Manipulating perception

Phrajile

I'm sure every party sites this to some extent but the latest antic by WP has left me flabbergasted.

Seriously? This type of tactic seems to be just a means to manipulate perception.

WP shows a 1 page doc saying Punggol East was in deficit, demanding to know where the money went to.

PAP responded, detailing the breakdown of monies and highlighted that the 1 page doc was missing other relevant data that showed that there was a surplus.

WP replied saying they will issue a response in due time.

Means what? They raise a stink and try to rouse emotions but reserve the right to acknowledge they were wrong about the 1 page doc after the elections?

Taking the middle page of an accounting doc and taking it as the final findings is just amateurish and really does call into question their ability to manage financial accounts.

That's really cheap and low. Low... hey that's someone's surname too!

simplelifez

That page wp brought is p&l with full signature. Aka conclusion

That page pappy brought is notes without signature.

Answer is gray now on who is right and wrong

tkk97

There are no Saints and Angels in Politics !

Both will fight to the death for their own political agenda. :D

dxdx999

Ts pls don't self pwn

Pap was the one who took, literally as well, the middle page there and claimed that it made sense.

While showing the p&l is not conclusive, it is enough to draw a conclusion.

Showing notes to bs that were alr accounted for in the P&L, is purely misleading ppl.

Sent from the black sea using GAGT

tkk97

Why not call DPM Teo, Charles and Zainal hold a Press Conference together with Big Four Accouting Auditors !
Let's have Accounting 101 nation-wide education.

:D

whitegenki

I'm sure every party sites this to some extent but the latest antic by WP has left me flabbergasted.

Seriously? This type of tactic seems to be just a means to manipulate perception.

WP shows a 1 page doc saying Punggol East was in deficit, demanding to know where the money went to.

PAP responded, detailing the breakdown of monies and highlighted that the 1 page doc was missing other relevant data that showed that there was a surplus.

Means what? They raise a stink and try to rouse emotions but reserve the right to acknowledge they were wrong about the 1 page doc after the elections?

Taking the middle page of an accounting doc and taking it as the final findings is just amateurish and really does call into question their ability to manage financial accounts.

LOL at this article. Wanna attack at oppies, better come more prepared. Or mayb u dunno how to read FY reports?
Try using a cheque without a signature.
:s22: :s22:

flybynight

Aiyah it happens everywhere and not just in politics. Surely you only highlight your achievements and not failings during appraisal right?

VoteWisely

Erm did u see what the pap show

Because what the pap showed didnt refuted wp's point. The money is still missing. In fact make it worse

Zainal now say there's $20k surplus. Charles chong said theres a $1m surplus.

Theres a missing $980k here.

There is a reason why charles chong dont dare to say yes yesterday when the reporter ask him if LTK is lying.

Phrajile

Seriously lah.

I say something critical about WP = IB? Please lah. Ppl say oppo supporters follow blindly. Why prove them right? If I'm really IB then you give pap more credit than they deserve, plant me since my join date lol.

Fact 1 - WP produced a document claiming pap wrong
Fact 2 - pap refuted claims with other figures, claiming WP wrong
Fact 3 - WP does not immediately respond to this

I would have expected that WP would have understood the figures fully before announcing it, meaning they should have expected pap to reply with those figures. That they seem to be caught offguard is surprising with no immediate response.

Were they hoping for an easy win?

BioProEng

i am surprised WP responded they will answer in due time..... you just go ask any accountant on the issue, and see their replies.....

the WP P&L and PAP BS statement speaks for themselves....

BioProEng

Seriously lah.

I say something critical about WP = IB? Please lah. Ppl say oppo supporters follow blindly. Why prove them right? If I'm really IB then you give pap more credit than they deserve, plant me since my join date lol.

Fact 1 - WP produced a document claiming pap wrong
Fact 2 - pap refuted claims with other figures, claiming WP wrong
Fact 3 - WP does not immediately respond to this

I would have expected that WP would have understood the figures fully before announcing it, meaning they should have expected pap to reply with those figures. That they seem to be caught offguard is surprising with no immediate response.

Were they hoping for an easy win?

the media can just ask any big 4 to comment on this, to clarify who is right who is wrong....

and we know media is biased, by not doing this 'clarification', you know the answer liao... need further explaination?

Phrajile

TS mia liao? come in continue discuss leh....

:o

Discuss simi? Lol think i so free surf ednw 24/7 ah?

Anyway i stated facts. U posted speculations. Why don't you ask media why they didn't clarify. Lack of any action to support a cause does not automatically mean it's against it.

That seems to be a common theme in sg politics from all parties. Still so amateurish.

BioProEng

Discuss simi? Lol think i so free surf ednw 24/7 ah?

Anyway i stated facts. U posted speculations. Why don't you ask media why they didn't clarify. Lack of any action to support a cause does not automatically mean it's against it.

That seems to be a common theme in sg politics from all parties. Still so amateurish.

you the one who wants to find out...

tell you how to find out liao.......

but blame me for speculating.......

why not you go ask around and then talk about it?

this type accounting issue mah, best go ask your accounting friends.... surely you have one to two friends know poa etc wan bah

sparespares

Actually, this is good/deliberate tactic from WP. PAP is so naive, now had to go on defensive of PE accounts. In the meantime, discussion on Aljunied TC accounts is no longer being discussed...

Kiwi8

U are wrong leh. The ball now is in PAP's court. Mr Low said at yesterday's rally that now it's PAP's turn to explain how it got the $1m surplus in PAP-held Punggol East SMC before handing over to WP leh.

mgx-alander

if u dun understand how to read a financial statement, then just diam diam.

if u know how to read, go and dig out the whole set of report and analyze for urself. My CFA friend tells me Pappy is wrong and WP is correct on the deficit.

the 22.5 mil goes to the sinking funds on the balance sheet, not P/L, technically P/L when they took over was -282k

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.