M4 Mac mini

SPY77

Thanks man. The wait here in Singapore is super long sia
i know the feel. i was super hyped to get them on 8th nov "launch" date... got screwed over :ROFLMAO: been staring at 2 monitors for last 15 days as I gave away previous gen to my cousin and had to just rely on mobile...

rvyne7

I've been checking daily and even contemplating getting a refurbished M2 now. It might be possible that stock arrives in retail stores by mid-December.

stanlawj

did anyone buy with 10 GBE?
I plan to buy one with 10G. It's worth it. Because can connect at 2.5G speed too. Most desktop PCs and switch nowadays come default with 2.5G RJ45. If you try to buy your own 10G PCIE adapter and associated Thunderbolt dock, it certainly costs more than the add-on price.

Also better resale value as 10G will appeal to server enthusiasts.

xiaofan

I plan to buy one with 10G. It's worth it. Because can connect at 2.5G speed too. Most desktop PCs nowadays come default with 2.5G RJ45. If you try to buy your own 10G PCIE adapter and associated Thunderbolt dock, it certainly costs more than the add-on price.

Also better resale value as 10G will appeal to server enthusiasts.

It is really worth to pay the extra S$150 for the 10Gbe network adapter if you are into 10Gbe Fibre Internet or Home Networking.

On the other hand, if you have existing Apple Mac Mini or Macbook, you can get cheaper USB4/TB4/TB3 10G NICs. I got two (IOcrest and GRiS) USB4/TB4/TB3 to 10G NICs from Taobao and they work well with my Mac Mini M1.

More discussions here:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/5gbe-and-beyond-ethernet-adapters.7068236/

stanlawj

It is really worth to pay the extra S$150 for the 10Gbe network adapter if you are into 10Gbe Fibre Internet or Home Networking.

On the other hand, if you have existing Apple Mac Mini or Macbookm, you can get cheaper USB4/TB4/TB3 10G NICs. I got two (IOcrest and GRiS) USB4/TB4/TB3 to 10G NICs from Taobao and they work well with my Mac Mini M1.

More discussions here:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/5gbe-and-beyond-ethernet-adapters.7068236/
Using an external adapter will also result in losing one TB4 port to this device. Or one has to buy an additional TB4 hub to split the data stream.

SPY77

I've been checking daily and even contemplating getting a refurbished M2 now. It might be possible that stock arrives in retail stores by mid-December.
it should land same time as those who have the earliest delivery slots. i think 7 or 8 Dec?

frizee

Lol anyhow say de, last week, on 15/11 the Apple staff say "most likely it will be available for pick-up on the week of 18-22/11 and bo leh dont have :D

reddevil0728

Lol anyhow say de, last week, on 15/11 the Apple staff say "most likely it will be available for pick-up on the week of 18-22/11 and bo leh dont have :D
most likely but not certain ma. things can change in between

twosix

I know lah, but weird 2 apple staff saying this (Changi and Orchard) though? Hmmm

I just wait for my 5-12/12 Delivery le...
this is so weird that apple cannot commit to a fix delivery dates. usually these products r bto and air shipped. looks like singapore has been given low priority and noncommittal by apple.

frizee

this is so weird that apple cannot commit to a fix delivery dates. usually these products r bto and air shipped. looks like singapore has been given low priority and noncommittal by apple.
We can LL and wait lor :D

I am still hunting for a budget dual display hub 1x HDMI and 1x USB C / TB4, cuz most sellers will reply "at each time only one monitor is on"

twosix

We can LL and wait lor :D

I am still hunting for a budget dual display hub 1x HDMI and 1x USB C / TB4, cuz most sellers will reply "at each time only one monitor is on"
Why ah? The mini already has hdmi. U only need a hub for 1 more tv out.

anyway i recently bought a usb hub. Let me see if it supports what u need or not.

twosix

Eh paiseh... Oh crap what was i thinking, yes you are right bro, i dont need a hub right?! LOL i blur already :ROFLMAO:

Since i have 1x hdmi and 1x via TB4 port, what i need to ensure I have TB4 to HDMI/DVI/DP adaptor vice versa right(in the event the low end monitor i buy only has HDMI/DVI/DP)?
Yes, u just need an adapter.

erwinrommel

Mac mini m4 is truly amazing. I struggle hard to even think what DIY PC specs can match a M4 mac mini price and performance at base configuration.

I just got a M4 macbook pro with base configurations at $2049 with education discount. I was using a lenovo Yoga computer and the performance and efficiency of the M4 MBP are still wowing me.

As a reference, i use safari, whatsapp, telegram, apple mail, outlook and used it for about 25 min at a cafe and the battery only dropped 1%.

SPY77

O1CN01tx7nnc1Hrwc8YzuLL_!!759980812.jpg

:eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.