[MERGED] Third virtual mobile telco: Zero1

montosun

i find it really ironic that the NVMOs are the ones stagnating now while the main telcos are coming up with better and more versatile plans. i wonder if they have a standing agreement with the telco to not adjust the plan and/or price.

zero1 only has a single viable(barely) plan left, circles arguably is in a worst position as the base plan(without port in) is now the worst in the current market. As a matter of fact pretty much everybody i know already jumped ship from the $28 plan.

SkyShroud

i find it really ironic that the NVMOs are the ones stagnating now while the main telcos are coming up with better and more versatile plans. i wonder if they have a standing agreement with the telco to not adjust the plan and/or price.

zero1 only has a single viable(barely) plan left, circles arguably is in a worst position as the base plan(without port in) is now the worst in the current market. As a matter of fact pretty much everybody i know already jumped ship from the $28 plan.

becoz they wan u to port in

montosun

becoz they wan u to port in

yes but for every customer that port in they will likely lose one $28 customer as well, those on the original $28 plan are the most value-conscious and thus early adopters of the nascent NVMOs model. It stands to reason that they are not afraid to try out new and unknown operators again.

wackykid

because the main telcos are the one with $$$$$$$$ and can afford to bleed more during a price war...

regards,
wacky

Vice City

Worse part is porting in is $18 for 20GB

while loyal subscribers pay $28 for the same

Mancunian2

Doubt zero1 and circles.life can last very Long in this price war,
Both will likely fold up in the next 1-2 years

Vice City

Doubt zero1 and circles.life can last very Long in this price war,
Both will likely fold up in the next 1-2 years
For CL, they still can survive as their customer service is still better than most telcos. Some ppl don't mind paying more for responsive service

Ultimately Zero1 and CL can still survive if they adjust price plans to attract ppl who don't mind lesser data for lower price (e.g. RO $8 plan or Z1 $9.90)

wackykid

For CL, they still can survive as their customer service is still better than most telcos. Some ppl don't mind paying more for responsive service

Ultimately Zero1 and CL can still survive if they adjust price plans to attract ppl who don't mind lesser data for lower price (e.g. RO $8 plan or Z1 $9.90)

really...?? sinkies seems more like want the cheapest but expect service to be the best... :s13::s13:

also if u want better customer service means your operating costs will be higher also to spend $$$ train ur CSOs and pay more to employ more CSOs...

regards,
wacky

Vice City

really...?? sinkies seems more like want the cheapest but expect service to be the best... :s13::s13:

also if u want better customer service means your operating costs will be higher also to spend $$$ train ur CSOs and pay more to employ more CSOs...

regards,
wacky
I agree with your words that the majority is like that. But there is a minority who don't mind paying a bit more for good CS, which Circles have. Or maybe I am the only one =:p

At least for Circles, just use live chat on app and my queries/problems resolved within a day. During my time with the big telcos before MVNOs, my queries/problems will only be resolved within one or two weeks.

But yeah, Circles and Zero1 plans now is really overpriced compared to GOMO, Giga and M1 now

wackykid

I agree with your words that the majority is like that. But there is a minority who don't mind paying a bit more for good CS, which Circles have. Or maybe I am the only one =:p

At least for Circles, just use live chat on app and my queries/problems resolved within a day. During my time with the big telcos before MVNOs, my queries/problems will only be resolved within one or two weeks.

