LKY predicted that Nokia...

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Jarlaxle

on hindsight, nokia's current plight can be avoided if they had embraced multiple operating systems (e.g. android like other OEMs samsung / HTC which had devices running both OSes) and not limit themselves to only windows mobile which had a small market penetration.

well of course with a M$ trojan horse CEO their fate is sealed anyway.

u r another on hindsight lah.
why cant they follow the apple's path?
make their own OS and hardware.

shinkuaku

nokia failing to embrace android sealed its death.

same for blackberry.

can i say i foretold berry demise... and i am satki?

it is common sense.

At that time i think android not up yet. Anyway bb tried android also, its a pretty good system, but no takers, all moved to the other companies liao. :s13:

mynickname

well, I think all he did was raise a question. he never committed an opinion. he also claimed graduates should not mate with people from lower education... until karma strike him....

sggirlsareflatchested

u r another on hindsight lah.
why cant they follow the apple's path?
make their own OS and hardware.

of course i'm on highsight. i started my post with that didn't i?

as for their own OS, well they had symbian which was also used by other OEMs (sony ericsson, samsung, motorola etc) years ago, until the open handset alliance and android gained momentum and came into the picture. symbian was playing the catch up game to modern platforms and more or less died when its owner nokia decided to jump ship to window mobile.

fortunecat

on hindsight, nokia's current plight can be avoided if they had embraced multiple operating systems (e.g. android like other OEMs samsung / HTC which had devices running both OSes) and not limit themselves to only windows mobile which had a small market penetration.

well of course with a M$ trojan horse CEO their fate is sealed anyway.

the thing about competition from korea (chaebols) was spot on though.
At that time when they embraced Windows OS, they were already way too late to the party and even Android may not save them

Sent from MBS using GAGT

cal127

He certainly didn't foresee the fall of Imperial Japan judging by his actions. That would've been more remarkable in my book. :s13:

t0rnado

Mai tok cock la. Such comments are like 50 50 chances. If got it right, supporters glorified it. If got it wrong, bury it.

How many other predictions he have made and become otherwise

fox1, predict if it will rain tomorrow or not.
If you get it right, we will also say u satki :s13:

fox1

This one is interesting.
The first few minutes regarding neighbouring countries is explosive.

:o

sggirlsareflatchested

At that time when they embraced Windows OS, they were already way too late to the party and even Android may not save them

Sent from MBS using GAGT

we won't know what they will become if they joined the android party since it didn't happen but i'm quite positive that they will be in a better state than now considering their hardware prowess back then.

quite a handful of OEMs especially those young TW coys were late to the party as well but they're still doing ok AFAIK.

Meat Bao

It's true.

LKY is a bright fellow who understood what is national strength, what is human capital.

Nokia is the past.

Nokia can't be the Nokia anymore. It's been overshadowed by the Koreans, Japanese, and American companies.

It's the same like launching rockets into space and walking on the moon.

LKY also said only certain big countries can launch rockets into space.

So there won't be Nokia anymore, they are finished, because why would Nokia be able to compete against the collective strength of Korean, Japanese, or American companies ? What would be the reason ?

Did Finland launch a rocket and walk in space ? No, right ?

It's the same reason why Creative Tech sort of lost its steam. Creative cannot compete with Apple or the others. They are now only supplying some small accessories parts for Apple.

:crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.