looking forward to build new TowerPC!

GrimaH

Sure! will go for Kingston for ram.

I checked the list and PC Themes does provide comprehensive parts than other shops. I also found other variant of the graphics card, and figured out why you asked the other time whether I wanted OC.

Another question: If I don want any OS, how does the end product look like? Do I get a ms-dos version and I can install my OS at home?

You could download the OS and burn it to DVD, then install it from there.

Not that I'm going to be caught on record recommending it, mind. :D But it's a possibility.

xiaodouya

You could download the OS and burn it to DVD, then install it from there.

Not that I'm going to be caught on record recommending it, mind. :D But it's a possibility.

hahah I do have legal licenses on my side for those OS but giving the CD key to them is kind of weird..

I have decided on some of the specs after reading/reviewing the threads around and reading some articles online, however, I still need help with a few issues.

Mobo+CPU: Asrock B85M-Pro4 + i5-4570 - $388
GFX: MSI GTX 770 2GB Twin Frozr - $669
RAM:
SSD: Plextor M5S 128GB - $139
HDD: WD Caviar Blue (1TB) - $85
Casing: NZXT Phantom 410 (White-Blue) - $159
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620W - $125
DVD ROM: LG DVD-RW SATA OEM @ - $25

Current prices are from PC Themes. Still I will be using it for gaming and perhaps some development where it requires the use of virtual machine so perhaps more ram would be great. no OC.

1) Mobo - should i go for H87 or Z87 if I have the budget?
2) PSU - how long will this psu last me in near future in terms of hardware expansion? idon quite understand those single/multiple rail stuff, so if I go with this recommended one, should be okay?
3) RAM - haha about 16gb but cant find it on the pricelist
4) OS - leave it out for now, i guess as i have legal copy at home, jus worried on how to give the guys to install
5) Also, which hardware could I get bluetooth module from?

wuweiz

B85 boards are limited to 16GB of ram. Use H87 boards for up to 32 GB of ram if ya gonna do VM. Check the boards specs first to see if the features fit your usage.

The rest, I reply tmr. Brain dead now. Lol. Gd nitezzzz. =:p

xiaodouya

B85 boards are limited to 16GB of ram. Use H87 boards for up to 32 GB of ram if ya gonna do VM. Check the boards specs first to see if the features fit your usage.

The rest, I reply tmr. Brain dead now. Lol. Gd nitezzzz. =:p

Wow thanks for headsup for the ram limitation. With regards to ram, how do i read the specs of the chipsets to see how much ram it can support up to?

I am much keen on h87 now, since it fits my criteria of building a gaming system without OC. So do i go for 4770 now?

I also forgot to ask about sound card. Are the built-in sound cards on motherboard good to go if i have a logitech z623 speaker

wuweiz

Wow thanks for headsup for the ram limitation. With regards to ram, how do i read the specs of the chipsets to see how much ram it can support up to?

I am much keen on h87 now, since it fits my criteria of building a gaming system without OC. So do i go for 4770 now?

I also forgot to ask about sound card. Are the built-in sound cards on motherboard good to go if i have a logitech z623 speaker

Why 4770? U need that kind of performance?

Sorry, not pro in sound cards. Lol.

Biff73

SLI/Crossfire for hardcore,intensive & demanding gamer:D
Single Graphics card,average gamer:s13:
TS,Which type of gamer you wanna be?;)

royfrosty

This sentence isn't true at all. fyi for some people whom loves gadgets or hardwares, they don't mind splurging out that kind of money for appreciation.

One of this example is me.

If i have the money i would even build an overkill unit for myself to look cool and everyday appreciates it.

xiaodouya

SLI/Crossfire for hardcore,intensive & demanding gamer:D
TS,Which type of gamer you wanna be?;)

hardcore but play occasionally? Hahaha

@wuweiz what processor goes well with h87?

wuweiz

hardcore but play occasionally? Hahaha

@wuweiz what processor goes well with h87?

For your needs, 4570 is enough. If u feeling rich, might as well blow ur money on a Asus Gryphon (or Sabretooth) + i7-4770k. Lol. Don't ask me for technical reasons why. I just like the look of thermal armor on the mobo. Lol.

Then get a Corsair H80i cpu cooler n try to play a bit of OC-ing. Maybe try OC-ing to 4.0 to 4.2 ghz range for a beginner. =:)

Biff73

For your needs, 4570 is enough. If u feeling rich, might as well blow ur money on a Asus Gryphon (or Sabretooth) + i7-4770k. Lol. Don't ask me for technical reasons why. I just like the look of thermal armor on the mobo. Lol.

