Life was great at 18 with many things to look forward to. Late 30s nothing materialised.

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

straweffigy

When younger it's easy to dream big and aim for the skies. When reality sets in, then you know actually alot not attainable.

Just learn to manage expectations and count your blesssings.. everyday will live happily and blissfully. If you keep on compare with your peers or chase for material stuffs, no one can save your sorry ass.

kamhwee72

And nothing to looking forward to anymore.

At 18 look forward to ord, look forward to starting uni education, look forward to finding a gf, looking forward to graduation, a good job, wife, a bto. Even simple things like looking forward to booking out to play chess.

At late 30s almost 2 decades later, many of the above failed to materalised, except barely graduating with a degree.

Have even lost the mojo to play any chess.

At late 30s, suddenly felt that everyday is a drain, with nothing to look forward to anymore. The aspirations at 18 have evaporated.

Every day just living one day at a time, as if waiting for the day to meet my maker. I don't feel suicidal, but I don't feel like there is anything to look forward to anymore.

who here feels the same?
:(
wait til you are in your 40s lol.

Sent from Send From University Of Hull using GAGT

fantasyland

When younger it's easy to dream big and aim for the skies. When reality sets in, then you know actually alot not attainable.

Just learn to manage expectations and count your blesssings.. everyday will live happily and blissfully. If you keep on compare with your peers or chase for material stuffs, no one can save your sorry ass.

That is why young must chiong and make more money...But for some reasons, elders always say work ur way up dont chase fast money, need 20 years then make 10k...LOL, by that time i already no motivation to do anything liao...

trailblaze

But some people their wealth come later, just keep on lookout for opportunities. Jack Ma wasn't even a millionaire till 36yo I think and his one of the richest man in the world now.

sorry to burst yr bubble bro...
but if u bother to go down to yr nearby kopitiam or food centre, u will see many many elderlys sitting ard drinking or doing nothing.....frail and ragged.
their late wealth never came....

so it is wrong to console yourself or others abt wealth coming in late life.

truth is if u hadnt huat by 30s or got a good plan already ongoing to potential huat (such as an alibaba business plan or a windows 3.1 or at least a small cafe startup), u are unlikely to huat already...

hard truths hurt.:(:vijayadmin:

fantasyland

I think have different phases in life la...

From 0-12 still learning about how the world works, play games after school, very carefree no worries just do well in school then don't scolded by parents can liao

13-20 This is period can beo chabor in school, try to find steady gf, again main focus is till schooling and get a chio gf even though most is puppy love kind.

20s-30 start of working life, earn some money, aspire to be millionaire and most motivation to "chiong" and work hard. Now looking for gf for srs relationship and to marry and BTO etc..This phase also not bad if you earning ok, cause got some money do stuff like clubbing or whatever hobby need money one.

30s-40 start of family life, most likely settle down have some kids, look forward to teach and play them etc..If you single at this point may feel abit lonely seeing people have family. Career should be stable.

40s-50s probably this point is the point people earn the most money in terms of salary and net worth especially in the 50s when children are independent. Will feel rich and can enjoy finer things in life.

60s look forward to retirement, should have a nest egg, play with grandkids do retirees things that you were too busy to do when younger.

ahboy82

Same here...i fancy live landed earn big money in cushy job, work in banks surround by chiobus all over

Drive porsche, eat good food

All above by mid 40s

Now i am closing in to 40, avg income earner, live in slum area, stll taking public transport cos no money buy car.

Life has let me down.

fluffyfox

But some people their wealth come later, just keep on lookout for opportunities. Jack Ma wasn't even a millionaire till 36yo I think and his one of the richest man in the world now.

and Vera Wang became an independent bridal designer only at age 40!

sted.

now late 40s .... waiting to die ... too much problem to face now ...

Multiversal

生老病死.

We are all in this together.

In that journey, we try to find meaning by giving it a structure. And we give it a structure, by setting milestones. School, NS, school again or go out to work after NS (this is slightly different for chabors since they do not need to do NS), get married, bring up children, and by that time, our bodies had become weaker and weaker, we look older, but time passes so fast that we did not quite notice it...until the body fails, the doctor says we have hypertension, diabetes and our cholesterol is real bad.

External shocks like the Wuhan virus jolt us into some reality when we lose our jobs, and find ourselves having problems finding another job. We face age discrimination, and realise that we are not 18 but 38, or worse yet, 48.

