MERS

HanTze

Mine is in Oct. anyone else bought ntuc travel insurance?

Most travel insurance, as of now, do not really regard MERS situation in South Korea and Thailand, as an insurable reason for claim (trip cancellation).

dede1217

i think it just matter of time that MERS reach our island. Just wonder travel insurance cover if trip cancel. I brought on the 17, and news in MERS out on 18.

not too sure, you have to check with them ...
think most likely they wont ...

turtlezhu

Malaysia confirms first MERS-CoV fatality. Dont have to worry of thailand. Our friend up north got first fatality liao.

AH CHIA

Hopefully it doesnt spread to VN, going there this august

And what if it spreads to SG in Jul, would you bring forward your VN trip :D

Dun be so paranoid, nothing has been declared on these countries yet, all these worrying won't get you anywhere.

Just take it when it comes.

Zappalapa

Thailand says 175 exposed to MERS patient; South Korea reports no new case
A total of 175 people were exposed to Thailand's only case of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS) and the patient's condition has improved, the health ministry said on Saturday.

BANGKOK: A total of 175 people were exposed to Thailand's only case of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS) and the patient's condition has improved, the health ministry said on Saturday.

In a statement, the ministry said it had been in touch with all 175 and had instructed them to stay away from public spaces and for medical personnel to monitor their health.

In South Korea, the health ministry said that no new cases of the disease had been recorded in the country for the first time in 16 days. Health authorities said on Friday the outbreak first reported on May 20 seemed to have levelled off.

South Korea's health ministry said later on Saturday that a 63-year-old male MERS patient with an existing heart ailment and diabetes had died, becoming the 25th fatality in an outbreak that had spread through hospitals and infected 166 people.

On Friday, Thai health minister Rajata Rajatanavin told reporters the chances of a MERS outbreak in Thailand like the one in South Korea were low as the authorities had isolated the patient quickly.

The virus was first detected in Thailand in a 75-year-old man from Oman who travelled to Bangkok for treatment of a heart condition.

On Thursday, the man was moved from Bumrungrad International Hospital to an infectious diseases facility.

Three relatives of the man are also being kept in isolation rooms at the institute and had tested negative for the virus, Surachet Satiniramai, acting permanent secretary at the health ministry, said on Saturday.

"The condition of the MERS patient is better overall," he said. "The chest x-rays show improvement and he can eat soft food."

Thai authorities have said it had taken nearly four days to confirm the illness.

Doctors at Bumrungrad Hospital said on Friday that it quarantined 58 staff members but that there had been no panic, with no patients at the hospital asking for transfer to other facilities.

MERS was first identified in humans in Saudi Arabia in 2012 and the majority of cases have been in the Middle East. Scientists are not sure of the origin of the virus, but several studies have linked it to camels.

Isolated cases have cropped up in Asia before South Korea's outbreak.

(Reporting by Aukkarapon Niyomyat in Bangkok and Jack Kim and Ju-min Park in Seoul; Writing by Amy Sawitta Lefevre; Editing by Richard Borsuk and Raissa Kasolowsky)

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapacific/thailand-says-175-people/1929440.html

palmtungsten

If MERS spread to singapore, you maybe quarantined by Thailand if you have fever and cough?

People ard the Asia will be scared of us?

Like the way we worried going to Thailand?

LOL

dede1217

If MERS spread to singapore, you maybe quarantined by Thailand if you have fever and cough?

People ard the Asia will be scared of us?

Like the way we worried going to Thailand?

LOL

ya lo ... haix .... hope it would b better ...

gasband

Its only one case. Been here on 18th, going back tomorrow. Stay in sg also may kena since so many people come back from korea. And one case u expect travel insurance to cover? Haiz。

Zappalapa

Its only one case. Been here on 18th, going back tomorrow. Stay in sg also may kena since so many people come back from korea. And one case u expect travel insurance to cover? Haiz。

ya sia.

still gt ppl flying over to s.k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.