Loan Shark Harassment and how to stop it - Part 2

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

SIM37_

I realy hope so too.

Just received WA from another number, he said "i confirm do until u come contact me one". Any advise?? 😫

See one, block one. Do not even bother to "read" such messages, these scumbags do NOT deserve to even know you've "read" their messages.

Just block, report, and make e report to police. It will be over soon enough.

SIM37_

I just changed to a new number & updated my SIO too.

Harrassment to begin v.soon...☹️

Don't worry, they can only harress up to a certain point. As long as your CCTV is up, make sure its working well. like what @green72 said, they're "worried" that you're ghosting them so they use other numbers to spam u.

The more u block the better it is. Trust all of us

SIM37_

Today is going to be like my "Day 1" of ignoring him. He is calling me non-stop hits via WA Calls since morning and last WA was "sis u still don want reply and settle this problem, later my boss push me do thing. u know one leh sis" I felt like blocking his number but to think about it, no point as he will sure CTC me by another number and ask why i block him.

I don't think he will let me off easily... Even if i change number, deactivate my social medias. Right ?

ANW may i know somehow how long yours lasted? And how did they harrass you since they couldn't track any of your NOK? Just to prepare myself, incase. Sigh~

Remember this! Don't even bother to "read" their messages. They do not even deserve to know we give a flying f88k about them. Just block block block!

SIM37_

More good news from SPF.

https://www.police.gov.sg/media-room/news/20250204_two_persons_arrested_for_loanshark_harassment

The Police have arrested a 30-year-old man and a 28-year-old woman for their suspected involvement in a case of loanshark harassment.

On 3 February 2025 at about 4.20pm, the Police were alerted to a case of loanshark harassment at a residential unit along Jurong West Street 65, where the main gate of the residential unit was secured with a chain and padlock. A debtor’s note was also left outside the unit.

Through follow-up investigations and with the aid of images from Police cameras, officers from Jurong Police Division established the identities of the two persons involved and arrested them on the same day. Preliminary investigations revealed that they were allegedly involved in other similar cases of loanshark harassment islandwide.

Both persons will be charged in court on 5 February 2025 under the Moneylenders Act 2008. For first time offenders, the offence of loanshark harassment carries between $5,000 and $50,000, with imprisonment of up to five years and caning of up to six strokes.

The Police have zero tolerance for loanshark harassment activities. Those who deliberately vandalise properties, cause annoyance or disrupt public safety, peace and security, will be dealt with severely in accordance with the law.

Members of the public are advised to stay away from loansharks and not work with or assist them in any way. The public can call ‘999’ if they suspect or know of anyone who could be involved in loansharking activities.

20250101_two_persons_arrested_for_loanshark_harassment_1

learningmylesson

Remember! The more we BLOCK/IGNORE and REPORT. Its easier for SPF to do their jobs to nab them!
Thank you for your advises, i really appreciate it. 😔

So it's been a week of me ghosting him & 4th day on my new number. Have been on my feet & so far nothing yet. Checked with my spouse if he received any WA that sounds like LS, he said no.

Not sure what's their next step or what they are working on for my "case".

But just a quick qstn for anyone who experienced, how long after ghosting will they start their "job"? Just to be more cautious of what's coming. Sigh~

soyabeana

So it's been a week of me ghosting him & 4th day on my new number. Have been on my feet & so far nothing yet. Checked with my spouse if he received any WA that sounds like LS, he said no.

But just a quick qstn for anyone who experienced, how long after ghosting will they start their "job"? Just to be more cautious of what's coming. Sigh~
Did you once mentioned that previously this LS got his number blocked by Whatsapp?

And then he text you on a new WhatsApp number correct?

If so, i was wondering if they do keep past records of your NOK or company number. But surprisingly after ghosting them for a week, the few days was just text to press your for payment. And then eventually they go radio silent after you had changed your number and didn't contact your NOK OR your company.

There could be a chance that they might have lost all your records during the beginning where their number got blocked.

This is interesting.

But let's not just think too much about it. All you need is to stay vigilant and be aware of your surroundings going forward. Bear in mind, your priority is still your family. So don't worry too much about them harassing you at this moment. Right now you need to be at your best state of mind when things happened:
  1. if you encounter or suspect anyone (whom does not seems to be your neighbour or anyone you know in this block), immediately report to your SIO and let him know about this suspicious activity
  2. Stay calm, and take a deep breath whenever you go through any anxiety attack or panic
  3. Continue to block / ignore if you or your NOK received any harassment
  4. Eat well, sleep well and focus on your work at this moment

SIM37_

Usually its not easy to get someone to do dirty deeds. They will need to con another victim and lie to them they'll get paid.

