Loan options for purchasing HDB flat

deleted_nil

Going to get a house soon in AMK. (COV at 20K)

Wonder which Bank loan should I go for and if its better to get HDB loan ?

derrickgoh

Going to get a house soon in AMK. (COV at 20K)

Wonder which Bank loan should I go for and if its better to get HDB loan ?
HDB loan is much higher than bank leh. Why would you take HDB loan unless for some reason no bank wants to lend you?

cloverpark

HDB loan is much higher than bank leh. Why would you take HDB loan unless for some reason no bank wants to lend you?

I'm a bit confused here. If it's better to get bank loan, why everyone is interested to know their HLE? Or is HLE also used for bank loan?

MoDiE

on a side note, when i applied for recent BTO, i specified i wanted to take HDB Loan, if managed to get the flat, can choose bank loan instead? or die die have to take hdb loan liao?

anyway, loan 200k for a 4rm flat, i doubt any bank will wanna entertain me also.. lol

Gixxerfied

on a side note, when i applied for recent BTO, i specified i wanted to take HDB Loan, if managed to get the flat, can choose bank loan instead? or die die have to take hdb loan liao?

anyway, loan 200k for a 4rm flat, i doubt any bank will wanna entertain me also.. lol

Not sure about immediate switch upon taking possession of the flat..

But u can switch over to bank loan if you have started the hdb loan..After this one time, cant turn back already..

haato89

200k for 4rm too low meh? o_O

I did the same thing for the online app. But I heard from somewhere on this forum u can still choose bank loan later...

haato89

Not sure about immediate switch upon taking possession of the flat..

But u can switch over to bank loan if you have started the hdb loan..After this one time, cant turn back already..

I think he is referring to the part in online application form where u tick saying that chiu wish to apply for HDB loan

Gixxerfied

I think he is referring to the part in online application form where u tick saying that chiu wish to apply for HDB loan

Oh..Recent BTO...Tot is sign OTP already..

Can, just tell them during the 1st appt..But need to get a bank offer letter by the 2nd appt..

Bank Loan

Buyers who are not eligible for an HDB loan will have to obtain a bank loan if they require a housing loan to finance their purchase of the flat. It is mandatory for all potential HDB flat buyers to obtain a Letter of Offer from the bank before exercising the Option to Purchase.

MoDiE

200k for 4rm too low meh? o_O

I did the same thing for the online app. But I heard from somewhere on this forum u can still choose bank loan later...
what i mean nowadays loan 200k from bank for property is like peanuts...

derrickgoh

Minus the new MSR implemented, this article roughly explains it..

Bank Loan vs. HDB Loan: Which is Better? | MoneySmart.sg
That article is not really correct. I don't know if its true that HDB caps your monthly repayments at 40% of your income but its certainly NOT true that a bank loan has no such restriction. MAS restricts it to 30% of your monthly income.

I also disagree with the part about HDB loans being more consistent for repayment as its based on CPF. Bank loans are ALSO based on CPF i.e. you and your employer contribute to your CPF ordinary account monthly and the loan will be deducted from your OA. If not enough, you have to top up with cash. So its NOT as though banks can't deduct from your CPF and you have to pay in cash monthly.

If TS is interested, better to go down to HDB and get all the facts and then go to 1 or 2 banks to enquire. Don't go to too many banks if not very luan. Maybe just Maybank and DBS.

Maybank first 3 years if do repayment will have penalty. But anyway the fixed rate is only for first 3 years so after that you have option of remaining with them or if another bank has better rates you can jump ship. And should you jump ship you can always pay off to HDB with whatever spare funds you have and then borrow the remaining from the new bank.

I doubt $200k is too low. Most (if not all) banks require you to borrow at least $100k for home loan. Anything less they are not interested. So yeah, $200k should be fine, doubt any bank will reject based on it being too "small" an amount. I guess if one needs to borrow less than $100k then may have to go HDB liao since most (maybe all) banks require at least $100k.

derrickgoh

At the end of the day you need to do your maths as different people have different financial issues. HDB loan may better suit some people, while bank loans may be better for others.

HDB loan is 2.5% interest. When I went to Maybank earlier this month, this is what they offered me:
Year 1: 1.25% (fixed)
Year 2: 1.45% (fixed)
Year 3: 1.55% (fixed)

After the 3rd year I can either continue with them or if another bank offers lower rate I can jump ship. If I stay with them, the interest payable is 3.75% which is the Singapore Residential Financing Rate but I am offered a 1.25% discount.

Which means for years 4, 5 and 6, it would be 2.5% interest. Anything beyond year 7 and the interest gets higher. I believe this part is common to all banks.

