Median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650

junlove

Almost half is FT and PRs. Do we still need to ask questions?
Edmw is as old as your account. In the last 25 years, how questions were asked here?
yes, because lumping them into 'fixed' categories is just plain ignorance.
You can have your own experience, but to me there are certain percentage of citizens that are jiak liao bees and leeches to our society, while most are contributory.

There are bunch of hardworking wives and husbands PRs who are on route to becoming citizens, contribute to taxes and productivity for our local economy, why are we dumping them in the same category as FTs who just treat SG as pitstops? is 0.54 mil really that high compared to 3.64 mil citizen? i am more worried about how many of them become citizens and giving birth here actually.

Personally i think FT population is too huge, they are evergreen, we get older and older and harder to compete on 'own' grounds even...But hey, that's me. what'r your views?

coldish

yes, because lumping them into 'fixed' categories is just plain ignorance.
You can have your own experience, but to me there are certain percentage of citizens that are jiak liao bees and leeches to our society, while most are contributory.

There are bunch of hardworking wives and husbands PRs who are on route to becoming citizens, contribute to taxes and productivity for our local economy, why are we dumping them in the same category as FTs who just treat SG as pitstops? is 0.54 mil really that high compared to 3.64 mil citizen? i am more worried about how many of them become citizens and giving birth here actually.

Personally i think FT population is too huge, they are evergreen, we get older and older and harder to compete on 'own' grounds even...But hey, that's me. what'r your views?
Lumping or stereotyping because people are just sick and tired not because they think everyone deserve the same label.
They will always people who are hardworking, just like many of our forefathers who are migrants, settled down n such.

Does it mean we should eradicate all of them? No it is impossible n not right.
What people have been saying is the numbers are getting too big and many of them are not prim n proper in the first place.
Then again, PAP are pretending not to hear any of these so don't blame us for being 'plain ignorance'

Mecisteus

I'm born here, yes, in 40s and served longer than you think.

what has this got to do with the discussion? citizens need to understand there are indeed real purpose of the mix of PRs, Foreigners even, to propel singapore's economy. the issue is the % required, for sustainable growth without breaking the social fabric and adversely affecting our singaporean way of life and culture. We need a mix, but how much is the real qns.

So don't cast aspersion over them, ask the right questions instead.
Sinkies need to change their xenophobic mindset going forward.

Facts are
1) TFR is going down
2) Population is getting older
3) Sinkies are not prepared to pay more for their caipng

I think no great opposition or PAP can fix (1) in the next 10 years timeframe. No great EDMW can fix (1).

The only way to temporarily fix above is to keep a balance influx of foreigners so as to outpace rate of ageing. This is just straight econs 101.

So any good humans, foreigners or not, as long as they can contribute to this country and behave positively, they are welcome.

But the key is to strike a balance. Look from the perspectives of a business and non business. This is the job of our highly paid MIW.

fearlessImp

CPF ceiling is now 8k, so that already tell a lot about the market.
The number become larger only for exchanging things in this country - It's called inflation, the majority of people will stay at the bottom half of the social pyramid no matter what the median the collective degree holders make.

You make 8k others also make 8k, put spouse to work to beat others in the race, every one also doing same thing, end up every one is roughly the same, end up burn out. No one wants to have babies or at least early in life to end up loosing the race. The same group of people then compete for the same small pool of asset to try beat others in the wealth growing race eg. property.
The value of the land is built upon the burn out competition by it's inhabitants. In other words the layer of bubble foaming on top is getting thicker, the fundamentals that form the support of property value is crumbling or questionable. Cinema no one wants to go, dining more going across the border or cooking at home. Many companies are subsidized to keep operating here. JB going to be the alternative soon as they will start doing subsidies in the SEZ. What will happen to the office and factory spaces. Will land and property value keep going up indefinitely? We sure had a good ride for the past 15 years or so. But every major cycle has it's end.

thisisnotme1212

Mean, median, mode, are 3 different ways to calculate average

Sauce: BBC

Types of averages and the range​

• There are three main types of average that can be calculated to show a typical value from a set of data:
    • The mean is the most commonly used average. It is found by finding the total of the values and dividing by how many values there are.
    • The median is an average that is found by listing the values in order and finding the middle value.
    • The mode is the value that occurs most often. This average can be used for non-numerical values, eg ‘red’.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zj6nb7h#zjfbkhv
theys shoulds release alls averages ors justs releases thes raws datas :(

fearlessImp

Never report the whole story, only see first half.
Second half says dipped in real terms after inflation.

https://stats.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Gross-Monthly-Income-Tables2024.aspx

The median income for full-time employed degree holders increased to $8,656 in 2024 from 2023 ($8,190), as more degree holders took up higher-skilled and higher-paying professional, managerial & executive (PME) roles. 18 While their median income grew faster in nominal terms in the recent five-year period (2019-2024: 2.6% per annum (p.a.)) compared to the preceding fiveyear period (2014-2019: 2.3% p.a.), it dipped by 0.4% p.a. in real terms from 2019 to 2024 due to higher inflation. However, over the longer term of a decade (2014 to 2024), real median income of full-time employed degree holders has grown (0.9% p.a.).

kleong

Cheng hu say mai chase degree then always report degree holder celery high and good. Ppl see liao sure will chase or make their children chase after it.

CSI.Hippo

Compare just make yourself miserable. But glad to know I am above median even without including CPF and bonus.

grevq80o

Not fresh grad ok? Degree Holders. If you are Vice President of a MNC, celery smelly smelly $15K/month.

diology

Not fresh grad ok? Degree Holders. If you are Vice President of a MNC, celery smelly smelly $15K/month.
Yes and it also depends whether u work in a bank that has VP as local rank. FI named their staff VP if it’s manager/senior manager position. Other MNCs VP is head of BU in a global scale.

OddEye

Median is based from which age range ah or across the board? If across, I am really at the poverty line..if above 40 I am better

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.