Mapletree Industrial Trust *Official* (SGX: ME8U)

BlessChwee

There are REIT ETF and ETF mutual fund. So you buy them is as though you buy many REITs in one transaction. But then returns and dividends of cuz lower than the specific stock itself. Just sharing an alternative to get exposed to REIT via ETF and mutual fund instead of the individual REIT stock.
THANKS can I know where can I buy these ETF

Andrew833

I think it's better for you to learn and understand what is the different between REITs/Stock/ETF/Unit Trust before you start buying. It is not as easy as buy and forget.

sohguanh

In very layman term. ETF and mutual fund represent a basket of stocks. So if you buy this single entity your monies are "indirectly" buying all the stocks.

E.g ETF123 inside will comprise of REIT1, REIT2, REIT3 etc
So if you buy ETF123 you indirectly buy all of them.

ETF is traded in exchange like individual REIT stock. So how you buy stock is same as how you buy ETF. E,g SGX NikkoAM-STC Asia REIT (CFA) is one such ETF. It got give dividends also but now ETF laosai non-stop.

Mutual fund (unit trust) same idea but you don't buy from exchange. You can go through FSM, poems, dollarDex etc platform that offer that.

Conclusion buy one entity with many stocks inside spread out your risk but also returns too. I have tried both and I think depend your monies how you want to invest. Can invest individual REIT stock or ETF or both also can. But if say your capital very tight I think ETF better. Imagine you put X dollars it go and buy so many REIT inside compared to you go and buy REIT1, REIT2, REIT3 separately that one capital cost a lot. But in terms of returns individual REIT stock maybe better.

NinjaStars

There should be ample opportunities to buy from market over the next few trading sessions to buy at a price below 2.50. With low cost brokerages, it may be cheaper to buy from market than to take scrip.

BaChorMee

There should be ample opportunities to buy from market over the next few trading sessions to buy at a price below 2.50. With low cost brokerages, it may be cheaper to buy from market than to take scrip.

I agreed. Some more REITs days are over. Now subscriptions, offerings seems like getting more and more common with less cash outflow and higher interest rates. When I received such letters in the mail box, I get very worried. I still remember the last Mapletree Logistics preferential offer price was $1.80 and market price went below PO price just a few days after the PO subscription ends.

I remember for this Mapletree Industrial, there was also a round of PO last year 2021. Anyone remember what was the price?

Andrew833

I agreed. Some more REITs days are over. Now subscriptions, offerings seems like getting more and more common with less cash outflow and higher interest rates. When I received such letters in the mail box, I get very worried. I still remember the last Mapletree Logistics preferential offer price was $1.80 and market price went below PO price just a few days after the PO subscription ends.

I remember for this Mapletree Industrial, there was also a round of PO last year 2021. Anyone remember what was the price?
I think last year.
My thought, a REIT need to acquire property to grow revenue. If a REIT never acquire any property so no right issue and also mean little grow. I think it's better to understand how a REIT work before you buy it.

sohguanh

Oh i googled ... found cfa abt 4% 😄
This ETF is every 3 months give dividends. If you want every month give dividend got one mutual fund inside all mostly REITs but not the same REITs. Manulife Global Fund - Asia Pacific REIT S (G) MDIST SGD-H and it is about 5% and in FSM $100 can buy in already but hor FSM got charge quarterly platform fee (0.0875% every quarter of your AUM) vs you buy from SGX is one-off fees. But if say you want to every month buy the SGX ETF the fees also add up actually. So ownself do your maths.

Last time my thinking is since the mutual fund got give dividends then use this to cover the quarterly platform fee but ETF investor told me mutual fund expense very high long term eat into your profits.

If you interested to pay $1000 or $100 buy many ETF in one transaction below all 3 mutual fund top holdings mostly ETF
Eastspring Investments - Global Market Navigator AS SGD-H
Fullerton Dynamic Strategies - Aggressive A SGD
HSBC Portfolios - World Selection 5 AMH SGD

angcheek

This ETF is every 3 months give dividends. If you want every month give dividend got one mutual fund inside all mostly REITs but not the same REITs. Manulife Global Fund - Asia Pacific REIT S (G) MDIST SGD-H and it is about 5% and in FSM $100 can buy in already but hor FSM got charge quarterly platform fee (0.0875% every quarter of your AUM) vs you buy from SGX is one-off fees. But if say you want to every month buy the SGX ETF the fees also add up actually. So ownself do your maths.

