M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION - Part 2

Zylver

Just to check, is the BE805 a power guzzler? Couldn't find any info on the consumption but it sure is a big unit as compared to my Xiaomi AX3200.

sHrike

Just to check, is the BE805 a power guzzler? Couldn't find any info on the consumption but it sure is a big unit as compared to my Xiaomi AX3200.
yes it is , up to 3 times more than a AX router and it is freakingly big lor...now I am using a AX86U...which I already consider not small...it is machiam like a mini CPU.

anyway, what is the point of upgrading ah...i was thinking..my internet experience still remains the same...I am on 500mbps now....this 6Gbps doesn't enhance my experience in anyway leh...and uses more power and pay abit more in subscription....

xiaofan

yes it is , up to 3 times more than a AX router and it is freakingly big lor...now I am using a AX86U...which I already consider not small...it is machiam like a mini CPU.

anyway, what is the point of upgrading ah...i was thinking..my internet experience still remains the same...I am on 500mbps now....this 6Gbps doesn't enhance my experience in anyway leh...and uses more power and pay abit more in subscription....

If you can get the S$32.90 per month recontract offer with free Archer BE805, it is still a very good offer to go.

Just sell the Archer BE805 and get lower subscription cost than your current 500Mbps plan. You can continue using your RT-AX86U (use the 2.5G port as WAN port).

In that case, you pay less and gain more performance.
S$32.90 with free Archer BE805.
Selling the Archer BE805 at S$300 --> effective price is S$20.40 per month
Selling the Archer BE805 at S$240 --> effective price is S$22.90 per month.

Two years later, better value plans will come out.

But nothing wrong to keep using 500Mbps no contract plan either if you do not want the hassle.

BusteR

i on old m1 500mbps, just now i try the recontract flow, it asked me to schedule ont installation date during checkout. do i stil need huh?

BusteR

i also same situation. on 500mbps, i thinking how to enjoy most out of 6gbps without spending more $$?
my house 10 yrs ago renvo cant rem is with cat5e or cat6 port.
problem is if it cat5e, i also cannot do anything coz wire pull over false ceiling.
if cat6, i need buy maybe a 2.5mb switch to split to my wife desktop and tv. i pc gamer, so either i need change MB or add NIC card too.

sHrike

i also same situation. on 500mbps, i thinking how to enjoy most out of 6gbps without spending more $$?
my house 10 yrs ago renvo cant rem is with cat5e or cat6 port.
problem is if it cat5e, i also cannot do anything coz wire pull over false ceiling.
if cat6, i need buy maybe a 2.5mb switch to split to my wife desktop and tv. i pc gamer, so either i need change MB or add NIC card too.
the thing is you won't see any improvement even with 6Gbps unless u have a super big household like >10 persons ...you are already enjoying the most with just a 500mbps connection.

Shinn88

My 500mbps plan ends at May2025. The app says can early recontract liao, but I cannot find the email offering me the good deals leh. Cannot find any vouchers in the app too

sHrike

If you can get the S$32.90 per month recontract offer with free Archer BE805, it is still a very good offer to go.

Just sell the Archer BE805 and get lower subscription cost than your current 500Mbps plan. You can continue using your RT-AX86U (use the 2.5G port as WAN port).

In that case, you pay less and gain more performance.
S$32.90 with free Archer BE805.
Selling the Archer BE805 at S$300 --> effective price is S$20.40 per month
Selling the Archer BE805 at S$240 --> effective price is S$22.90 per month.

Two years later, better value plans will come out.

But nothing wrong to keep using 500Mbps no contract plan either if you do not want the hassle.
good ...i just got the free archer deal..If i sell off this one, what is the next best router would you recommend, within budget of $240?

sango65

the thing is you won't see any improvement even with 6Gbps unless u have a super big household like >10 persons ...you are already enjoying the most with just a 500mbps connection.
my 2 cents opinion is m1 just mass email us the promo deal for 6Gbps without even checking if our homes are ready for the speed upgrade, which is very disappointing. They should have upgraded the speed for all homes in Singapore before sending the promo deal.

If we didnt check, we risk be forced to pay extra (2.5Gbps at $39.90) and cant revert to the no-contract 500mbps price of $30.45 (after GST).

Jurong640

Im also currently using AX86U. I just looked up the BE806 power consumption, looks to be maxed at 70W. That's quite a lot and very power-hungry. My BE806 will be arriving in a few hours from M1, later I'll check out the size.

Maybe can trick people say it's PS5.

sHrike

my 2 cents opinion is m1 just mass email us the promo deal for 6Gbps without even checking if our homes are ready for the speed upgrade, which is very disappointing. They should have upgraded the speed for all homes in Singapore before sending the promo deal.

If we didnt check, we risk be forced to pay extra (2.5Gbps at $39.90) and cant revert to the no-contract 500mbps price of $30.45 (after GST).
no lah ...6GBPs promo re-contract price is 32.90 la..u pay $2.55 more....at least you will get 2.5Gps lor even if your area cannot support

sHrike

Im also currently using AX86U. I just looked up the BE806 power consumption, looks to be maxed at 70W. That's quite a lot and very power-hungry. My BE806 will be arriving in a few hours from M1, later I'll check out the size.

Maybe can trick people say it's PS5.
it is huge lor...
Dimensions (W×D×H)4.1 × 11.7 × 10.4 in
(104.3 × 297 × 264.5 mm)

Jurong640

I don’t think they sent a mass email, but I’m not sure if they filtered out those who are ready for 6Gbps. However, my friend, who is also out of contract and lives in Choa Chu Kang, hasn’t received any email from M1, as his area is still not ready.

This suggests the emails weren’t sent in bulk. It seems to be a customized email, as it includes your HBB service ID and the promo end date at the bottom.

sango65

no lah ...6GBPs promo re-contract price is 32.90 la..u pay $2.55 more....at least you will get 2.5Gps lor even if your area cannot support
hmm, I chat with the CSO, I cant sign up for 6Gbps and get 2.5Gbps speed. They will require me to get the 2.5Gbps plan instead. Maybe something to do with the ONT or XGS-PON (I dont know the tech specs).

Jurong640

MjFnFsX.jpeg

Just received the router. Wah knn so big and heavy. Makes my AX86U like a small toy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.