Megan Khung’s death: One cop resigned, supervisor handed financial penalty over handling of case

bIkErS

Monitor and monitoring first...

See la.. who started this Monitor thing.. now everyone following this style

rhexis07

I feel that it is because the officers are just too complacent in their jobs already. I mean, 9/10 cases would usually result in nothing much, just some follow up, knock on door, etc. and they probably get complains like that every now and then.

So to them, they just shove it one side, hope and pray nothing happen, no need follow-up, eventually things may resolve itself.

Well.. lax until got someone die liao loh.

zoossh

Due monitoring n lax attitude from d top spread downstream?
Usually most problems are due to policy issue that hinge on manpower and funding

insufficient manpower, lack of support, lots of red tapes etc

damned if you do and damned if you don't. When sheet hits the fan, then the people at the bottom takes the blame

Itsnotfunny

There are so many lapses from all the different agencies. From childcare centers to social services to police. Too complex process and procedures and overlapping roles. Gahmen and such agencies got many Taji master. Delay for 5 months. Dont die also will wait till die Liao.

Can Or Not

Lucky to get this case… or else nothing will happen. I bet thats the attitude

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
seriously, this whole handling case smelled totally ugly
from the news report on 5 earlier, me kinda fumed to hear about the timeline of events, which eventually led to her demise

too many bohchup peeps from every level involved

fortunecat

seriously, this whole handling case smelled totally ugly
from the news report on 5 earlier, me kinda fumed to hear about the timeline of events, which eventually led to her demise

too many bohchup peeps from every level involved
Very similar to the Taiwan case, but that one is social worker bochup

Joseph12

as usual, heads must roll - only the heads of the lower ranked officers. higher-ups no blame culture
Ya

Well minister unscathed
But at least nail the PS and senior directors.

Basically the worst case scenario of this MSF is a child gets abused and died.
And she died until body not found

And no heads rolled

Its like after 9/11 US formed a department to stop planes from deliberately crashing into buildings.
And a plane indeed deliberately crashed
And no heads rolled

Basically failed at the very fundamental basic task

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
Very similar to the Taiwan case, but that one is social worker bochup
see what happened on that Yishun murder case on a neighbor's dispute that led to one's death

keep on taking light of issues, until person became desperate & took it to the extreme

won't be surprised if it happens yet again

thinline

It is very sad case. I feel pity for young kid being born and not love by their parents and yet abuse to death.
Why blame the police and not the poor girl's parent, grandparent, relatives. Her immediate family eg grandmother. She took so long to contact her daughter ? Grandma didnt check her daughter is she able to take care her grandchild?
All drag and hack care.
Why born her and don't even give proper food, shelter and love.
Better off send her for adoption rather than stick with drugs addicted parents.

CantStopWhining

Actually they very tactful worded it as resign but doesn't necessarily mean got fired. If it's me, I might also just resign. Not because I got punished, but because the guilt that will probably consume me. Because of a mistake from my part, a young child's life was lost.

The IO seems to have tried their best to locate but didn't manage to and didn't handover to the boss. The IO was then deployed for COVID duties though. Times were difficult then since the pandemic was hitting badly. There's people literally dying from COVID.

Do work also got people do crappy handovers. Let's not do a witch hunt on the poor IO n the boss. They alr paid the price for their mistake. Who dares to sign up to be police if SPF doesn't even protect their employees when it's time to do so.

thinline

Police officer is really not easy.
Olden day full of gangster and they trying to keep peace and order.
Now too peaceful but folks here has many small issues eg neighbour quarrel, scam, cheat, teen fighting, mental illness, car accident, elderly death in HDB alone, complain MOE ....etc.

Not trying to side govt agency, but really is not easy..
If the immediate family eg Aunt, Grandma, uncle be more responsibile make a police report and keep follow up with it and it can be avoided.

Redcometz

As much as i pity the little girl

i also pity the IOs, they are really bogged down by so many bullshiat cases that derails their attention from more important ones

My cousin in the force told me 1 ah sia kia ever made police report because 1 local bank close down his bank account and refunded his $1m plus balance in cashier’s order

wtf? Like that also need report police?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.