[LOL] Sinkie stir on FB that SP Group lying about energy cost of 9.3% electricity tariff

elmohootbigbird

who are to blame here?
singaporeans

it is because singaporeans wanted competition thus all the other brands came in to snatch sp group's already thin profit margins. just like how singaporeans wanted competition in cable tv space then epl prices got jacked up because singtel and starhub fought over rights.
same thing is happening here. singaporeans don't understand that our economy is too small for competition. a monopoly will help keep prices lower and be more competitive. same as in our political sphere.

now who ends up paying the bill? singaporeans
we dug the mess, we should clean up the mess.
instead of supporting other electricity providers, we should let them all die a quiet death and go back to supporting sp group
only that way will we be able to keep prices low and affordable

LOL. look at this guy. it didnt feel any cheaper when there were no competition. taxi certainly not cheaper before grab n uber came into existence.

boredom2012

LOL. look at this guy. it didnt feel any cheaper when there were no competition. taxi certainly not cheaper before grab n uber came into existence.
Even grab and Uber come in comfort is not dropping his price. Why? They are GLC. GLC is lord in singapore. They have fixed Uber and now grab. Pte hire car minimum age is 30 years old. Reduce the supply.

Cobra!

who are to blame here?
singaporeans

it is because singaporeans wanted competition thus all the other brands came in to snatch sp group's already thin profit margins. just like how singaporeans wanted competition in cable tv space then epl prices got jacked up because singtel and starhub fought over rights.
same thing is happening here. singaporeans don't understand that our economy is too small for competition. a monopoly will help keep prices lower and be more competitive. same as in our political sphere.

instead of supporting other electricity providers, we should let them all die a quiet death and go back to supporting sp group
Say what? SP Groups "thin profit margins"?

Dude, they make annual profits of 1b a year
https://www.poweringthenation.sg/chairman-message

What are you? A MOF civil servant?

elmohootbigbird

Even grab and Uber come in comfort is not dropping his price. Why? They are GLC. GLC is lord in singapore. They have fixed Uber and now grab. Pte hire car minimum age is 30 years old. Reduce the supply.

in this case, it doesnt matter if other players come in. the cost won't go down regardless. if we don't go to alternative, just pay lo. jjww got what use.

wongkc

ai yah... got competition doesn't mean cheaper also...

remember last time under SCV... EPL was affordable... then later gahment allow Singtel to come into cable tv sector... says competition will lower price and allow more content... but singtel go do exclusive deals with EPL to shut out SCV and let EPL chop carrot head... ever since EPL broadcasting became ridiculous pricing... really stupid... plus i dun see Singtel cable tv got more variety of shows...

another example of how gahment screwed singaporeans...

elmohootbigbird

ai yah... got competition doesn't mean cheaper also...

remember last time under SCV... EPL was affordable... then later gahment allow Singtel to come into cable tv sector... says competition will lower price and allow more content... but singtel go do exclusive deals with EPL to shut out SCV and let EPL chop carrot head... ever since EPL broadcasting became ridiculous pricing... really stupid... plus i dun see Singtel cable tv got more variety of shows...

another example of how gahment screwed singaporeans...

yalo. so ultimately every guy for himself. keep your eyes open and head clear.

appleorange_

who are to blame here?
singaporeans

then when monopoly

people like u complain no competition, companies can anyhow price hike everyone also suck thumb

then ask for more competitors

** la

louisoh

When u gib monopoly... Miw go sign ceca.

Dun gib monopoly.. Our review board also suka suka giv green light to increase price aka transport n utilities.

Imo, problem lies in miw... Not abt monopoly or whatnot.

Cobra!

$1 billion on $20 billion of assets is good return meh? Only 5% ROTA... might as well dissolve SP Group and invest... :s8:
20 years ROA for infrastructure is damn good.

i take it you believe it should be maybe 10 years (10%)? Powerlines and generators change very often eh?

coern

ROTA of 5% is poor - not great - that's the point. 8% to 10% is decent.

Seems to me that SP is making just above the bare minimum for replacing it's assets.

20 years ROA for infrastructure is damn good.

i take it you believe it should be maybe 10 years (10%)? Powerlines and generators change very often eh?

Napalm

Why so much argument here? Just compare the numbers.

SG electricity tariff vs natural gas price. See how they diverge over the years.

So what costs in between has risen to cause the widening gap? Senior management salary? :s13:

IrMyWcl.jpg

And for those who claim that transport cost is the culprit, here's a similar comparison against Japan spot LNG price.

PTZSnRX.jpeg

Source of data quoted in the pics.

tatsit

Why so much argument here? Just compare the numbers.

SG electricity tariff vs natural gas price. See how they diverge over the years.

So what costs in between has risen to cause the widening gap? Senior management salary? :s13:

IrMyWcl.jpg

And for those who claim that transport cost is the culprit, here's a similar comparison against Japan spot LNG price.

PTZSnRX.jpeg

Source of data quoted in the pics.

Got pre jan-14 data? Looks interesting

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.