mentaiyasingapore - Hey Lucas the Boss: Who are you to 'expose' Michelin hawkers?

j4jersey.

lucas just want 流量,its still all about himself, for himself
if he really meant to care and help the hawkers who "fail", he can feedback BACK to them personally and not post them online.

focus1974

after zen tay now this fellow also dulan lucas
jitao use F word on him

these people dont get it.
anyone can comment on anything.
you mean if you are not an engineer/related professionals making phone, you cannot talk about phones?

it's up to the "victim" to speak up or sue the other party.

that's why most of us dare not say bad things about companies.. or politicians..

Joseph12

lucas just want 流量,its still all about himself, for himself
if he really meant to care and help the hawkers who "fail", he can feedback BACK to them personally and not post them online.
Mmm what "care" & "help"
Do movie reviewers "care" & "help"

Its all things open to the public and public can comment and review

niefeng80

Anyone can become a food connoisseur.

Just hold a mic and can start commenting.

One party says he not qualified to comment, the other part says he has freedom of speech.

eeLoyH

He is just providing his own review.
It is not saying that his review will really cause the stall or restaurant to close shop.
If it really happen, then the food is really dog manure.

ZT and the MTY guy are taking this Lucas guy too seriously.
Especially the MTY guy in trying to guilt trip the Lucas guy.
It’s like social media can only tahan positive review and feedback

esp Singaporeans are passionate about our food so I don’t mind hearing bad reviews

Medicated Oil

for and against this lucas fellow lah

at least someone is standing out to be the devil's advocate or just pointing out what he/she don't like and not just jumping on the hype train just because it has a michelin mention.

BUT

food is always subjective, to pin the rise and fall of the brand just because of one guy's taste buds...is he really that influential? or too many sheep who do blind following?

the passing or failing of the hawkers, this is kinda like bully liao. just because he has a video in hand, have an OK outreach, means that hawker who has been frying for X years now have to conform to his standards?
As per your last comment, if the hawkers are constantly getting bad reviews or having bad business, then they should put effort in improving their recipe.
As I mentioned, one guy's review is not going to topple the store if the business is already very good.
This guy is just one of the reference and NOT the golden standard lah.

Medicated Oil

It’s like social media can only tahan positive review and feedback

esp Singaporeans are passionate about our food so I don’t mind hearing bad reviews
I guess the other 2 guys need to stay calm and open their mind.
Lucas is not some super food reviewer.
He still need to put in effort in film the video and buy the food for tasting.
He is also putting time and effort.

Dun take negative review as bad since every one taste bud are different.
That is unless all three of them are stirring up this saga to boost their viewership.
Then, it is a different story.

michael_thm

lol... you guys think these food reviewers are impartial. Just now I just saw an article by a famous food reviewer on the stalls in a newly opened coffeeshop of another famous food reviewer. Guess what? All the stalls got standard! lol.

Joseph12

Don't tell me it's some hawkers complaining

Ya..... I think I know the mindset
You cannot say bad things about them or their food.
Very argumentative and want to pick a fight
These are the people if you say their food is expensive , will freak out

Subprimer

I don’t really like this complain king, but I do agree with some of his points regarding some hawkers trying to keep prices low and affordable for their customers.

why do people think hawkers are sacrificng themselves for customers? Maybe 0.1%, the rest are just keeping prices low to stay competitive

not nice means not nice

now issit cannot give food review anymore? what a joke anyone supporting what this guy is doing

also another guy who wan to support biz at the expense of singaporeans

wanna pretend all hawkers operate for community care when most are for profit

u should see what cars suddenly fill your carpark when kimly or koufu buy over your hawker center

yes this, the bull this mentai chap is spouting is so cringy

this mentayai guy also bs

not all hawker trying to provide affordable food unless his affordable hawker food is 7-10+ dollars in a HAWKER center

somemore this lucas guy also give his own unpaid review n if his review so power can pawn a hawker tt hawker really got prob liao
exactly, this mentay guy is the biggest shat in this so called saga followed by the other zen chap. Both are hard to watch.

tokong

these people dont get it.
anyone can comment on anything.
you mean if you are not an engineer/related professionals making phone, you cannot talk about phones?

it's up to the "victim" to speak up or sue the other party.

that's why most of us dare not say bad things about companies.. or politicians..
No, totally different and unrelated.