What do some people look forward to? Retirement. That's not a walk in the park or garden. For many people, and I have seen many indeed, it's a life spent in a nursing home, wearing diapers, walking with a walking frame. Many people suffer from dementia and/or strokes. Many are paralyzed and bed bound.

That's life. Why have humans become like this? Why kind of a cruel joke is the heaven playing?

fantasyland

sorry to burst yr bubble bro...
but if u bother to go down to yr nearby kopitiam or food centre, u will see many many elderlys sitting ard drinking or doing nothing.....frail and ragged.
their late wealth never came....

so it is wrong to console yourself or others abt wealth coming in late life.

truth is if u hadnt huat by 30s or got a good plan already ongoing to potential huat (such as an alibaba business plan or a windows 3.1 or at least a small cafe startup), u are unlikely to huat already...

hard truths hurt.:(:vijayadmin:

Because most people beh kan, they want a steady job. 20s should experiment and don't be afraid to fail and work multiple or unconventional jobs. You can fail 10 times but 1 time you succeed you become rich liao.

lazysundae

And nothing to looking forward to anymore.

At 18 look forward to ord, look forward to starting uni education, look forward to finding a gf, looking forward to graduation, a good job, wife, a bto. Even simple things like looking forward to booking out to play chess.

At late 30s almost 2 decades later, many of the above failed to materalised, except barely graduating with a degree.

Have even lost the mojo to play any chess.

At late 30s, suddenly felt that everyday is a drain, with nothing to look forward to anymore. The aspirations at 18 have evaporated.

Every day just living one day at a time, as if waiting for the day to meet my maker. I don't feel suicidal, but I don't feel like there is anything to look forward to anymore.

who here feels the same?
u are responsible for your wasted youth

see if u can succeed in next stages of life

Sent from Anfield YNWA using GAGT

Pompipiii

Huh you realise life got no meaning then still wanna bring chewren into this world to go through the same thing

Meaning of life is up to individuals to perceive.

N see how u were brought up lo.. if u grow up in a fam with lots of love, u wouldn’t feel that way. At least that’s what I see in my husb/PIL. But my husb is rather zen and chill on the topic of having kids, maybe cos I miscarried b4.

My parents hated kids, but yet they had six. Couldn’t accommodate all of us so some of us since young, stay in grandma / relatives hse.

surely ur parents love y’all right. mine I didn’t feel so, just find us a chore. I learnt to dabao food at 7yo liao. Took feeder bus to sch since Pri1, n in my memory my mum only showed me the ropes once or twice. Then rest of the days I tag along with my older sis liao. Then grow up liao, we became their ROI.

anywy parents also nair ask for ur permission to bring u into the world ma.

I will say tru my experience, I will nair hope any child to go tru it. Growing up in a family without much love or warmth, then grow up liao tio slap with obligations cos they didn’t do financially planning. N nair earn much nvm, my dad was still a hardcore gambler. :(

So anyway I feel I don’t want to live life with any regrets, so I will try if I can.

Pompipiii

Chiu got consider adoption before??

Posted from PCWX using #noblankcheque

Yea I did.

Ivf is expensive, ranging from 8k to 25k, depending on where u do and the jabs u need.

Do in JB, cost s$8-12k.

Gov hospital s$12-16k.

Pte hospital 20-25k.

I did 2 rounds like yearly liao.

Adoption costs estimated at 30k onwards.

So see how, if I hit 40yo still don’t have then I might consider adoption.

AnimeNewbie

Same here...i fancy live landed earn big money in cushy job, work in banks surround by chiobus all over

Drive porsche, eat good food

All above by mid 40s

Now i am closing in to 40, avg income earner, live in slum area, stll taking public transport cos no money buy car.

Life has let me down.

When your salary was 120k pa, you also nv buy car!

kage

Yea I did.

Ivf is expensive, ranging from 8k to 25k, depending on where u do and the jabs u need.

Do in JB, cost s$8-12k.

Gov hospital s$12-16k.

Pte hospital 20-25k.

I did 2 rounds like yearly liao.

Adoption costs estimated at 30k onwards.

So see how, if I hit 40yo still don’t have then I might consider adoption.

Sometimes is it fate, destiny, karma .... ??

Some trying so hard to get kids, some abuse/torture kids ....

theufw

I havent reach late 30s but i know the feeling like u underperformed

This is why some pple become hikkikomori.

I reflected quite a bit n thought I should start taking baby steps. Take action in a positive way, anything is better than staying stagnant. If u wanna go negative then at least u lived life trying to actual live it.

Sometimes the fulfilment comes from the struggle.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.