Micro ATX Case advice

Kennedy

I don't know much about the cases. went SLS, checked several shops, PC Themes has 1 quite nice and the cheapest in the shop ? Cooler Master micro atx case for around $50, assembly fee $10, thinking of buying the case there.

any cheaper micro atx cases in SLS ?

Kennedy

This one has got to be the cheapest branded mATX chassis in SG:

http://www.lazada.sg/deepcool-smarter-micro-atx-case-160141.html

Just that the look may not suit most' appetite.

can't go wrong with cm n200.

any cases in SLS for $30-$40 ?

I suppose the micro-atx cases sizes differ by much. my current micro-atx case looks small. the HDD is at a small and tight area, bad air ventilation ? can't have the graphics and sound cards installed together, not enough space, so no sound card. the Cooler Master $50 case that I saw at PC Themes looks slightly bigger than my current case.

MoneyFace =p

any cases in SLS for $30-$40 ?

I suppose the micro-atx cases sizes differ by much. my current micro-atx case looks small. the HDD is at a small and tight area, bad air ventilation ? can't have the graphics and sound cards installed together, not enough space, so no sound card. the Cooler Master $50 case that I saw at PC Themes looks slightly bigger than my current case.

Take an angled and back photo of current chassis and show us here.

Your case is most likely a slim mATX or even mITX chassis. Show us for us to double confirm.

shadow84

Assembly fee frm pc theme is nt $10. Its ard $30. And i dun supposed they may help u assemble if u buy a case ftom them nia.

nuahster

N200 for the price offers quite good features

Can consider this for $50 - aluminium casing, thou features wise may not be comparable to N200
http://forums.vr-zone.com/other-hardware-components/3232592-wts-oem-aluminium-matx-casing-blue-red-silver-black-s-50-a.html

Lazada may still have some discount codes valid, after discount should be ard your budget of abt $50+/-
http://www.lazada.sg/fractal-design-core-1500-casing-matx-and-itx-156613.html?mp=1

http://www.lazada.sg/fractal-design-core-1100-casing-matx-and-itx-156344.html?mp=1

idjekyll

no need to think already. if you want relatively good air flow for a matx case with good features and cheap then it's the N200 already.

Kennedy

Take an angled and back photo of current chassis and show us here.

Your case is most likely a slim mATX or even mITX chassis. Show us for us to double confirm.

it is 15 x 45 x 37 (L x W x H cm) standard mATX size ?

Kennedy

Assembly fee frm pc theme is nt $10. Its ard $30. And i dun supposed they may help u assemble if u buy a case ftom them nia.

I asked them twice at shop last week. they said it's $10. I didn't hear wrongly. they said wrongly ?

shadow84

I asked them twice at shop last week. they said it's $10. I didn't hear wrongly. they said wrongly ?

Most of the ppl here paid around $20-30. Well, if its $10, good for u. Just let u know in case u kena bill shock when its assembled and they charge u $30 instead.

royfrosty

TS you got to understand something before purchasing.

Chassis dont skimp too much. I know it houses your components. But the thing is, invest a little more and you get a better chassis and comes with more default fans etc.

Fans arent cheap imho. Even the cheapest you find is a $10 fan in sls. You buy X amount of fans to mount in chassis. That will cost editional $20-30 more.

Might as well buy something like the sharkoon t28 bd28 (although not mATX) but it gives you all 3 fans preinstalled. Just an example.

The thing is chassis as you go up the range, there are more better chassis out there. There are brands like LianLi chassis which is completely tool-less.

As you go up the range, material used also change. More metal over plastic. A more solid paint work. Not sure if you have seen corsair obsidian series. If you ever try sandpaper the surface, the obsidian is insane layer painting. You can sand all day and the paint just wont vanish.

There are also other features like tool-less hdd cage. Ssd bracket mounting, fan controllers, bracket retention for wire management, kinds of mounting for window side panel, what kind of plastic they used. Etc.

So research more on your ideal chassis.

Kennedy

Most of the ppl here paid around $20-30. Well, if its $10, good for u. Just let u know in case u kena bill shock when its assembled and they charge u $30 instead.

ok. thanks. $10 seems cheap and strange. Videopro charges $25. neighborhood shop charges $50.

Kennedy

TS you got to understand something before purchasing.

Chassis dont skimp too much. I know it houses your components. But the thing is, invest a little more and you get a better chassis and comes with more default fans etc.

Fans arent cheap imho. Even the cheapest you find is a $10 fan in sls. You buy X amount of fans to mount in chassis. That will cost editional $20-30 more.

Might as well buy something like the sharkoon t28 bd28 (although not mATX) but it gives you all 3 fans preinstalled. Just an example.

The thing is chassis as you go up the range, there are more better chassis out there. There are brands like LianLi chassis which is completely tool-less.

As you go up the range, material used also change. More metal over plastic. A more solid paint work. Not sure if you have seen corsair obsidian series. If you ever try sandpaper the surface, the obsidian is insane layer painting. You can sand all day and the paint just wont vanish.

There are also other features like tool-less hdd cage. Ssd bracket mounting, fan controllers, bracket retention for wire management, kinds of mounting for window side panel, what kind of plastic they used. Etc.

So research more on your ideal chassis.

actually, the reason why I'm changing the case is because I want to change the case color from current white to black ( same color for case, monitor and speaker ). it looks much better. almost anything will do for me.

I don't know much about the types of cases and features. I thought of spending $40-50 for a cheap case and <$20 for assembly, budget is around $60.

thanks for the information.

MoneyFace =p

Standard mATX size lor. For full black, either get N200 or consider Sharkoon MA-A1000.

Orionhan

i think Fractal 1100 or 1500 is not bad too. Consider that. Both around 60 - 100 range...can't remember the pricing.

idjekyll

aiyo how come noone talk about corsair air 240? hehe.

not bad must recommend!

nuahster

aiyo how come noone talk about corsair air 240? hehe.

not bad must recommend!

TS looking for $50 range cases, :s13:

I considered the Consider Air 240 when i was building my matx rig, liked the case but sadly it couldn't fit a gtx970 or 980, case panel wldnt be able to close. so eventually i went for the Fractal Design Arc Mini R2.

Another Matx case for cube design is Thermaltake Core V21, i would have considered it over the Air 240 had it been avail when i was building my rig. But i think its also not available in SG too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.