Man outraged by $0.50 charge for Styrofoam box at Ang Mo Kio stall: 'It should be free'

EDMW-Hates-Me

Actually can don't pay and walk away what. Or tell the auntie say no cash need go draw coz he thought the box no need money. Pay Liao then complain is machiam you go for a hooker and you saw is chui but still up Liao then complain fugly

Both are f'ked up, customer can just walk away if he thinks 50 cents is too much, buy liao then whine for what?

Styrofoam box where got 50 cents de, siao.

Awareness lah. You wanna make the mistake yourself then learn? More hawkers might play this stunt if no one kpkb.

seems like the shop usually dont use Styrofoam boxes for tabao, but he insisted so they charge him 9696.

dont see anything wrong there, you request for out of normal service, you pay out of normal pricing. :D

Why don't tell him that's 50cents more early?

HWANGCHEOLBUM

Actually charging for takeaway is nonsense. You know how cheap the plastic are when bought in bulk? Then why didn’t the stall charge dining customers for washing fee? :s13:

SOS9112001

My favourite chai png stall still provide free soup le. The stall owner even remind me to scoop deeper for the green vegetables in there....

disavowed

Should charge so people bring their own containers more environmentally friendly

rjgiggs

Should charge so people bring their own containers more environmentally friendly

I think the rich people don't have a problem being environmentally friendly. Drive big cars, can bring many containers and their own bags to supermarkets cos only need to carry a while.

I don't carry any containers, because my bag is heavy with carrying my laptop, my files my chargers etc, and i don't carry extra bags because my bag no space. Do i want to be environmentally friendly? Sure. Can i afford/ do i want to pay more to be environmentally friendly? Prob not

SOS9112001

Environmental friendly is just an excuse for unscrupulous entities to improve their returns.

Genuine environmental friendly entities would promote the cause quietly.

only_lonely

This Styrofoam box just at most 3 cents only.
Only sg like to charge this. Any else where oversea always give it foc.

GoneNuts

The worst type of hawker is insist that charge u 20c for the container when you saw that there is an option for the normal plastic bag(kopi bag) next to it.

Then they tell u is becos covid..

huphoe

sebei got balls charge 50c for box , please support cai png instead of this stall instead

kiryu86

moral of the story, dun eat vegan food, they are known to be calculative,

disavowed

I think the rich people don't have a problem being environmentally friendly. Drive big cars, can bring many containers and their own bags to supermarkets cos only need to carry a while.

I don't carry any containers, because my bag is heavy with carrying my laptop, my files my chargers etc, and i don't carry extra bags because my bag no space. Do i want to be environmentally friendly? Sure. Can i afford/ do i want to pay more to be environmentally friendly? Prob not

Sinkie like to give many many excuse...1 plastic bag in ur bag also no space?

Soulhacker

To be fair time ish bad nao for many peasants, 50c ish really a lot to pay as extra cost for a meal. Moi would be unhappy too if they didn't up front mentioned that the stoopid box will cost 50c more, especially if there ish no other alternatives for take away like the good old traditional oil paper packing. Not to mention that plastic container are charge at 20c by most stalls so how can styrofoam box cost 50c, if styrofoam really cost more (which moi doubt so) then just switch to plastic container.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.