ready.

at least it kind of shows some people still care enough about LG, other companies like sony and HTC can only dream of people still caring about their phones.

currently all of the 'bad rep' the G5 is getting purely comes from the viral circulation of the videos from erica griffin and jerryRigEverything. Like bendgate in the past, its the sort of thing that easily riles up consumer attention.

Nobody bothers with videos that came out to gush how awesome a product is because its so easy to dismiss that as pure fanboyism. But a lot of people are naturally drawn to negative stuff and bandwagon on the hate train which can easily get out of hand.

eventually when the people get tired of harping on the G5's gap or plastic/primer coating and the real reviews start to flow in, then the proper complete picture of the phone as a whole will start to emerge.

for myself however, i've already decided since MWC that this isnt a worthy upgrade to the G4 so I dont need to worry about buying a 'bad' device. i will admit originally during the bootloop saga i was contemplating trading in the G4 for G5 especially since my recontract period is this year, but MWC's reveal has reversed that decision for me (battery was immediate dealbreaker and lack of camera improvement didnt help)

caterham7

brief test at m1 bugis yesterday

models on display already had some nicks, specifically on the area between the back and the metal rim edge

battery to body edge; inconsistent gap from left to right

only tested camera; note: bright environment in m1 not conducive for real world testing

but anyway, the 16mp main cam is good, af slightly slower than s7, but photo quality seems slightly less muddy when zoomed in

g5 manual mode better than s7 pro mode; slightly more features, e.g. the level indicator is useful

the wide angle 8mp 2nd sensor is quite nice, but at f/2.4, it may struggle in low-light

chiaRH

leica only doing the lens. end of the day the sensor and software will still make or break the photo quality. you see the Asus Zenfone Zoom uses Hoya lens but the sensor chui and end up the photo are underwhelming

only tested camera; note: bright environment in m1 not conducive for real world testing

If the samsung booth is near enough, bring it to the black box that the S7 has for low light photography testing :s13:

zzcalvin123

at least it kind of shows some people still care enough about LG, other companies like sony and HTC can only dream of people still caring about their phones.

currently all of the 'bad rep' the G5 is getting purely comes from the viral circulation of the videos from erica griffin and jerryRigEverything. Like bendgate in the past, its the sort of thing that easily riles up consumer attention.

Nobody bothers with videos that came out to gush how awesome a product is because its so easy to dismiss that as pure fanboyism. But a lot of people are naturally drawn to negative stuff and bandwagon on the hate train which can easily get out of hand.

eventually when the people get tired of harping on the G5's gap or plastic/primer coating and the real reviews start to flow in, then the proper complete picture of the phone as a whole will start to emerge.

for myself however, i've already decided since MWC that this isnt a worthy upgrade to the G4 so I dont need to worry about buying a 'bad' device. i will admit originally during the bootloop saga i was contemplating trading in the G4 for G5 especially since my recontract period is this year, but MWC's reveal has reversed that decision for me (battery was immediate dealbreaker and lack of camera improvement didnt help)

most likely people in the in Europe and US tends to use phone without a case. so if they feel that the phone feels plastic/ cheap they will start KPKB

xRenol

leica only doing the lens. end of the day the sensor and software will still make or break the photo quality. you see the Asus Zenfone Zoom uses Hoya lens but the sensor chui and end up the photo are underwhelming

Yes but at least another option for dual lens smartphone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.