But yeah, Circles and Zero1 plans now is really overpriced compared to GOMO, Giga and M1 now

actually i think for these MNVOs to compete.. they really shouldn't compete for the same piece of the pie as the main telcos... instead of competing on who can give the most data for the same price... target ppl with different needs... like redone $8 plan and the free roaming to malaysia is good for ppl who don't really need that much data but they travel to malaysia often...

or cater for ppl who don't use much data but needs plenty of talk time... like myrepublic $18 plan with 1000min... cheapest plan for 1000min talk time...

regards,
wacky

Vice City

actually i think for these MNVOs to compete.. they really shouldn't compete for the same piece of the pie as the main telcos... instead of competing on who can give the most data for the same price... target ppl with different needs... like redone $8 plan and the free roaming to malaysia is good for ppl who don't really need that much data but they travel to malaysia often...

or cater for ppl who don't use much data but needs plenty of talk time... like myrepublic $18 plan with 1000min... cheapest plan for 1000min talk time...

regards,
wacky
Personally, I feel MVNOs can target the elderly and students with attractive plans. Obviously, the working adults will go for the big 3 telcos cause their personal and CIS sim only plans are way more attractive

For example, MVNOs can provide a package of $10 for 5GB with 200 mins call and 200 SMS. Suitable for the older generations who don't use phones much and for some adults who just use wifi at home and office

Likewise, for students they can customize the $10 plan for 8GB of data with 75 mins call and 75 SMS since most students on apps nowadays rather than using SMS and calls

Alternatively, they can target the foreign worker and maids, with cheap postpaid plans, and at the same time makan the prepaid customers of the big 3 telcos

Zero1's $9.90 plan originally was a good idea, but now it is way too expensive for the amount of data offered compared to the big 3 telcos.

montosun

Thinking of that. Port in to GOMO and then port out again, since
GOMO also 20GB

the thing is, once you port out, will you bother to port back in? considering the $2 price difference you can justify it with the free incoming call and additional 100 mins of outgoing call.

the talk about better service etc. is moot unless you are telling me that the new subscribers(probably all of them on the $18) plan is getting worse service.

what circles is currently doing is 'milking' the current subscribers for lack of a better word, exactly what the 3 main telcos would do in the past.

however, i want to believe that circles is better than that and they are simply forced to retain their existing plan.

wackykid

Personally, I feel MVNOs can target the elderly and students with attractive plans. Obviously, the working adults will go for the big 3 telcos cause their personal and CIS sim only plans are way more attractive

For example, MVNOs can provide a package of $10 for 5GB with 200 mins call and 200 SMS. Suitable for the older generations who don't use phones much and for some adults who just use wifi at home and office

Likewise, for students they can customize the $10 plan for 8GB of data with 75 mins call and 75 SMS since most students on apps nowadays rather than using SMS and calls

Alternatively, they can target the foreign worker and maids, with cheap postpaid plans, and at the same time makan the prepaid customers of the big 3 telcos

Zero1's $9.90 plan originally was a good idea, but now it is way too expensive for the amount of data offered compared to the big 3 telcos.

yes exactly... the MVNOs can fill up the gap in the long tail market whereas the big 3 target the mainstream market...

as for foreign workers and maid... got liao... vivobee...
https://www.vivobee.com/sg/mobile_sim_plan.php

and yeah i think zero1 need to up the ante with their $9.90 plan now that got redone $8 plan...

regards,
wacky

Vice City

the thing is, once you port out, will you bother to port back in? considering the $2 price difference you can justify it with the free incoming call and additional 100 mins of outgoing call.

the talk about better service etc. is moot unless you are telling me that the new subscribers(probably all of them on the $18) plan is getting worse service.

what circles is currently doing is 'milking' the current subscribers for lack of a better word, exactly what the 3 main telcos would do in the past.

however, i want to believe that circles is better than that and they are simply forced to retain their existing plan.
Not so much about new subscribers to CL getting 'worse' service than loyal subscribers, but rather the fact that service in CL among all telcos and MVNOs is still the best in my opinion. Issues are resolved relatively quickly and I can talk to someone in the live chat promptly. Compared to my previous telcos, where despite using the live chat function in the app, it takes hours for someone to even acknowledge I started the chat

Value for money, yes I agree with you, loyal subscribers are getting milked now, but I wait and see. They did upgrade the base plan to 20GB for existing subscribers who started with 4GB for free at the expense of SMS and calls

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.