The point is, food vloggers are using other people's years of effort for their own viewership profits which can reap in very high profits for themselves. They think they can just enter a hc or coffeeshop and just spew rubbish about the food as aunties and uncle the age of their grandparents rush to serve them their food thus making them ego high think they are god mode better than seetoh. Yes, they might argue that they have bought food from them or give them ang pow blah blah blah, what rubbish, do you know how much these youngsters earn from youtube and tiktok? they are millionaires already. And the irony is they have no content - they use hawkers' food conveniently as their content. Very low down and lazy bum. You want to shoot a true hawker video why not you and your team go and bid for a stall join the nea incubator and start a stall and video the whole process of setting up and go for food course and get the license then start operating then film everything everyday? Wouldn't these be more meaningful? Why ride on old folks coat-tails like a mouse, is it because easy money no need to use brain to think of content? Then you should remove the word content creator from your linkedin lor.
not nice means not nice

now issit cannot give food review anymore? what a joke anyone supporting what this guy is doing

also another guy who wan to support biz at the expense of singaporeans

wanna pretend all hawkers operate for community care when most are for profit

u should see what cars suddenly fill your carpark when kimly or koufu buy over your hawker center
Not nice is you say one. The stall still open and got ppl eat. Yes can give food review but the issue to your intention. You cannot create content or you lazy but you use food review to blackmouth to create attention then that isn't right. I hope you are not one of these jlb vloggers. Very funny, u keep criticizing some stalls no good, but in the end they have been around for a long time. Rubbish vloggers still say until so noble.

focus1974

The point is, food vloggers are using other people's years of effort for their own viewership profits which can reap in very high profits for themselves. They think they can just enter a hc or coffeeshop and just spew rubbish about the food as aunties and uncle the age of their grandparents rush to serve them their food thus making them ego high think they are god mode better than seetoh. Yes, they might argue that they have bought food from them or give them ang pow blah blah blah, what rubbish, do you know how much these youngsters earn from youtube and tiktok? they are millionaires already. And the irony is they have no content - they use hawkers' food conveniently as their content. Very low down and lazy bum. You want to shoot a true hawker video why not you and your team go and bid for a stall join the nea incubator and start a stall and video the whole process of setting up and go for food course and get the license then start operating then film everything everyday? Wouldn't these be more meaningful? Why ride on old folks coat-tails like a mouse, is it because easy money no need to use brain to think of content? Then you should remove the word content creator from your linkedin lor.
Not nice is you say one. The stall still open and got ppl eat. Yes can give food review but the issue to your intention. You cannot create content or you lazy but you use food review to blackmouth to create attention then that isn't right. I hope you are not one of these jlb vloggers. Very funny, u keep criticizing some stalls no good, but in the end they have been around for a long time. Rubbish vloggers still say until so noble.

same lah.
people talk about iphones and apple products on youtube as content creator for monetization as well.

JivBunny

This so called Lucas fellow has his ego fed so big when he started off his Sg60 intro to his 60 fav hawkers.

That was where he picked up fame and initially he was still quite ok with his reviews here and there.

After that his ego got so inflated that he started to bash those stalls.

I agree that some of the food is really "questionable" how Michelin ranked them. But these hawkers never go and ask for it, it was given to them. So meaning the food appeal to the judges.

Like Lixin fishball noodles, I am never a fan of ketchup to my noodles, but overall, it's still not bad bowl of noodles to me. Do I need to bash it?

The way this Lucas has gone out to bash the hawkers is overdoing it. Sure give his feedback but does it need to see blood everytime when it doesn't suit his taste? It can be more constructive than destructive at his current state

JivBunny

Agreed.

Plud I really can't stand some of these bloggers who cannot cook and yet can give scores like 7.3 or 7.2 out of 10 or 9.3 out of 10.

Like as if they are some devine chef who can cook and give these kind of scoring.

Fightfat

I am with Lucas on this one. Just an additional avenue for reviews on top of other existing reviews duh google.

Knowing that he's not paid makes it even more legit than whatever sloth or ****** cook.

At the end of the day, if orh jian or whatever kway are your things, you would try them for yourself.

Learn to discern the noise of the reviews.

BTW, Zen's mala prawn noodles quite nice IMO.

Mentaiya on the other hand, ate once and never went back. Now where to find? 🧐
Mentaiya ,I think no longer available but I think if you ask the boss for special private dining at his house.
I suppose he would not entertain you as well because I think he hates or don't respect people who do F&N at your home. ( HDB or private).

Not.banned.yet

Er. No fight no popcorn no saga how to generate clicks? So old Liao still fall into such clickbaits?

Always rmb. Content creators will do anything to generate views

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.