Loan for education

Stallone

I took a 200k loan to study too, if u can earn at least 8k bring home salary, shd be no problem..

Banks u can look at are RHB, CIMB n Maybank

nethdale

hi. where r u studying and what course? thanks.

I took a 200k loan to study too, if u can earn at least 8k bring home salary, shd be no problem..

Banks u can look at are RHB, CIMB n Maybank

Hi Stallone,

Care to share what was the interest rate the bank charged you? Was you loan only from one bank? Any collateral? And how long did you take to pay back the loan assuming your starting pay is $8000?

It is amazing that if you started off with $8K pay!

Dark.Horizon

Hi Bros,

What information would you like to know? I try to share with you if possible as my colleague had retired 2-3 years ago and currently, I only know the process of applying to UK directly? Thanks.
Yes i wanna know how their partnership works. Heard from my mate who graduated from there that its part grades and part cca?

Sent from a Scotsman using GAGT

Dark.Horizon

Hi Stallone,

Care to share what was the interest rate the bank charged you? Was you loan only from one bank? Any collateral? And how long did you take to pay back the loan assuming your starting pay is $8000?

It is amazing that if you started off with $8K pay!
Yeah i wanna know too.... even when i start off as a doc i know at most 5k... 8 is very very high, unless there is like moonlighting :p

nethdale

Yes i wanna know how their partnership works. Heard from my mate who graduated from there that its part grades and part cca?

Hi Bros,

Sorry, didn't your mate share 1st hand of info with you? I only knew that results play a critical part in the partnerships when comes to study in UK(in my colleague's kid case) and you need to choose you UK uni at the beginning of the study in IMU. This is why some local student refuses to go by this path as you may not be able to secure a place after 2 & 1/2 in IMU. Sorry not sure about the CCA. Heard the course fees in IMU had increased tremendously over last few years.

Stallone

Aviation school.

interest rate RHB 4.78% i think, CIMB higher at 5.2%, Maybank is lowest i guess but not sure exact rate

u will need very solid guarantors to attain the high loans

during my schooling days, i depend on past savings to survive lo, i had close to 20k of it, survived for 2.5yrs.. really scrimp, n do some odd jobs when free

took loans from two banks to make the amount, now paying back 2k/mth for 10yrs.. already done with 14mths liao, 8yrs+ to go, but most likely will lump sum pay off by 5th yr

Stallone

only get this kinda loan if u noe u are well capable of paying it off without compromising ur lifestyle..

8k for my first 20mths at work, after which i will get a raise to abt 10.5k.. so it's well within comfort zone to fork out 2k/mth to repay the loan.. no problem with even starting a family n getting own HDB

nethdale

only get this kinda loan if u noe u are well capable of paying it off without compromising ur lifestyle..

8k for my first 20mths at work, after which i will get a raise to abt 10.5k.. so it's well within comfort zone to fork out 2k/mth to repay the loan.. no problem with even starting a family n getting own HDB

Hi, apart from the sacrifice of your lifestyle and loan incurred. Your starting pay of $8k for a fresh graduate after your graduation is simply awesome as someone rightly pointed out that even a doc, can't match this kind of pay. You mentioned you graduated from aviation school, so you must be working in a niche industry that commands such a high starting pay for a fresh graduate. Good for you.

culture_counter

Hey all, just wanted your opinion and advice on getting a large loan to fund a medical degree abroad (about 200k for fees). Thanks in advance.

Sent from Lai liao using GAGT

Highly impractical. You gotta think carefully and dun be too impulsive. It's like losing your pants before you even earn your shirt!
Too much at stake. Anyway, you would need to get a guarantor who is earning very high income before you could even get a bank loan of the maximum only $150k. The rest you would have to save, scrimp or borrow from somewhere else.

A medical degree is highly intensive, you won't stand a chance to work part-time in any overseas country. Be realistic; if it's just a dream, please wake up!

Dark.Horizon

Highly impractical. You gotta think carefully and dun be too impulsive. It's like losing your pants before you even earn your shirt!
Too much at stake. Anyway, you would need to get a guarantor who is earning very high income before you could even get a bank loan of the maximum only $150k. The rest you would have to save, scrimp or borrow from somewhere else.

A medical degree is highly intensive, you won't stand a chance to work part-time in any overseas country. Be realistic; if it's just a dream, please wake up!
I would probably be working in summer on research projects. I do understand its intensive, and I already have a degree in hand so I do understand how uni life can be...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.