May 2013 BTO

Densocool

Ya lor, i am 23, been working quite stable for 2 years, with my gf 2 years working already, we straight aim 5 room, at cck, initially wanted sky peak 4 rm, but then didnt get it, then we realize it might be a blessing in disguise, because with the 4rm price, i can get a 5 rm in cck, though location, height and stuff lose out, but at least we have more space. if nth goes wrong, should not be a problem affording it. haha so if you guys can afford, please dun go for 3 rooms, surely will regret,

This I agree, min get a good 4 roomer in a nice location or settle for a 5 room with fair price, never get 3 roomers unless for specific reasons.

ParkJinYoung

when i got my current place, we just whack the biggest.
which was an EA

lucky cpf just enough to cover :o
although higher price, but the space is....
don't say 2persons dont need so big, but given a choice, who dun want bigger

BigCheri

Alot of things to consider though. You get big house, you need to pay alot every month. Then you think of having children but scared later cannot afford. Keep dragging and dragging, by the time 35 years old consider risky already. I applied 3 room cos my hubby sole bread winner. And I only have a daughter. If really lets say i ballot till the flat and in between I got no 2, 5 years later sell away buy resales lor. I at first also think buy bigger better so in future no need move alr. But you see the bto now, all so small, how not to move in future? Just my opinion :)

markopolo

when i got my current place, we just whack the biggest.
which was an EA

lucky cpf just enough to cover :o
although higher price, but the space is....
don't say 2persons dont need so big, but given a choice, who dun want bigger

Haha yeah, i thinking converting one room to a walk in wardrobe, when we 2 person, let my girl happy abit. ahha, but when family size gets bigger, den maybe must renovate abit, one kid still can, got one more spare room, if 2 den shall see haha, nobody will complain too big. I went to a friend house for house warming, she told me it was 5 room, i see and see and see, dun look like 5 room at all haah

d3fc0n

applied for SOBF 4rm punggol.. wan 5rm but CPF cannot cover... hope to get a good que.. aiming at punngol sapphire or punngol residence..

kindaichi24

Hey guys.. if the ratio is 2, it means every one unit have 2 ppl fighting for it? The chance will be 50-50?? Pls correct me if im wrong

csoyzx

applied for SOBF 4rm punggol.. wan 5rm but CPF cannot cover... hope to get a good que.. aiming at punngol sapphire or punngol residence..
future neighbor spotted.. btw punggol sapphire got 1 loft for sale.. can try lol

Nic_Nat

Agree with BigCheri. 3rm isn't a bad choice in our opinion too.

1) If one could afford to pay off much of the buying price...or better still pay 100%, saving on the interest, then won't you think it is great?

2)Whatever CPF contributed thereon will be for our old age use instead of paying for the interest, be it as a saving for our old age or to pay for our own medical bills, thus lessening the burden on our kids in future.

3)Shld either of us is unemployed, at least we dun have to worry about the monthly installment to HDB.

4) Of coz it depends on the no. of ppl staying. We have 2 girls so 2 bedrooms are just nice. One for them one for us.

5)Small unit also means less upkeep, which is good as we grow older...hehehe...not to mention cosier.

Well, end of the day, we prefer to live with lesser liabilities...tho no doubt it comes with some sacrification. But we are happy as it is :)

Just to share.

d3n

Agree with BigCheri. 3rm isn't a bad choice in our opinion too.

1) If one could afford to pay off much of the buying price...or better still pay 100%, saving on the interest, then won't you think it is great?

2)Whatever CPF contributed thereon will be for our old age use instead of paying for the interest, be it as a saving for our old age or to pay for our own medical bills, thus lessening the burden on our kids in future.

3)Shld either of us is unemployed, at least we dun have to worry about the monthly installment to HDB.

4) Of coz it depends on the no. of ppl staying. We have 2 girls so 2 bedrooms are just nice. One for them one for us.

5)Small unit also means less upkeep, which is good as we grow older...hehehe...not to mention cosier.

