Man, 80, dies after losing balance on SBS Transit bus

ramlee

Many factors. Driving can be rough, or I notice among the old folks, they have the tendency to get up from the seat early just so they are the first to alight. I think old people should just let the bus stop first and then move to the exit.
Wait a lot of yang ginna pi tsk at us for being slow :(

you are not old you won’t understand :(

mryang

What are caused of his death?
Which part of the body tio the fatal injury?

TiedInsurer

How was your last health check? How old are you sir?

Once I took a double decker with double exit doors. Driver completely missed my stop. I walked to the front, asked him calmly. He agreed to open front door for me to alight at red light. I peeked out, checked clear, then carefully but nimbly made my way to the pavement.

Always keep an eye on the nearest 2 bell buttons. Don't always bury one's nose deep into Tiktok videos (with full audio volume due to hard of hearing) and become unaware of surroundings until the very last moment.
Stop being a patronising asshole. I don't even have or watch tik tok. I press the button in advance like everyone else. I don't always rush to stand up, because sometimes i'm moving with lots of things and have no hands to grab the bars.

Middle aged people also can fall down and it also hurts okay?

sPacEmAn_sPiFf

if weak, it’s safer to wait for bus to stop at the bus stop before walking to the exit

Canis Lupus

Sometime the driver accelerate the bus with a jerk movement...
True, happened quite a few time when I was boarding a bus behind a boomer. Boomer slowly take their time(patting the seats, inspecting if it's dirty and all that) to choose seats so lanlan have to wait for them. Only once they sit down then you can move past them, usually that's the moment when the bus driver will do their jerk accelerate. I remember needing to grip the bar hard then swing into my seat to prevent falling down.

spinning_quirK

Stop being a patronising asshole. I don't even have or watch tik tok. I press the button in advance like everyone else. I don't always rush to stand up, because sometimes i'm moving with lots of things and have no hands to grab the bars.

Middle aged people also can fall down and it also hurts okay?
The patronising tone was meant for the 70+ year olds. What is middle age? 40? 50? Us men have a life expectancy of about 80, so my age of around 40 technically makes me middle aged.

All of us carry multiple things every now and then on the bus. It is up to us to figure out how to keep at least 1 hand free. Not blame the bus driver for our lack of basic survival instinct (even if his or her driving technique is shiat). I'm a guy, but I carry a backpack everywhere I go. That frees up my hands.

grevq80o

FUC SBS, people's family died and it's confidential

mWco6O.jpg
They no need to worry Abt erection. So totally can face palm u

shine0204

I used to ask the same question, why do old folks like to stand up before the bus stop... till I met my old neighbour on bus.

She told me her legs numb when sit down for long. Because of the numbness she need time for her legs to recover and the best time is when the bus is about to stop. When the bus arrived at the bus stop, her legs might have recovered a little so that she could slowly walk to exit to alight. If she sits till the bus stops totally, she won't be able to walk at all due to legs numbess/stiffness. So it's either you stand up earlier for the stop or you miss your stop totally. The only exception is bus interchange where one can sit till bus totally stops.

Can only conclude that it's no joke to age. We don't know what the seniors are going through and even seniors themselves might not know. Once you age, things that you used to be able to handle easily now seems so difficult.

Thanks for sharin. Public can't see some "invisible health conditions" e.g. early pregnancy mums, elderly impaired vision, Sbs/Smrt can let them wear lanyard/sticker if they wish, so public give them seats. But "pretenders" pls dont abuse it.

Drivers maybe unaware if elderly is ALONE becos many people board together.// Its good if public notice "frail alone elderly" can nicely alert driver.

orlengtao

I used to ask the same question, why do old folks like to stand up before the bus stop... till I met my old neighbour on bus.

She told me her legs numb when sit down for long. Because of the numbness she need time for her legs to recover and the best time is when the bus is about to stop. When the bus arrived at the bus stop, her legs might have recovered a little so that she could slowly walk to exit to alight. If she sits till the bus stops totally, she won't be able to walk at all due to legs numbess/stiffness. So it's either you stand up earlier for the stop or you miss your stop totally. The only exception is bus interchange where one can sit till bus totally stops.

Can only conclude that it's no joke to age. We don't know what the seniors are going through and even seniors themselves might not know. Once you age, things that you used to be able to handle easily now seems so difficult.
Agree, my previous comment probably nv think of this. Haiz, then what can be done? Also not easy for both driver and passenger

dexboi

leg numb is probably just an excuse.
99.9% got up early and walked to Exit.
plus, they can't wait to press bell even before bus leaves the bay for next stop!

i've also seen big belly pregnant mums going upstairs on double deckers.
the old folks downstairs saw and started murmuring away "aiyooo she ..."
oh well. nothing we can do, it's their action, their responsibility.

Eddedd

aiya, the drivers they employed, whether from middle earth, motherland or bolehland, all drive like F1 racers one, zam break like stepping on xiaoqiangs

pwongkk

Don't blame the drivers, at that age he should be comfortably be able to Grab anywhere, their legs are too weak to even balance at the slightest turn and he must be those kiasu boomer who cannot wait until the bus stops before getting up to move to the door.

The elderly are no longer working, even the disgraced speaker said those working at 80 are exercising got kicked out.

They have to control their expenses, grab has surge pricing, buses do not. Whether young or old, the bus driver has the responsibility over his passengers.

I take buses in the 80s and 90s and more recently now since my kids take over my car. Certainly very different in the driving style.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.