Living Well on Little Money

DevilPlate

Let me share a story about Smartphones.

I refuse to buy a smartphone as my little nokia is serving me well as a phone. Then I bought my first Samsung phone as recommended by my nephew since Hardwarezone "gave me a subsidy" of $500, so I only paid $150 plus cash for it. Thank you once again Hardwarezone!

More than a year ago, I accidentally dropped it and the screen crashed. So I was forced to buy a new one, fully paid in cash, no choice as it is now indispensable! I got a good lobang, paid $300 plus Samsung S34, no regret! Now I am very careful with it
Nowadays smartphones will js died by itself within 3-4years on average….lucky if it can last 5years
unless u can live with common screen problems like green lines which i totally cannot hahaha

BBCWatcher

Nowadays smartphones will js died by itself within 3-4years on average….lucky if it can last 5years
unless u can live with common screen problems like green lines which i totally cannot hahaha
One member of my household has an iPhone 8 that's now 7 years old. It's working perfectly, now on its 3rd battery. And it's still getting security updates but not new iOS versions.

DevilPlate

One member of my household has an iPhone 8 that's now 7 years old. It's working perfectly, now on its 3rd battery. And it's still getting security updates but not new iOS versions.
Hearsay newer models much shorter lifespans

ericcsn

I save money on hp. Dont buy smart phones for myself. Just use company's (some ppl still hang on to personal phone in addition to company hp).
Lost one time - they replaced it with a later model.
Battery died - replaced.
Roll out newer models - changed.

royalmix

hearsay newer smartphone = can play games with no lag and watch ads faster = earn more free food.
Your glass is always half empty and so sour! :ROFLMAO: Only you play such games, then can assume and write!

I always use desktop. That was how I played Hardwarezone games and won $500 samsung voucher, an ariston storage water heater which I sold, some other gifts! For so many years, never heard of games liao, or did I miss any? :ROFLMAO:

My phone is only needed for otp, running on prepaid sim, no data usage! :ROFLMAO:

BBCWatcher

Hearsay newer models much shorter lifespans
No such evidence in my household. Some initial iPhone 15 buyers were upset that their phones ran a little hot, but that issue was quickly resolved with a software update.

We've also got a 5 year old Apple Watch in this house, still running fine. It could use a new battery, and Apple itself doesn't replace Apple Watch batteries in the field. They just swap the whole unit. But we may do that.

Apple really screwed up their laptop keyboards a few years ago. The so-called "butterfly" keyboards were atrocious. They don't always get everything right. On the other hand I'm still generally impressed with Lenovo ThinkPads.

If you quickly lose phones, or abuse them (drop them in pools for example), then the build quality and durability of the phone isn't going to matter as much.

DevilPlate

Your glass is always half empty and so sour! :ROFLMAO: Only you play such games, then can assume and write!

I always use desktop. That was how I played Hardwarezone games and won $500 samsung voucher, an ariston storage water heater which I sold, some other gifts!

My phone is only needed for otp, running on prepaid sim, no data usage! :ROFLMAO:
didn’t know got simi HWZ games….where to locate them and participate hahaha

royalmix

didn’t know got simi HWZ games….where to locate them and participate hahaha
That was way before COVID times! For so many years, never heard of games liao, or did I miss any? :ROFLMAO:

The way to win was to "uncover or discover" the hidden rules to score points! I found the secret, so winning was easier! Need to generate alot of posts, time not = money then can play! :ROFLMAO:

DevilPlate

No such evidence in my household. Some initial iPhone 15 buyers were upset that their phones ran a little hot, but that issue was quickly resolved with a software update.

We've also got a 5 year old Apple Watch in this house, still running fine. It could use a new battery, and Apple itself doesn't replace Apple Watch batteries in the field. They just swap the whole unit. But we may do that.

Apple really screwed up their laptop keyboards a few years ago. The so-called "butterfly" keyboards were atrocious. They don't always get everything right. On the other hand I'm still generally impressed with Lenovo ThinkPads.

If you quickly lose phones, or abuse them (drop them in pools for example), then the build quality and durability of the phone isn't going to matter as much.
Iphone 13 phone js died with 3yr+….cannot even turn on

However i have good experiences with their ipads. Can last >5 years

deve2545

So can someone please recommend some neighbourhood HandPhone shops (please provide some details like shop's name, address/location, telephone number) selling Samsung phones which accepts CDC vouchers ? Thank you 🙂❤️👍

BBCWatcher

So can someone please recommend some neighbourhood HandPhone shops (please provide some details like shop's name, address/location, telephone number) selling Samsung phones which accepts CDC vouchers ? Thank you 🙂❤️👍
I think Mister Mobile accepts CDC vouchers. They have several locations.

But why don't you just go to the CDC search page, search on the word "mobile" in the keyword(s), and see what you get? I get a list of 149 shops nationally when I try that. If you also search on your postcode then you'll filter that list of 149 shops based on which ones are located within 2 Km of you.

Then you can start calling shops if you'd like. Or try sending them WhatsApp messages. ("Hey, do you have the Samsung A35 in stock?" for example.)

ctan84

looks like "living well" means different things to different people.

thats why some say they can FIRE on $300/month passive income. on the other hand, I need a lot more 😅
Well, you r probably going for Fat Fire while I'm contented with Standard Fire. For that cup juggler, he is ok with Lean fire loh. Mai gong liao lah, if not wait we will always be labelled as "cup half full" pple even though the reality is our cups are already overflowing.

royalmix

Well, you r probably going for Fat Fire while I'm contented with Standard Fire. For that cup juggler, he is ok with Lean fire loh. Mai gong liao lah, if not wait we will always be labelled as "cup half full" pple even though the reality is our cups are already overflowing.
If your glass is overflowing, then you should learn how to cope/escape and not come here and vent your frustation on others with your half empty glass! :ROFLMAO:

heng_ah

I always use desktop. That was how I played Hardwarezone games and won $500 samsung voucher, an ariston storage water heater which I sold, some other gifts! For so many years, never heard of games liao, or did I miss any? :ROFLMAO:

Your life must be so much fun. I don’t envy you leh :p

Thread title should change to Living Well and Fun!
The wise folks have said, we can’t even take a penny with us after death.

royalmix

Your life must be so much fun. I don’t envy you leh :p

Thread title should change to Living Well and Fun!
The wise folks have said, we can’t even take a penny with us after death.
You should not! You should choose your own life, live your own life, do not just follow blindly or "wisely"!

Everyone is different and unique. I am just sharing ways one can live well with little money! Living well = happy, contented and having fun (enjoy) too! Little money - so long you are resourceful enough, money can still grow! But of course everyone has a different view of how they want to live well.

Make your glass half full and not half empty! Dun just listen to the wise folks, have your views, decide it yourself! The wise can be wrong too! :LOL:

royalmix

All you guys with glass half empty, you know who u are, pls read this first post by thread starter, understand what he wants!

Now who is talking out of scope, ie dun fit into this thread?
:ROFLMAO:

I see much discussion on how to make money, passive income, investments etc. But not much on concrete ways to spend less and still enjoy ourselves. Just how to live well on relatively little money. Any secrets or lobangs to share? Preferably not just vague info. Thanks so much. 😀

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.