Well, end of the day, we prefer to live with lesser liabilities...tho no doubt it comes with some sacrification. But we are happy as it is :)

Just to share.

good thinking. but for those who is looking to upgrade when they have more income... i say they get a bigger room now cos it may or maynot be cheaper next time. hard to tell.

for me, i definitely need a 4rm... cos 3rm too small for me.

i need a room for piano especially since my gf is teaching piano. :)

tatsit

my mom always tell me this, so long as the growth of property is higher than the interest, go ahead and take loan to buy. 5rm have the highest growth rate

chuan chuan

i m from enblock, if i buy 3rm i got money to take back, if 4rm i need to pay and pay...
at the end i picked 3rm because i still have 100k outstanding loan...many people say buy 4rm, later can sell and rent out...but i don't want...

4rm is very stressful to me...now i got a high floor and very fast full pay in clementi gateway...

d3n

my mom always tell me this, so long as the growth of property is higher than the interest, go ahead and take loan to buy. 5rm have the highest growth rate

5rm a bit over stretch for me.

cos i am 11 years older then my gf (me 34 this year)... she just got her pr so just started contributing CPF only... and if go by 20 year loan, i will be 59 by the time i finish the loan... if 30 year loan i will be 69... by then a bit tough for her to pay for the flat mostly by herself since by then i am already retired.

so... in our case, 4rm is more feasible for us. so we will not overstretch.

Gixxerfied

Dont need a jumbo living room for me..Quite comfortable on the size of a 4rm..Planning to have 1 kid only so one room reserve but before that, probably where my pc is gonna be..

The other extra room, might consider renting out. Amt from rental can cover utilities and have some left over which can be save up. Amt saved from nt paying utilities can also be save up for future stuff.

For my case, highly likely that i wont be upgrading. Might consider retiring back at my wife's hometown.

bearine

5rm a bit over stretch for me.

cos i am 11 years older then my gf (me 34 this year)... she just got her pr so just started contributing CPF only... and if go by 20 year loan, i will be 59 by the time i finish the loan... if 30 year loan i will be 69... by then a bit tough for her to pay for the flat mostly by herself since by then i am already retired.

so... in our case, 4rm is more feasible for us. so we will not overstretch.

That's true, but I'm sure u do save up abit every month. So before u retire shld be able to pay up the whole flat. And better still if your salary keep rising throughout the years..

d3n

That's true, but I'm sure u do save up abit every month. So before u retire shld be able to pay up the whole flat. And better still if your salary keep rising throughout the years..

saving up is another thing but then cannot all the money goes into the house... we need some small luxury like once a year holiday etc... cos when u grow older, alot of place u cannot go anymore. :D

d3n

For my case, highly likely that i wont be upgrading. Might consider retiring back at my wife's hometown.

sians i also thinking... if can... migrate to australia... else see which other country... my gf hometown not so safe. :D

Gixxerfied

saving up is another thing but then cannot all the money goes into the house... we need some small luxury like once a year holiday etc... cos when u grow older, alot of place u cannot go anymore. :D

Same here..Still will try to have that once a year holiday..Just that cannot spurge on stuff as and when niax..

sians i also thinking... if can... migrate to australia... else see which other country... my gf hometown not so safe. :D

I know...My wife's hometown luckily is a more chinese dominated location..And crime rates relatively low there..

ParkJinYoung

i m from enblock, if i buy 3rm i got money to take back, if 4rm i need to pay and pay...
at the end i picked 3rm because i still have 100k outstanding loan...many people say buy 4rm, later can sell and rent out...but i don't want...

4rm is very stressful to me...now i got a high floor and very fast full pay in clementi gateway...

so fast pay finish, wait yr OA stucked if cant hit min sum

chuan chuan

so fast pay finish, wait yr OA stucked if cant hit min sum

pay full before 55, right? 1 of my AMK friend said , some of his neighbour brought 4rm , their CPF OA stucked when reached 55 and need to pay cash for their housing loan...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.