I dare put my bottom dollar NONE of the loan shark runners ever got paid to do paint job or etc... more likely they'll get arrested.

But make sure your CCTV is VERY obvious in front of your house. Most of the time won't have anything happen. But well, worst of worst case, get ready turpentine/thinner thats it.

If they come, the time for being paiseh is over. Remember, SPF is on your side. So are we, but we cannot arrest them. So gather your resources to help the police as much as you can.

See this poor dude? Kena conned, kena arrested. and NOT PAID!! --> https://mothership.sg/2024/07/boy-15-loan-shark/

She added that her son had discovered a way to make money through a Telegram group, in which someone told him he could earn S$800 by splashing paint on two front doors.

But he was never paid his due even after completing the task.

Babablacksheeps

I second on what @SIM37_ said.

Next victim yet appear to come disturb or so far none of his side can't pay deferment so no job done.

Beside getting thinner, maybe prepared a sample paint. That's what I have just figured out and newly purchase.

Grab a Nippon paint sample, can anytime self paint then don't need wait for town council do shitty job.

Last edited by a moderator:

learningmylesson

Did you once mentioned that previously this LS got his number blocked by Whatsapp?

And then he text you on a new WhatsApp number correct?

If so, i was wondering if they do keep past records of your NOK or company number. But surprisingly after ghosting them for a week, the few days was just text to press your for payment. And then eventually they go radio silent after you had changed your number and didn't contact your NOK OR your company.

There could be a chance that they might have lost all your records during the beginning where their number got blocked.

This is interesting.

But let's not just think too much about it. All you need is to stay vigilant and be aware of your surroundings going forward. Bear in mind, your priority is still your family. So don't worry too much about them harassing you at this moment. Right now you need to be at your best state of mind when things happened:
  1. if you encounter or suspect anyone (whom does not seems to be your neighbour or anyone you know in this block), immediately report to your SIO and let him know about this suspicious activity
  2. Stay calm, and take a deep breath whenever you go through any anxiety attack or panic
  3. Continue to block / ignore if you or your NOK received any harassment
  4. Eat well, sleep well and focus on your work at this moment
Hello, yes. He got a few numbers blocked..which he will then CTC me with another new number right after.

When i took again from him end of last year, he only requested for a new VC. He didn't ask for my NOK/2 add'l numbers for record which i believe it's because he already asked back in 2023 when i first took from him? Or maybe im inside his "Good customer" list already?
But the 2 numbers i gave him back then are still valid though.. Thankfully nothing received by these 2 numbers..yet!

Been into 9 days today since he last heard from me & nothing yet. Can't help but kept asking my spouse if anyone appeared on my video doorbell every single time......

learningmylesson

Usually its not easy to get someone to do dirty deeds. They will need to con another victim and lie to them they'll get paid.

I dare put my bottom dollar NONE of the loan shark runners ever got paid to do paint job or etc... more likely they'll get arrested.

But make sure your CCTV is VERY obvious in front of your house. Most of the time won't have anything happen. But well, worst of worst case, get ready turpentine/thinner thats it.

If they come, the time for being paiseh is over. Remember, SPF is on your side. So are we, but we cannot arrest them. So gather your resources to help the police as much as you can.

See this poor dude? Kena conned, kena arrested. and NOT PAID!! --> https://mothership.sg/2024/07/boy-15-loan-shark/
Yes, i even moved my video doorbell to a spot facing right infront of my gate. Every time it identifies human body movement, it will notify us on the spot.

Now like waiting for "suprise" like that..😪

Babablacksheeps

Yes, i even moved my video doorbell to a spot facing right infront of my gate. Every time it identifies human body movement, it will notify us on the spot.

This is very good and you can self monitor too. Get a couple spare battery so it don't run out of battery too.

SIM37_

I'm pretty sure nothing will happen to u, its more and more difficult to find runners and CCTV is EVERYWHERE.

Remember, you are beyond the point of "paiseh".

Channel your paisehness to resilience and remember. If they try anything funny, they will get free food/lodging.

As always, don't read, don't bother, just report if anything significant developes.

soyabeana

Wow, im quite surprised, ghosting them for 9 days and NOK did not receive any harassment. From what i read from other posts by other victims, typically once they start ghosting them, the LS will harass their NOK/company within a day and this will go on for months.

I see a good sign there. But just to be safe, be vigilant and stay safe!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.