So in my case, after 3 years I will shop around. If ANY bank offers me less than 2.5%, chances are I will jump ship. Of course if the best loan on offer at that time is more than 2.5%, then it would probably make more sense for me to either remain with Maybank for years 4-6 or consider HDB loan.

Gixxerfied

That article is not really correct. I don't know if its true that HDB caps your monthly repayments at 40% of your income but its certainly NOT true that a bank loan has no such restriction. MAS restricts it to 30% of your monthly income.

I also disagree with the part about HDB loans being more consistent for repayment as its based on CPF. Bank loans are ALSO based on CPF i.e. you and your employer contribute to your CPF ordinary account monthly and the loan will be deducted from your OA. If not enough, you have to top up with cash. So its NOT as though banks can't deduct from your CPF and you have to pay in cash monthly.

If TS is interested, better to go down to HDB and get all the facts and then go to 1 or 2 banks to enquire. Don't go to too many banks if not very luan. Maybe just Maybank and DBS.

Maybank first 3 years if do repayment will have penalty. But anyway the fixed rate is only for first 3 years so after that you have option of remaining with them or if another bank has better rates you can jump ship. And should you jump ship you can always pay off to HDB with whatever spare funds you have and then borrow the remaining from the new bank.

I doubt $200k is too low. Most (if not all) banks require you to borrow at least $100k for home loan. Anything less they are not interested. So yeah, $200k should be fine, doubt any bank will reject based on it being too "small" an amount. I guess if one needs to borrow less than $100k then may have to go HDB liao since most (maybe all) banks require at least $100k.

Which is why i mention minus the MSR part for HDB before the latest changes announced 3 months back. So right now banks has a 30% MSR and max 30 years while HDB has a 30% MSR and max 25 years.

This is what they meant by being consistent. "The HDB loan is based on the CPF, which changes as often as Edison Chen makes the news for good behaviour. The best a bank can do is to give you a fixed rate package, which lasts just three to five years." Consistent interest rates which is higher but offers the stability. Rates which does not depends on SIBOR and definitely not on the mood of Feds.

What analyst and most believes in is low interest is not forever. what if the Feds decides to taper & raises up the interest rates? Banks in SEA especially SG depends alot on foreign investment/deposits, with no more hot money coming in and higher interest rates. Hw many ppl(Foreigners) will start pulling out their investment and monies?

And when interest rates goes up after your fixed base rate period, who can you head to? If your remaining loan then is higher than the valuation of your unit, they can do a margin call.. They need the cash to keep their accts in check..

So my key point is to actually ask about your earlier post.

Why shouldnt anyone take up HDB despite the higher interest rate if they are not risk adverse and looking for more stability? :)

Of cos i'm not against ppl taking bank loans..Just make sure to do the maths, weight out the pros and cons then decide on the best course of loan.

At the end of the day you need to do your maths as different people have different financial issues. HDB loan may better suit some people, while bank loans may be better for others.

HDB loan is 2.5% interest. When I went to Maybank earlier this month, this is what they offered me:
Year 1: 1.25% (fixed)
Year 2: 1.45% (fixed)
Year 3: 1.55% (fixed)

After the 3rd year I can either continue with them or if another bank offers lower rate I can jump ship. If I stay with them, the interest payable is 3.75% which is the Singapore Residential Financing Rate but I am offered a 1.25% discount.

Which means for years 4, 5 and 6, it would be 2.5% interest. Anything beyond year 7 and the interest gets higher. I believe this part is common to all banks.

So in my case, after 3 years I will shop around. If ANY bank offers me less than 2.5%, chances are I will jump ship. Of course if the best loan on offer at that time is more than 2.5%, then it would probably make more sense for me to either remain with Maybank for years 4-6 or consider HDB loan.

Also, can you jump back to a HDB Loan after taking a Bank Loan initially? I dont think so right? Unless u sell off the flat and buy another..

deleted_nil

Thanks for the information.

Guess I am going to go for Bank Loan since I doubt I will have problem with monthly payment unless some major thing come.

My friend ask me to focus on just MayBank(Low interest for 3 years and can change after it), DBS(*Lock 10 years fix) and UOB (Not yet check).

deleted_nil

does anyone have any other good bank suggestion ?

From what i see, Maybank offer the better deal (*Correct me if i am wrong)

chardz88

Side track a bit, i also have a question. i just go with the application of recent SOBF and i chose HDB loan. However, I have not actually apply for the HLE yet since the result is not out yet. Will there be any problem later on? :s11:

Gixxerfied

Side track a bit, i also have a question. i just go with the application of recent SOBF and i chose HDB loan. However, I have not actually apply for the HLE yet since the result is not out yet. Will there be any problem later on? :s11:

Nope...You can wait until u get your selection date then apply HLE..No issue..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.