Manual car qns

Beepok

when see red light, just go in n gear without clutch and brake right? is it correct method?

chunlianghere

by rite is down gear use engine brake.

but wat i observe most people jus brake, than clutch in n neutral.

PrOfAtSiR

Depends on your speed lah.
if 70km downslope,you put N and step brake meh?

If on flat road,approaching junction,speed 20km/h,use brake loh.

btw,we are suppose to slow down at every junction.

sunsetbay

i will gear down to gear 2, brake then neutral~ if clear road ahead, i will put to neutral and roll~ :s22:

vaxvms

for me neutral and last min braking if i intend to stop
if mindset chiong , down gear and hoot liao

Stallone

Down gear 5.4.3 all the while with light braking..

Once engine brake no longer effective, put to neutral n make a gentle stop.

I hate hard braking drivers, shows their lack of control

fone

By school teaching is to down gear and engine brake plus pedal brakes. However, I believe these are from the era where cars have all drum brakes. As drum brakes will lose their effectiveness as it gets hotter, the idea was to use as much of the engine braking as possible so as to maintain the temperature of the drum brakes. As a novice, it is always good to know how to do engine braking as there might be times your brakes fail, this is where engine braking becomes useful.

However, there is another school of thought where engine and transmission is for moving and brakes are for braking. Would you like to wear out your engine / transmission for braking and subsequently an expensive replacement or simply wear out the brake pads which are relatively cheap. This problem might be more prominent elsewhere, where their cars can drive until the end of life, as opposed to only 10 years here. Also depends on how often you go for change of engine oil, as engine braking would definitely increase the number of engine rotations as opposed to idle plus brake.

braking would wear out your gears and other parts.

warr

you shift down if it is a long distance. you wanna slow down first. you see red light and possibly the red light may turn green when you approach.

but for most situations, the red light is close, so just brake and then clutch in. then shift to gear 1 when going again.

EightTales

Down gear 5.4.3 all the while with light braking..

Once engine brake no longer effective, put to neutral n make a gentle stop.

I hate hard braking drivers, shows their lack of control
i hate those brake damn hard from far, leaving like 3 cars length in front of them then slowly roll forward.
knn damn dulan when i follow behind them. always very tempted to just go next lane and cut back in cause there's sooo much space

pew

I would just neutral and roll from far far away and slowly brake.
Bad old man habit

RuOnline

I just step brake till gonna stop than put neutral. Nth wrong with this kind of braking pattern. It's like braking an auto car.

SimonLam

That's why nowadays I don't drive manual - Jin troublesome and extremely tired in jams :)

devilcup

theory, down a gear at a time base on speed and judgement til stop.

practically, i just clutch in and brake with gear still in shift, if i can speed up and start going, i just down the gear accordingly to the speed and move on.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.