Maradona era... which players do u like most?

zeebjii

Its a diff game now.

The games now are more scientific and tactical..

In maradona’s time, it was just pure skill.

you can say the same for basketball. i hated jordan, but i felt very lucky to watch his duels with my idol magic johnson, when live nba was free on tv!

Architeck

Sibei sad. It's like watching a human chess grandmaster lose to a cold calculating AI that wins by brute force

Chess AI wins by running millions of moves and resultant scenarios data that are pre-programmed into its brain.

A chess grandmaster wins using the same thing, only at a smaller scale. What makes humans good in chess is their ability to run historical moves and scenarios in their head. There is zero artistry or creativity involved.

But when a computer does the same thing obviously it does it better.

So your chess analogy to modern football tactics vs olden football tactics does not work.

matey1982

in the 80s

no VAR
pitch quality was no whr near the level tt professional players get to play on
protection from referee from the persistent/niggling fouling
to think DM was amongst the most fouled player in WC history in recent times

if in the modern football game, think the closest thing to DM is LM

DM has the sole world cup plus some cup trophies during his best spell in European club football whilst @ Napoli

LM on the other hand is the bucket loads of club trophies with Barca
and 2 olympic gold soccer medal
but no WC trophies

so each have its merits/support

SMLJMIW

Chess AI wins by running millions of moves and resultant scenarios data that are pre-programmed into its brain.

A chess grandmaster wins using the same thing, only at a smaller scale. What makes humans good in chess is their ability to run historical moves and scenarios in their head. There is zero artistry or creativity involved.

But when a computer does the same thing obviously it does it better.

So your chess analogy to modern football tactics vs olden football tactics does not work.

I thought there is leh but you must be a chess grandmaster in order to explain this so conclusively with such an air of finality until I feel there is no more hope for creativity liao

Rip.... Creativity and the hooman race

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.