May 2013 BTO

d3n

Not sure if this is good news or bad news to those who applied for the May BTO.

It was a different story for Build-To-Order (BTO) flats which received 4,882 applications for the 4,900 units on offer.

With at an application rate of one applicant for each unit on offer, this could possibly be the lowest rate ever. The application rate in the January BTO exercise was 3.8 and 3.1 in the March BTO exercise.

Analysts said location could have been a big factor.

The BTO projects launched in May are located in non-mature estates and seem less attractive compared to the balance flats that are being offered in mature estates.

Mr Lim added accessibility is also an issue with projects not located near MRT stations.

Colin Tan, research head at Chesterton Suntec International said he is not surprised that the project in the relatively better established Hougang saw the strongest demand.

There were about four applicants for each four-room unit on offer.

"Even though the units in the mature estates cost a lot more, they still attract a lot more applicants. When someone buys a home, they look at its entirety in terms of convenience, location, and even capital appreciation. Although they are priced a lot higher, people see that there may be more upside for units in the mature estates," said Mr Tan.

Strong demand for HDB's latest Sales of Balance Flats - Channel NewsAsia

JW location is not that bad... its quite near to Lakeside MRT (but the map looks far so its not accurate). There is in fact 2 bus stops... one just outside the BTO... which goes directly to JE MRT, JEM etc. The other bus stop, u got to walk like 5-10 mins to the main small road, to take bus to Lakeside MRT which is 3 stops away.

Nearby also have lots of kopitiam, markets and hawker centers.

i think location wise, sembawang is the worst, as its a new estate being built up. So lack of amenities within the area is expected.

Gixxerfied

JW location is not that bad... its quite near to Lakeside MRT (but the map looks far so its not accurate). There is in fact 2 bus stops... one just outside the BTO... which goes directly to JE MRT, JEM etc. The other bus stop, u got to walk like 5-10 mins to the main small road, to take bus to Lakeside MRT which is 3 stops away.

Nearby also have lots of kopitiam, markets and hawker centers.

i think location wise, sembawang is the worst, as its a new estate being built up. So lack of amenities within the area is expected.

Bro, pm chiu about camera stuff..

d3n

I stay opp the sembawang May 13 BTO all i can say is its in the middle of Yishun and Sembawang MRT. NO amenities, far from MRT and only has bus 169 going to yishun mrt. nearby there is nothing except other BTOs that have been build. so that bus stop will be cramped like sardines because nearby there are at least few blocks of flat being build and are ready soon. They are near sembawang CC.

thats why good luck to those applied for sembawang :s22:

somemore take up rate so low... even if they go ahead and build... with less then 50% occupancy rate... the government is not going to do anything to improve traffic condition there. :s13: rem buangkok mrt was closed for very long before it opened...

d3n

Final applications figure:

HDB InfoWEB e-Service : Flat Supply & Applications Received

JE 4rm as of now... 570... ratio of 2.1... still not that bad. means 2 applicants contesting a unit. still got quite high chance for me. =:p

Sembawang 4rm cui... less then half ... not sure what will happen cos 5rm still quite decent number of applicants...

Gixxerfied

d3fc0n

punngol 4rm first timer sobf 3.2.. :s22: secretly hope i dont get this.. den july bto for b.merah +1 chance :p

o0KelviN0o

so how many of you bao tio? looks like the sales of balance flats take away a lot of competition from you BTO applicants :)

d3n

so how many of you bao tio? looks like the sales of balance flats take away a lot of competition from you BTO applicants :)

i will say any ratio below 1 got at least 80% chance

below 2 got 50% chance

below 3 got 20% chance

above 3... maybe 5% chance.

Silly Gwenie

Drop my application for CCK...
128 units with ratio 1.0...
hopefully im not the Unlucky God!!!!!!
This is even worst than exam...

RedShoe

i will say any ratio below 1 got at least 80% chance

below 2 got 50% chance

below 3 got 20% chance

above 3... maybe 5% chance.

If ratio is below 1 then it should be 100% sure get already..

EmoFaith

Final applications figure:

HDB InfoWEB e-Service : Flat Supply & Applications Received

JE 4rm as of now... 570... ratio of 2.1... still not that bad. means 2 applicants contesting a unit. still got quite high chance for me. =:p

Sembawang 4rm cui... less then half ... not sure what will happen cos 5rm still quite decent number of applicants...

jus curious what it means sembawang 4 mr is overall 0.4 ratio and first timer is 0.1 ratio?

d3n

If ratio is below 1 then it should be 100% sure get already..

pai seh i got confused with first timer + second timer ratio with overall ratio... :x

yes u are right, if below 1 (overall ratio) is definitely will get.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.