LG G5

a9500494a

:s13: so another way to look at it would be

when your battery reaches 5% and your states - "battery level too low for taking photos" - attaching camplus enables the phone to take photos?

It's alittle stupid though - hopefully something that can be fixed with an update

I dun wanna look that way. Think update cannot fix a hard wired thing.

a9500494a

thats why i think LG itself doesnt even know how to design a good module, I dont know how it can convince 3rd party devs that its serious about modularity. Even the way they designed the modularity isnt exactly very versatile because things can only plug in at the bottom so if you wanted to make a module with things like a camera it would be really awkward.

i think the only module i would want to see is something the same size as the default bottom piece, but filled as much as possible with extra battery.

As much as i dun want to, but at least LG start with modularity. Not a well thought way though, but dev can shame them with better design and size of the module. Example why BnO attachment is bigger than the original module? Failed. They should design the BnO circuitry with pass thru to the top audio jack so as not to create another making a long chin... Alamak. I like the BnO insignia replacing LG. Lol.

My normal gel case can't fit that also, so i decided not to buy it.

chiaRH

Curious, what tripod are you using for your phone?

this
http://www.challenger.com.sg/inbox_images/4de800d910e4a2bfdc5a5597d2534d3c.jpg

it was on promo at funan challenger so i got it.

i got it cos its compact enough to fit in a medium size bag. Because of its short height, I attach a selfie stick on it to increase the height if need be. Of course a selfie stick on a tripod will still be less stable than a proper full-length tripod but usually its ok if i dont extend the stick to maximum and its not too windy

As much as i dun want to, but at least LG start with modularity. Not a well thought way though, but dev can shame them with better design and size of the module. Example why BnO attachment is bigger than the original module? Failed. They should design the BnO circuitry with pass thru to the top audio jack so as not to create another making a long chin... Alamak. I like the BnO insignia replacing LG. Lol.

I dont think the passthrough idea would be doable in reality due to the way things are hardwired.

Thats why for your computer, if you plug in your external DAC/amp, its always the DAC/amp itself that has its own headphone jacks that you use, at least i've never before seen a device that has a headphone jack that can 'choose' whether it wants the signal to come from which DAC

Also not forgetting the B&O DAC is designed to work completely standalone without a G5 so thats also why having its own headphone jack makes sense.

a9500494a

this
http://www.challenger.com.sg/inbox_images/4de800d910e4a2bfdc5a5597d2534d3c.jpg

it was on promo at funan challenger so i got it.

i got it cos its compact enough to fit in a medium size bag. Because of its short height, I attach a selfie stick on it to increase the height if need be. Of course a selfie stick on a tripod will still be less stable than a proper full-length tripod but usually its ok if i dont extend the stick to maximum and its not too windy

I dont think the passthrough idea would be doable in reality due to the way things are hardwired.

Thats why for your computer, if you plug in your external DAC/amp, its always the DAC/amp itself that has its own headphone jacks that you use, at least i've never before seen a device that has a headphone jack that can 'choose' whether it wants the signal to come from which DAC

Also not forgetting the B&O DAC is designed to work completely standalone without a G5 so thats also why having its own headphone jack makes sense.

It should be possible with very tight collaboration and integration between LG and BO. Even if its dedicated module, but it definitely looks weird to have 2 audio jack on a phone. One on top and another below...

concept_fuel

It should be possible with very tight collaboration and integration between LG and BO. Even if its dedicated module, but it definitely looks weird to have 2 audio jack on a phone. One on top and another below...

That is what you prefer:)
It does not look weird at all lol...you won't even notice it if you were'nt looking for it. Even if it were possible it's going cost more than it's worth.
Actually I prefer it this way as it's easier to compare the sound coming from the internal DAC/Amp to the B&O module without plugging/unplugging the unit and I prefer the jack at the bottom of the phone.

Let's say they don't put a jack on the DAC module then you can't use it as a standalone unit with other devices and if you no longer using the G5 then the DAC module would be redundant but with a jack on the unit it's still useable if your G5 ever spoil or you change phone.

As for case not fitting it yes it's annoying but I found one that is made for the DAC, in fact there's 1 too for the camplus, but it cost more though than your normal cases.

The case for the G5 with the DAC module below:-
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Voia-Korea-Clear-Transparent-Cell-Mobile-Phone-Case-Cover-for-LG-G5-Hi-Fi-Plus-/252363129601?hash=item3ac203c301:g:i8wAAOSwYmZXGKCb
$_12.JPG

The case for the G5 with the Camplus module below:-
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Voia-Korea-Clear-Transparent-Cell-Mobile-Phone-Case-Cover-Skin-for-LG-G5-CamPlus-/252363096152?hash=item3ac2034058:g:CagAAOSwlfxXGJkL
$_12.JPG

a9500494a

That is what you prefer:)
It does not look weird at all lol...you won't even notice it if you were'nt looking for it. Even if it were possible it's going cost more than it's worth.
Actually I prefer it this way as it's easier to compare the sound coming from the internal DAC/Amp to the B&O module without plugging/unplugging the unit and I prefer the jack at the bottom of the phone.

Let's say they don't put a jack on the DAC module then you can't use it as a standalone unit with other devices and if you no longer using the G5 then the DAC module would be redundant but with a jack on the unit it's still useable if your G5 ever spoil or you change phone.

As for case not fitting it yes it's annoying but I found one that is made for the DAC, in fact there's 1 too for the camplus, but it cost more though than your normal cases.

The case for the G5 with the DAC module below:-
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Voia-Korea-Clear-Transparent-Cell-Mobile-Phone-Case-Cover-for-LG-G5-Hi-Fi-Plus-/252363129601?hash=item3ac203c301:g:i8wAAOSwYmZXGKCb
$_12.JPG

The case for the G5 with the Camplus module below:-
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Voia-Korea-Clear-Transparent-Cell-Mobile-Phone-Case-Cover-Skin-for-LG-G5-CamPlus-/252363096152?hash=item3ac2034058:g:CagAAOSwlfxXGJkL
$_12.JPG

The module cannot work with other phones or brands le.

These gel case is so expensive. Top up bit more can get Otter or UAG.

concept_fuel

The module cannot work with other phones or brands le.

These gel case is so expensive. Top up bit more can get Otter or UAG.

You don't even have one and making a sweeping statement ha! Pls do some research lah.
I happen to have the module and have tested it with my GS3 phone with the otg cable provided and it works just like other standalone DAC like the mojo etc.

a9500494a

You don't even have one and making a sweeping statement ha! Pls do some research lah.
I happen to have the module and have tested it with my GS3 phone with the otg cable provided and it works just like other standalone DAC like the mojo etc.

Thanks. I just did. Indeed a standalone DAC with Nexus phone via type c usb on youtube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=134&v=pbx7-ZZxbNE

I like it now reusable on other phones so it is no longer only dependence on G5.

Silverboi

Just bought an LG G5...can any buddies let me know where I can buy the Healing Shield for it? Thanks in advance!

Chemist_Sim

Of all Friends, which 1 is worth getting? Am thinking of the 360 Cam but not the Cam Plus module. Does the Cam Plus really helps in photo taking?

fxsg123

Can recontract end of June, thinking about getting g5 or s7. Advantage of g5 is cheaper for my combo2.

Anyone can recommend?

chiaRH

Can recontract end of June, thinking about getting g5 or s7. Advantage of g5 is cheaper for my combo2.

Anyone can recommend?

Cheaper in this case is a difference of only 30 to 50 bucks between the S7 and G5. You need to consider how much better value for money is the G5 when it has that much (or that little?) of a contract price difference from the S7.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.