Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every afternoon

hachi

I thought every sinkie or rather everyone knows about effects of West sun.
LOL... You never know the amount of intellectual inside... Until he start to whine... Like those living punggol and sk.. Kbkp about the air plane noise....

Even the air base is there before their home... And the sun raise east to west...

Ethan_

Me NS facing, i see my opp neighbour l, kana sunlight throughout the day from mar to sep leh. You NS facing too?

east west kana sunlight throughout the year but only half day
Erm, not sure what weird logic is that. House design problem?

Typical normal regular shape house (those odd one asides) the facing and back is where the main opening like windows and door are. Regardless of which direction, a house need to have light coming in one, if not the house is always dark its not suitable or fit for living. Live liao also not healthy. Not really for the living.

But think there is a big difference between NS light and EW light. NS the sun is often above or at the side, thus the light only come in slightly through the openings at an angle.

A slight difference perhaps may be that in different half of the year the sun position tend shift abit NS, with one half of the year the sun shift toward the north more, thus getting more light in from the north. And another half of they year the sun shift toward the south more, thus getting more light in from the south.

But regardless, the light get in is not so direct, so the heat not so much. And often the seasonal breeze is more from NS direction one, provided there is no blocking. Thus the house is relative cooling still.

But EW light is different. Its can pierce through and through the house during different time of the day when at lower height. And get really much more hotter when higher up in the sky. The sun can really get into the house, and thus more harsh. The more direct light that gets into the house think also tend heats up the house more.

V_for_Vanilla

Location, location and location, facing not important

View is actually more important than facing. In condo launches if the best view is west facing, the developer will put the prime and most expensive units facing west.

hachi

View is actually more important than facing. In condo launches if the best view is west facing, the developer will put the prime and most expensive units facing west.
During my bto got a chance. Can choose west facing to landed enclave unblocked. Or NS facing, looking at other people window.

Chosen NS facing. Coz west facing is terrible.

lampano

from my experience, view is more impt to buyers, esp 1st /2nd time buyers
buying home is more of emotional > rational impulse.

Kegler

1. Solarfilm on windows
2. Blackout curtain (not the usual curtains, it's those total black out of the room, triple layer
3. Aircon if u sleep in the room

Singapore is hot generally, west sun just adds salt to wound, if u stay high rise with unblock view. It's really hard to avoid it totally

I have smart black out curtains that auto close everyday after 4pm for my bedroom

the_dog

I've been to some West facing units with river/ water views. No doubt is nice view but gets doubly hot with both afternoon sun plus the reflection and glare from the water

V_for_Vanilla

from my experience, view is more impt to buyers, esp 1st /2nd time buyers
buying home is more of emotional or rational impulse.
View is important. But it may not be permanent. So buyers need to also find out from government plans whether that view will in future be diminished from future developments.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.