[LIVE AS WE GO] Pritam Singh goes on trial for charges of lying to Parliament

carey

Prosecution says Pritam's evidence is 'incredible' and 'utterly contrary'

An Oct 7, 2021, e-mail sent by Ms Raeesah Khan to the Workers' Party leaders, informing them that the police had requested an interview with her, is being read out by Deputy Attorney-General Ang Cheng Hock.

In the e-mail, Ms Khan had also said: "Thanks for listening to me, for caring for me and for guiding me through this without judgment."

DAG Ang notes that Pritam Singh did not reply to Ms Khan's e-mail and asks if it is because she had followed his guidance to continue with the narrative.

He also asks if Ms Khan was thanking Singh for "not judging her" after she stuck to her lie on Oct 4,

Singh disagrees and says: "I didn't reply to this e-mail because it was very frustrating to read it considering what she had done on Oct 4."

He adds that he was focused on having to guide her to make a clarification with a personal statement.

DAG Ang suggests that if Singh did ask Ms Khan to come clean, she would have known that he would "take her to task" after she doubled down on her lie on Oct 4.

"And instead of being afraid that you’ll take her to task, she sends you this email to thank you for ‘caring for me and guiding me without judgment’," he says.

Singh replies: “I didn’t tell her to continue the narrative.”

DAG Ang says: "Mr Singh, I would have to put it to you that your evidence is incredible, do you agree?"

Singh disagrees.

DAG continues: "It’s utterly contrary to how both you and her behaved during this material time. Do you agree?"

Singh disagrees.
Already said it was a frustrating email to read, still want him to reply zzzzz

Sometimes when I see such WTF emails, I also won't reply

mryang

Pritam is asked about the disciplinary panel and judging Raeesah

The hearing resumes with Deputy Attorney-General Ang Cheng Hock focusing on the matter of whether or not Pritam Singh had judged Ms Raeesah Khan.

Bringing up an exchange between former Workers’ Party cadre Yudhishthra Nathan and defence lawyer Andre Jumabhoy earlier in the trial, DAG Ang quotes Mr Jumabhoy’s remark that by forming a disciplinary panel, Singh was “literally judging” Ms Raeesah Khan.

DAG Ang then asks Singh if he agrees with what Mr Jumabhoy had said.

Singh says he agrees to the extent that the WP leaders had to “form an understanding of the matter to a deeper extent, specifically with regard to the reason she lied”.

DAG Ang then says the disciplinary panel will function “like a judge”, to which Singh says he disagrees.

charleslee1989

Pritam is asked about the disciplinary panel and judging Raeesah

The hearing resumes with Deputy Attorney-General Ang Cheng Hock focusing on the matter of whether or not Pritam Singh had judged Ms Raeesah Khan.

Bringing up an exchange between former Workers’ Party cadre Yudhishthra Nathan and defence lawyer Andre Jumabhoy earlier in the trial, DAG Ang quotes Mr Jumabhoy’s remark that by forming a disciplinary panel, Singh was “literally judging” Ms Raeesah Khan.

DAG Ang then asks Singh if he agrees with what Mr Jumabhoy had said.

Singh says he agrees to the extent that the WP leaders had to “form an understanding of the matter to a deeper extent, specifically with regard to the reason she lied”.

DAG Ang then says the disciplinary panel will function “like a judge”, to which Singh says he disagrees.
Omg....This is really pedantic to the max sia....

wongkc

Prosecution points out WP leaders did not reveal their knowledge of Raeesah’s lie

Deputy Attorney-General Ang Cheng Hock takes Pritam Singh through all the times that Singh did not reveal the party leaders’ awareness of Ms Raeesah Khan’s lie since Aug 8, 2021.

Singh did not tell former Workers’ Party chief Low Thia Khiang on Oct 11, 2021, the central executive committee – where Mr Low also sits – on Oct 29, 2021, or include it in Ms Khan’s statement to Parliament on Nov 1, 2021, which he vetted. It was also not mentioned in the WP statement posted to Facebook on Nov 1.

Singh agrees.

DAG Ang then asks for a lunch break.

Why need to tell everyone in WP CEC that RK lie?

Did LHL tell the whole cabinet about the mango eating?

How WP leaders handle RK is their business? What PAP or others will do under such circumstances doesn't mean EVERYONE else must do it... it doesn't make it the "RIGHT" way... PAP is not the GOLD STANDARD lor... They are nitpicking why WP never do this and do that...

Did LHL tell the whole cabinet about TCJ affairs and subsequently how he lied to LHL about breaking off but never? How long did LHL waited before spilling it out to the public? So PAP can wait it out... but WP cannot?

carey

On hindsight, PS ought to have followed up with RK in Aug or Sep, which PS acknowledged. Seems to me that people are judged on what they ought to do on hindsight. Hmmm
Like I said earlier, PS was being way too nice to a woke person and it backfired on him

If the DS can wait 3 years to act on hot mike, then 3 months was already very good liao, no meh?

Senna Wales

Funny ah.

If one day your mother out of the blue says to all the family members.. "don't lie ok. You must be honourable and honest and don't lie."

Is that not a direct admission that someone in the family has already been caught lying?
Everyone who ever worked will know this. If you suddenly see a "reminder", it means dio daiji liao.

"Everyone, please change your password blah blah" means someone tio hack/breach liao, don't need to explicitly say. If you see "please be reminded that lunchtime is 1 hour" means that someone got caught taking long break. Etc.

carey

How WP leaders handle RK is their business? What PAP or others will do under such circumstances doesn't mean EVERYONE else must do it... it doesn't make it the "RIGHT" way... PAP is not the GOLD STANDARD lor... They are nitpicking why WP never do this and do that...

Did LHL tell the whole cabinet about TCJ affairs and subsequently how he lied to LHL about breaking off but never? How long did LHL waited before spilling it out to the public? So PAP can wait it out... but WP cannot?
Can they call the DS to the stand? Asking for a friend :oops:

powerrr

CNA Top Story:

‘Your evidence is incredible’: Prosecutor seeks to show Pritam Singh’s ‘level of honesty and candour’

Objective achieved!

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...aeesah-khan-cop-workers-party-lie-4732506?cid

carey

heard from my lawyer friend PP usually not the top of their class one, thats why go public service.

those high flyer all snapped up by the big firms
Quite true - most of their cases are "bao jiak" type as well ;)

carey

Everyone who ever worked will know this. If you suddenly see a "reminder", it means dio daiji liao.

"Everyone, please change your password blah blah" means someone tio hack/breach liao, don't need to explicitly say. If you see "please be reminded that lunchtime is 1 hour" means that someone got caught taking long break. Etc.
But civil servants different maybe ;)

lizzykai

heard from my lawyer friend PP usually not the top of their class one, thats why go public service.

those high flyer all snapped up by the big firms
cannot like that say, every TOP white club needs a striker bro...

charleslee1989

cannot like that say, every TOP white club needs a striker bro...
And I realised those lawyer folks with the white all had private sector experience before going into public sector....I rarely saw any lawyers that came directly from the public sector and joined the whites...

123kidy

bery sad to say PS will not win this

most of his answers today defy logic

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.