[MERGED] Third virtual mobile telco: Zero1

codexboy

There is no more 2g gprs network so should be reduced to 3g or 3.5g.
Hmm correct me if im wrong but 2g or 3g is just the broadcast signal that can support up to a certain speed, but they can throttle u to a speed that is lower than max even though you are connected to 3g or even 4g

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

maniamcool

Bundled unlimited mobile data is for local usage only. For each billing period, mobile data speed for the first 3GB of data will be provided at 4G/4G+ network speed. Thereafter, data speeds may be managed, reduced and throttled according to the network capacity and performance in order to provide customers with fast and reliable mobile internet service. Subscribers may continue to use mobile data service subject to Zero1’s Fair Use Policy in Clause 7. Customer’s mobile data service will be restored to 4G speed at the start of the next billing cycle for the next first 3GB of data. Usage within the bundled data shall be computed in blocks of 1MB even if less than 1MB is used.

Please kindly refer to our web for further information.

https://zero1.sg/pages/terms-conditions

This is standard template reply from your website.

I think the guy is asking for concrete figures.

What is the "managed speed" exactly? 3g? 3.5g? Or even slower?

What's the point of unlimited data if receiving WhatsApp also take forever?

jeff79

Zero1 reserves the right, without notice or limitation, to deny, terminate, modify, throttle, disconnect or suspend services if an individual engages in unfair, excessive or abusive usage or if Zero1, at its sole discretion, determines that action is necessary to protect the network from harm or degradation.

If a Customer uses more than (i) 5,000 local call minutes per month, (ii) 5,000 local SMS per month, or (iii) 500 SMS per day, such usage will be deemed to be excessive usage. Use of file sharing software or peer-to-peer/torrent apps, and downloading abnormal amounts of large-format files such as music, videos and movies, or other activities that generate large volumes of traffic on Zero1 network will be deemed to be Excessive or abusive usage of Local data. Zero1 may deny, terminate, modify, throttle, disconnect or suspend services if an individual engages in unfair, excessive or abusive usage.

Those thinking unlimited mobile data can replace wired broadband can forget about it.

jeff79

Hmm correct me if im wrong but 2g or 3g is just the broadcast signal that can support up to a certain speed, but they can throttle u to a speed that is lower than max even though you are connected to 3g or even 4g

Even without dropping to 3g, they can just throttle it to 1mbps on 4g.

For your data consumption, you will enjoy 3GB worth of data at 4G speed and thereafter, your internet speed will be managed and optimised. We have tested the managed speed on popular applications such as WhatsApp, emails, Facebook, Instagram, Spotify and Youtube and for common usage, the apps will work normally. This move is to ensure that every customer will be able to enjoy the best shared resources.

The managed speed can watch youtube normally should be at least few mbps. 3g download speed according to singtel

https://www.singtel.com/content/dam/singtel/Personal-PDF/TypicalMobileSpeed.pdf

codexboy

danny8x8

They are unable to answer because it depends on the load on the network at that point in time

codexboy

They are unable to answer because it depends on the load on the network at that point in time

if just over 3gb then kena throttle till 64kbps cos many selfish ppl still load the network then jialat leh. Defeat the whole pitch of unlimited data

lenseview

danny8x8

if just over 3gb then kena throttle till 64kbps cos many selfish ppl still load the network then jialat leh. Defeat the whole pitch of unlimited data

Logically, should have priority system. Slightly over 3gb, throttle a bit, as you consume over a certain amount, more throttling. Should be like that bah.

codexboy

Logically, should have priority system. Slightly over 3gb, throttle a bit, as you consume over a certain amount, more throttling. Should be like that bah.

That’s why I hope for more details from zero1 Lor

But from the faq and rep reply, they appear to avoid addressing this concern. Potential red flag for me

decibels

Bundled unlimited mobile data is for local usage only. For each billing period, mobile data speed for the first 3GB of data will be provided at 4G/4G+ network speed. Thereafter, data speeds may be managed, reduced and throttled according to the network capacity and performance in order to provide customers with fast and reliable mobile internet service. Subscribers may continue to use mobile data service subject to Zero1’s Fair Use Policy in Clause 7. Customer’s mobile data service will be restored to 4G speed at the start of the next billing cycle for the next first 3GB of data. Usage within the bundled data shall be computed in blocks of 1MB even if less than 1MB is used.

Please kindly refer to our web for further information.

https://zero1.sg/pages/terms-conditions

People ask u apple, u show us apple tree :s22:

allanzzz

Seriously who is going to shoot themselves in the foot by Giving anyone a figure for 3g or lowered speed and get quoted later on.

It's a risk assessment, benefits outweighs the risk for me at least.

lenseview

Seriously who is going to shoot themselves in the foot by Giving anyone a figure for 3g or lowered speed and get quoted later on.

Thats true. But wothout clearing this doubt for potential subscribers, they will lose a certain amount of customers. Customers would like to know what they will be getting unless its those that blindly jump into the service.

jeff79

thought its the first month 19 only

The usual monthly subscription charge is $29.99. For users successfully redeemed the $19 promotion, you will enjoy a monthly subscription at $19 as long as you don’t terminate your Zero1 service.

Payments must be made via credit/debit cards and listed prices are exclusive of GST. :(

codexboy

Erm of cos providers want to commit as little as possible. But as consumers its in our interest to get as much details as we can...

End of the day we vote with our wallet lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.