LTA raids Yishun retailer suspected of illegally modifying PMDs by adding extra batteries

standarture

Wait until so many taichi happen then take action. Problem is the users don't care! And they affect others around them. It's gahmen's job to take action. Everything also monitor.

hachi

Intertwined poor implementation, enforcement and etc... LTA not tired? And create more work like scdf, emergency services and TC... When things start burning.

hellhole

adding batteries isn't the problem if he installed BMS with the correct specs. what's unknown is whether his work resulted in fires? pap methods aren't meant to produce entrepreneurs, engineers or inventors. their first instinct is to find fault. "see got fire. you are not qualified. order these from foreigners. foreigners know what they are doing. got problems just push to them"

this is the f up mentality sinkies have. that's why i say our universities are for show. pap isn't interested in creativity or innovation. they want you to engage in trade. import stuff. don't manufacture anything here

why can't they guide these budding builders? help them start a legit pma battery factory for eg? government actions are so short sighted, unenlightened and kiasu
waiting for you to start lor

begintoend

ok offer guidance. help and encourage them. not knee jerk reaction every time. "halo this one illegal. i will catch you. i will punish you."
It works the same for car engine mods.
If its illegal, get fine and punished.

If the alteration has been put up for approval, maybe it can pass but such dealers and installers rather do it the " can one la" procedures.

hachi

Those dubious modders.. Wires are wires... What kind of guage can stand the fast charging Amp? BMS? Yes a good one will protect the user. When everything need faster cheaper better.... Most just use cheap wire from hardware shop, and cheap BMS from TB. The consequences?

hachi

If the alteration has been put up for approval, maybe it can pass but such dealers and installers rather do it the " can one la" procedures.
As least for inspection to keep them in check... Those mod ebike and PMA make pavrment dangerous.. We got kids and eldery.

JustForFun

"Users are urged to buy compliant devices from trusted retailers, and check second-hand devices for defects and modifications before purchase."

How would a layman know how/what to check for mods? Lta should setup an inspection centre la, like what they do for cats, can create jods also can earn inspection money

Agree many do not know at all those compliant devices or standards and who are trusted retailers, especially for users who are already medically sick or mobility handicapped or seniors.

The onus is on installers or vendors. User likely be approach these companies or installer, but how will the public know which or who is official and trusted ?

yperic

LTA raids Yishun retailer suspected of illegally modifying PMDs by adding extra batteries​

ltamaind.jpg

PHOTO: LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY/FACEBOOK

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) conducted a raid on a retailer who was suspected of illegally modifying personal mobility devices (PMDs) in Yishun on Oct 29.

LTA said its active mobility enforcement officers (AMEOs) took enforcement action against the retailer, who had allegedly added extra batteries to PMDs.

Three non-compliant devices were seized and investigations are ongoing.

"We'll continue to take firm action against retailers and individuals suspected of offering illegal device modification services," said LTA in a Facebook post on Oct 30.

"Such alterations put both device users and the public at risk. Stay safe and stay legal."

Users are urged to buy compliant devices from trusted retailers, and check second-hand devices for defects and modifications before purchase.

Those who spot errant retailers or path users can report them at www.lta.gov.sg/feedback.

"We will consider your feedback in planning our enforcement operations," LTA added.

li9ht5peed

why only me? all of you. yishun got so many creative and innovative people. our first reaction? "must be yishun. they siao lang. nothing good comes out from there. always trying to be funny". give people a chance. offer them guidance. send them to skillsfuture. who knows? maybe a yishun resident might end up opening a factory and sell proper batteries? every body win like that isn't it? why always use a big stick to whack naughty people?

hellhole

why only me? all of you. yishun got so many creative and innovative people. our first reaction? "must be yishun. they siao lang. nothing good comes out from there. always trying to be funny". give people a chance. offer them guidance. send them to skillsfuture. who knows? maybe a yishun resident might end up opening a factory and sell proper batteries? every body win like that isn't it? why always use a big stick to whack naughty people?
u say one mah

noahexe

Yishun...
Ironically the shun mean LUCK...
Contrarily, the most XIAO area is YISHUN...

li9ht5peed

this one i try before. lta don't care. if it's not factory designed. it's a fail. it's just extra work for them. they collecting peasant salary too. lta has zero interest in fostering innovation. the staff just want to follow standard procedures and issue fines according to set rules. you smart or stupid, they can't be bothered. it's not their job to encourage creativity. this directive must come from the pm

JustForFun

More lives and property will be saved as long LTA work ?

Those already dead rip and property burned pretty sad.

pattanispirit

fine them 50K, guarantee no one will dare to do in future.

their 1 yr labour & rent cost gone up the smoke

still cheaper than 1 piece of car COE.

10459a2338f63fdc74759f6c65036184.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.