Last time my thinking is since the mutual fund got give dividends then use this to cover the quarterly platform fee but ETF investor told me mutual fund expense very high long term eat into your profits.

If you interested to pay $1000 or $100 buy many ETF in one transaction below all 3 mutual fund top holdings mostly ETF
Eastspring Investments - Global Market Navigator AS SGD-H
Fullerton Dynamic Strategies - Aggressive A SGD
HSBC Portfolios - World Selection 5 AMH SGD

Thank you for tour kind sharing . Good info for newbies like me 😄

sohguanh

Thank you for tour kind sharing . Good info for newbies like me 😄
Here a lot of ppl talk until very good but you need to know for individual stock capital is high at least to me. I always look for cheap and good. Hokkien say want cheap, want fresh, want live nearby. So you see I always look for $100 can buy in investment. If you $100 also dun have then have to buy Toto,4D,horse racing already. So far I cannot find investment less than $100 except for FSM ETF RSP is at $50.

So if later you find lobang investment less than $50 can invest already can pls share ok? I share so much already.

angcheek

Here a lot of ppl talk until very good but you need to know for individual stock capital is high at least to me. I always look for cheap and good. Hokkien say want cheap, want fresh, want live nearby. So you see I always look for $100 can buy in investment. If you $100 also dun have then have to buy Toto,4D,horse racing already. So far I cannot find investment less than $100 except for FSM ETF RSP is at $50.

So if later you find lobang investment less than $50 can invest already can pls share ok? I share so much already.
So far i have not buy etf directly... except those from Sfye and stachaway. I set aside 50k but problem is dont know where to dump 😅 ... sg stock moved slow. US stock up and down like yo yo ... 🙄 . What u think abt goog stock ? Can buy befare split or after ?

sohguanh

So far i have not buy etf directly... except those from Sfye and stachaway. I set aside 50k but problem is dont know where to dump 😅 ... sg stock moved slow. US stock up and down like yo yo ... 🙄 . What u think abt goog stock ? Can buy befare split or after ?
First you need to find out what kind of investment instrument are you comfortable with.
1. Syfe, SA are robo-advisors you put monies they help you play and in return they get some fees from you
2. Individual stock and ETF playing is the same in stock exchanges. The only diff already tell you that ONE ETF inside is many companies inside.
3. Assume you go for option 2 above own-self DIY but the stock/ETF you ask which country good is it? Here many ppl talk big about US stock becuz they say US long term share price sure go up for those big names.

So please assess what kind of investment instrument you want to go in first. After understand the risks, then go to relevant thread ask the experts inside. Some very kind share a lot of info.

This is my last post on this as it is going away from the original thread topic Mapletree Industrial Trust already . You may want open new thread so it is clean.

Andrew833

US stock up and down very, not for newbie. I also make mistake stepping into US market for a free Apple share.
SG stock slow but stable.
It's depend on what you want to invest.
Growth stock = capital gain.
Dividend stock = dividend + capital gain. (slow and boring but dividend still more than cpf 2.5%)
Stock picking actually not that difficult, what difficult is buying and selling.

angcheek

US stock up and down very, not for newbie. I also make mistake stepping into US market for a free Apple share.
SG stock slow but stable.
It's depend on what you want to invest.
Growth stock = capital gain.
Dividend stock = dividend + capital gain. (slow and boring but dividend still more than cpf 2.5%)
Stock picking actually not that difficult, what difficult is buying and selling.

Thanks for the sharing . Do you buy US div stock ? I think i need to cater 30% off the withholding tax.
US stock can suka suka up .. suka suka down 😅 some wulu wulu stocks also can up afew folds when books all red red ... 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️
Many stocks had up 2 , 3 folds in just 1
Past 1 yr ... now money printing stop , wonder how it will affect the stocks 🤔

Andrew833

Thanks for the sharing . Do you buy US div stock ? I think i need to cater 30% off the withholding tax.
US stock can suka suka up .. suka suka down 😅 some wulu wulu stocks also can up afew folds when books all red red ... 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️
Many stocks had up 2 , 3 folds in just 1
Past 1 yr ... now money printing stop , wonder how it will affect the stocks 🤔
I only buy US growth stock. If that stock give dividend, will less 30% tax.
Dividend stock buy SG better.

yongtauf00

Was thinking to take partial scrip and cash
After reading recent posts, think I'll take cash instead
Moi holding only 600 shares lol. Newbie

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.