Meatless Meals

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

plaingrain

Sweet potato leaves for tonight.
1000064963.jpg

Apparatus

Dear EDMW,

Usually I don't like to complain, but right now I just had a late lunch and I'm still feeling very hungry!

I am a self-employed, I work for my family business. Every year, my family embarks on a vegetarian lifestyle for more than one month whenever the Lunar Seventh Month approaches, so what I'm experiencing right now are meatless meals for the day. It's not stressful to go vegetarian, but I feel very hungry leh!

I just had a fantastic bowl of sweet potato porridge with bitter gourd, it's delicious! Yet, I just wish to eat some meat. I'm not sure how much longer I can last without going for my favourite McDonalds' McSpicy meal, but I'll try to stay meatless for as long as it takes. I started this thread because it's meaningless going vegetarian for myself, so I chose to share my meatless meals with you guys so that at least I attach some purpose to what I'm doing i.e. not eating meat.

1000064790.jpg

Hope you guys have a good dinner, I'll have leftover porridge and bitter gourd from my lunch so my dinner will be the same as my lunch. My grandmother used to tell me about how they survived on sweet potato leaves fried with chilli and plain porridge during the World War II Japanese Occupation, I feel a strong sense of nostalgia whenever I eat minimal meat and recall the histories that my grandparents taught me.

In my Buddhist tradition, Om Mani Padme Hum.

🙏

Why so difficult? Take vitamin and mineral pills can liao

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

plaingrain

My family's vegetarian recipe for Hing Hwa (Putien) vermicelli. I like the peanuts and the vermicelli, the seaweed is special but I usually can't finish it.

1000065058.jpg

BlackWing1977

Dear EDMW,

Usually I don't like to complain, but right now I just had a late lunch and I'm still feeling very hungry!

I am a self-employed, I work for my family business. Every year, my family embarks on a vegetarian lifestyle for more than one month whenever the Lunar Seventh Month approaches, so what I'm experiencing right now are meatless meals for the day. It's not stressful to go vegetarian, but I feel very hungry leh!

I just had a fantastic bowl of sweet potato porridge with bitter gourd, it's delicious! Yet, I just wish to eat some meat. I'm not sure how much longer I can last without going for my favourite McDonalds' McSpicy meal, but I'll try to stay meatless for as long as it takes. I started this thread because it's meaningless going vegetarian for myself, so I chose to share my meatless meals with you guys so that at least I attach some purpose to what I'm doing i.e. not eating meat.

1000064790.jpg

Hope you guys have a good dinner, I'll have leftover porridge and bitter gourd from my lunch so my dinner will be the same as my lunch. My grandmother used to tell me about how they survived on sweet potato leaves fried with chilli and plain porridge during the World War II Japanese Occupation, I feel a strong sense of nostalgia whenever I eat minimal meat and recall the histories that my grandparents taught me.

In my Buddhist tradition, Om Mani Padme Hum.

🙏
Even if you trying to go meatless you can still have better dishes.... like tofu dishes.. mock meat made from soy protein etc...

Nuclear Boy

chuck 2 slices of butter into the porridge....will keep you full.

butter come from milk.....milk cows don't get slaughtered for their meat....so you're in the clear.
But to make milk, the cows are constantly impregnated. The pregnancy, birth and milk-making are very taxing on their body. Some might even consider it abuse. That's why they shun dairy, out of ethical concerns.

bakuten

But to make milk, the cows are constantly impregnated. The pregnancy, birth and milk-making are very taxing on their body. Some might even consider it abuse. That's why they shun dairy, out of ethical concerns.
can get free range products, those won't have these ethical concerns.
the cows don't get pregnant by bulls if they aren't in heat...so there wont be any "consent" concerns.

plaingrain

Cannot tahan, been eating vegetarian for quite awhile and tonight really crave for some fish, so I went to Coffee Bean and ordered a spicy tuna spaghetti. Confess and express my own ineptitude.

Dopod007

You can supplement your protein intake by taking vegan protein powder which can be added to rolled oats or instant oats and add hot water and milk (option). Do blood test twice per year to check your red blood cells density and haemoglobin level. You need sufficient protein intake to maintain healthy red blood cells.

henghengonedragon

TS, I suggest nuts for snack if you feel hungry. Moi normally eat almond and walnuts.

Porridge is not really good because it gets digested too fast.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.