Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every afternoon

SINGAPORE: A man took to social media to vent about a big mistake he made when buying his HDB flat — its sun-facing orientation.
In a recent post on the r/askSingapore Reddit forum, he talked about his regret, saying that his flat basically turns into an oven from noon onwards, making it super uncomfortable to even hang out in the living room.
“Me and my wife were sold by the view of the unit. When we were at the viewing. Aircon is on as usual. However, after purchasing and signing the OTP. I realised it has the western sun!!!” he exclaimed.
“Now every afternoon between 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. We are BBQ-ed. To the extent that I even got a heat rash in my living room while playing a game.”
Still, despite the sweltering afternoons, the man said he and his wife “love the flat” because everything else is perfect, and that they “can live with this one regret”.

The Independent Singapore

tnoosrdpeS9fds a00gt1l5a50fc7eg8tu9r:31aa0 YaM4eyi4i gA932ig ·

https://www.facebook.com/#
Well, that's a classic case of "should've thought of that before buying, huh?" Maybe they can start a new trend of outdoor cooking indoors! Or invest in some heavy-duty curtains. Lesson learned, I guess!
Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every afternoon

theindependent.sg
Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every

grevq80o

SINGAPORE: A man took to social media to vent about a big mistake he made when buying his HDB flat — its sun-facing orientation.
In a recent post on the r/askSingapore Reddit forum, he talked about his regret, saying that his flat basically turns into an oven from noon onwards, making it super uncomfortable to even hang out in the living room.
“Me and my wife were sold by the view of the unit. When we were at the viewing. Aircon is on as usual. However, after purchasing and signing the OTP. I realised it has the western sun!!!” he exclaimed.
“Now every afternoon between 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. We are BBQ-ed. To the extent that I even got a heat rash in my living room while playing a game.”
Still, despite the sweltering afternoons, the man said he and his wife “love the flat” because everything else is perfect, and that they “can live with this one regret”.

Well, that's a classic case of "should've thought of that before buying, huh?" Maybe they can start a new trend of outdoor cooking indoors! Or invest in some heavy-duty curtains. Lesson learned, I guess!

theindependent.sg
Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every
This also agent is to blame. I also kena same situation. Lucky ish my bed room kena bbq and I can use Aircon at night to mitigate. And the windows of my house is NS direction, so very windy

coyote

theindependent.sg

Why he and his wife are both not working from 4-6pm everyday?

champion09

theindependent.sg
basic compass reading also dont know. this is 1 expensive mistake.

prudie

theindependent.sg
Both not working? 4-6pm most people in air conditioned office.

coyote

This also agent is to blame. I also kena same situation. Lucky ish my bed room kena bbq and I can use Aircon at night to mitigate. And the windows of my house is NS direction, so very windy

Wah lau eh. House is you own self buy one. Never check the facing of the unit before you buy and now you blame the agent??

Why never ask the facing of the unit before buying?

I hope ts is not those "smart" edmwers who bought properties without an agent and he's regretting now?

winningeleven

How about the wife ? Isn't she also supposed to give opinion on the purchasing of the flat . They should blame each other . Actually I don't see a big deal about it. my living room also facing the western sun too

He could install curtain or applied solar firm on his window .

tokong

Come on man, you can't install a blind and on the aircon?

Actually in the afternoons I will pull down the blinds, adjust the blade angle to about 45 degrees, I can have a nice nap even without the fan. The wind will blow in one lah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.