Then get a Corsair H80i cpu cooler n try to play a bit of OC-ing. Maybe try OC-ing to 4.0 to 4.2 ghz range for a beginner. =:)

4.2ghz?where u learn your oc?:s13:4.5ghz as baseline more like oc:s13:Gaming is about maxing out every game & still maintaining high frame rates,I won't waste my time/$$$ to build a 1/2 pass 6 gaming pc

wuweiz

4.2ghz?where u learn your oc?:s13:4.5ghz as baseline more like oc:s13:Gaming is about maxing out every game & still maintaining high frame rates,I won't waste my time/$$$ to build a 1/2 pass 6 gaming pc

First time try mah. Wau lao.. Newbie already wanna go extreme meh? Slowly bit by bit lah...

Biff73

First time try mah. Wau lao.. Newbie already wanna go extreme meh? Slowly bit by bit lah...

With decent advice,4.5ghz is a starting point for oc,4.2ghz temps & 4.5ghz noticable with aio cooler,h80i not that great,silverstone td02 or td03 current king of aio cooler & same price,gaming pc,ts should start with mid range z87 board(Like giga z87 oc-x,not gryphon)+4670K to get started,oc i can teach if he want,15mins & @4.5ghz stable,nice & easy,2x gtx 760 sli not bad

xiaodouya

With decent advice,4.5ghz is a starting point for oc,4.2ghz temps & 4.5ghz noticable with aio cooler,h80i not that great,silverstone td02 or td03 current king of aio cooler & same price,gaming pc,ts should start with mid range z87 board(Like giga z87 oc-x,not gryphon)+4670K to get started,oc i can teach if he want,15mins & @4.5ghz stable,nice & easy,2x gtx 760 sli not bad

nice! but still i don find enough incentives to go the OC path. perhaps wuweiz was luring me with the lowered specs :s12: i like seeing your hardware signatures on the right, super hardcore! lol

alright, i have edited my configurations again for your reviews.

Mobo+CPU: Asrock H87M PRO4 + i5-4570 - $402
RAM: 16GB 1600MHz - ??
PSU: Seasonic M12II 650W - $129
Sound: Asus Xonar DX 7.1 - $129

Do tell me anything that I have missed out

wuweiz

nice! but still i don find enough incentives to go the OC path. perhaps wuweiz was luring me with the lowered specs :s12: i like seeing your hardware signatures on the right, super hardcore! lol

alright, i have edited my configurations again for your reviews.

Mobo+CPU: Asrock H87M PRO4 + i5-4570 - $402
RAM: 16GB 1600MHz - ??
PSU: Seasonic M12II 650W - $129
Sound: Asus Xonar DX 7.1 - $129

Do tell me anything that I have missed out

Looks ok.. Maybe for RAM u can look at G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 16 Gb (2x8Gb).. :s13:

xiaodouya

Looks ok.. Maybe for RAM u can look at G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 16 Gb (2x8Gb).. :s13:

Cool stuff! getting G.Skill RIPJAWS-X 1600MHZ (8gb x 2) CL9 - $199

now for PSU, i am wondering which to choose, they are

Seasonic M12II 650W - $129

SeaSonic X Series 650W - $179

the features on both side looks the same, jus being phrased differently. the difference will be X Series has many reviews and M12II's sample size may be a little smaller

shadow84

To TS, what is your budget ah? You like that already overshot $2k le.... and RAMs dun need so high end...

xiaodouya

i actually forgotten my inital budget, had to look at first post - 1.2k to 1.4k lol

my rule of thumb of buying stuff is to get the good stuff that could last me a while, i don buy for brands but because certain brands are lasting/enjoyable to use with thus I would get the better stuff.

Computer parts wise, I would love it to be value for money but i also want things to last me for a while. so yea you get my dilemma

now without OS still $2k which is alright if all these parts could justify the price in terms of its life/quality/(exception for casing would be aesthestic). lol

shadow84

i actually forgotten my inital budget, had to look at first post - 1.2k to 1.4k lol

my rule of thumb of buying stuff is to get the good stuff that could last me a while, i don buy for brands but because certain brands are lasting/enjoyable to use with thus I would get the better stuff.

Computer parts wise, I would love it to be value for money but i also want things to last me for a while. so yea you get my dilemma

now without OS still $2k which is alright if all these parts could justify the price in terms of its life/quality/(exception for casing would be aesthestic). lol

Well, you can get the FSP 80+ Platinum 650W @$159...

For Xonar DX, if you want, can get from amazon, cost should be below S$100, if you managed to buy more than US$125 worth of eligible-for-shipping stuff...

xiaodouya

Well, you can get the FSP 80+ Platinum 650W @$159...

For Xonar DX, if you want, can get from amazon, cost should be below S$100, if you managed to buy more than US$125 worth of eligible-for-shipping stuff...

Great PSU alternative!! thanks!

If Amazon is an option for me, then i would import most of the stuff. but the issues are warranty and also i do not know how to fix them myself

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.