MicroSD.. Brand matter?

standing

diff brand have diff price.. really have diff?:s11:

in terms of normal day to day use, no care benchmark..

shadow84

If everything dun care, get the cheapest u can find. If u care for something at least, get samsung evo.

standing

Speed, reliability?

those cheaper brand.. if i use to store movie to watch on tablet, will lag?

in terms of reliability... SD can last how long ah? how come i see some brand can give lifetime warranty one?:s22:

shadow84

those cheaper brand.. if i use to store movie to watch on tablet, will lag?

in terms of reliability... SD can last how long ah? how come i see some brand can give lifetime warranty one?:s22:

Watch movies depend on ur read speed. If its slow, it might lag or take time to open. When copying files over, it depends on ur write speed. The slower it is, the longer it takes to copy over.

Lifetime warranty is not ur life, but item's lifespan before its out of production. Its so small item and easy to produce, manufacturers can give lifetime with no worries. Just dun ask and take it.;);)

standing

Watch movies depend on ur read speed. If its slow, it might lag or take time to open. When copying files over, it depends on ur write speed. The slower it is, the longer it takes to copy over.

Lifetime warranty is not ur life, but item's lifespan before its out of production. Its so small item and easy to produce, manufacturers can give lifetime with no worries. Just dun ask and take it.;);)

as long is buy class 10, should be ok right?
i dont mind copy file slow, but if watch movie lag... :s22:

:eek:not my life ah? no wonder lah.. i thought if i live to 100yo, they going to change for me how many time sia!:s13:
is it easy to get them to exchange? for the warranty..

shadow84

as long is buy class 10, should be ok right?
i dont mind copy file slow, but if watch movie lag... :s22:

:eek:not my life ah? no wonder lah.. i thought if i live to 100yo, they going to change for me how many time sia!:s13:
is it easy to get them to exchange? for the warranty..

Class 10 got diff speeds, 20mb/s, 25mb/s, 48mb/s, 80mb/s.. Must see carefully.

If u die, then for what u exchange microsd? 1-to1- depends on distro, i cannot answer for u...

Piezoq

Big big difference.

I damaged a camera once when the China brand card disintegrated as I was taking it out. The casing was THAT poorly made. I could have bought another 10-20 cards with the repair cost. It was an ouch moment. That was many years ago when these guys were quite expensive.

As for speed and reliability, there is a huge variance in performance and longevity even between certain lines of established names.

If it's for casual use, I'd say get a middle of the line Sandisk or Kingston or (insert reputable brand here) and be done with it. They're really affordable now, compared to the price of some HP/tablet covers or even lightning cables!

If you're take videos, or dabble in photography, the specs are another step up and you'll be best served googling the photo forums.

standing

Big big difference.

I damaged a camera once when the China brand card disintegrated as I was taking it out. The casing was THAT poorly made. I could have bought another 10-20 cards with the repair cost. It was an ouch moment. That was many years ago when these guys were quite expensive.

As for speed and reliability, there is a huge variance in performance and longevity even between certain lines of established names.

If it's for casual use, I'd say get a middle of the line Sandisk or Kingston or (insert reputable brand here) and be done with it. They're really affordable now, compared to the price of some HP/tablet covers or even lightning cables!

If you're take videos, or dabble in photography, the specs are another step up and you'll be best served googling the photo forums.

camera won't get v hot one right? it melt inside?:eek:

i mainly is watch video lah.. if can install app in card then good.. but i think android app cannot install in card
want to check cos i see a lot of brand..
samsung one can be v expensive.. then see qoo have a brand call goldflash can be v cheap..:s22:

so was thinking is it only those big camera (e.g.: DSLR type) need to have expensive SD card:s8:

shadow84

camera won't get v hot one right? it melt inside?:eek:

i mainly is watch video lah.. if can install app in card then good.. but i think android app cannot install in card
want to check cos i see a lot of brand..
samsung one can be v expensive.. then see qoo have a brand call goldflash can be v cheap..:s22:

so was thinking is it only those big camera (e.g.: DSLR type) need to have expensive SD card:s8:

Samsung evo 32gb microsd at $20.xx nt cheap enough?

trenzterra

GoldFlash 64GB seems to be selling at just $27 at Qoo10 tomorrow... not sure if it's good.

Piezoq

ya.. this GoldFlash really v cheap!

that y i wondering.. donno anybody here used b4:s8:

Think about it this way. $10-20 can't get you by taxi to Sim LIm Square from many new towns.

$20 cannot buy many phone cases.

$20 is about what you pay in ++ for a $100 family meal at any decent restaurant.

No point saving this kind of $ for a product we're unsure of.

mavicaste

Samsung isn't typically associated with reliability for flash memory.

Brands like SanDisk, Lexar are. You will never find anything other than SanDisk in my devices, and especially so in my cameras.

dolphinv

Brand difference is warranty. Sandisk only 5 years limited warranty and alot of seller dunno why never put the local distro sticker vector magnetics so not sure if warranty is honoured. As for Kingston, Transcend, Strontium have lifetime warranty. Strontium Claims also that their SD card is water and shock proof

kandinsky

My personal take:

Between mainstream brand like Sandisk v Kingston - Little diff if you get the same specs. Get from authorized shops to ensure you can get warranty support if run into issues. Because they are mainstream, you run the risk of buying fakes if you buy from random sources. Gotta be careful about that.

Between mainstream brand vs laopok/unknown brand - At your own risk. If you're lucky, may be possible to find decent cards for casual use. If you do your research, may be able to find info on who's the OEM manufacturer (Nothing wrong with OEM as long as the QC is there, Kingston has been said to use toshiba/sandisk OEM controllers/chips), and whether they have a decent track record/reviews etc :s22:

E.g., For the GoldFlash, there's one review that mentioned that it's made by a Barun Electronics, a Korean OEM manufacturer. May be worth the risk if it's cheap, but I wouldn't use it for critical stuff.

Barun Electronics may not be a household name here in Singapore, but if your using GPS systems or in-vehicle recorder, the chances of this company manufacturing your products is rather high. Nonetheless, this OEM company, is ranked 6th in the global memory card market. The Korean-based company produces one hundred million semiconductor-related products such as flash memory cards and USB flash drives each year, supplying to various global memory manufacturers based in the U.S. as well as Japanese auto giants.

http://ourberries.com/2014/09/17/reviewed-barun-electronic-goldflash-plus-microsd/

This year, they are scheduled to supply memory cards to LG Electronics which is due to unveil the world’s first-ever seven-inch tablet for kids containing hundreds of contents on education, movies, languages and pictures for entertainment purposes.

http://www.koreaittimes.com/story/22900/barun-electronics-hidden-champion-global-memory-market

------------------

Can also refer to this thread: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...rfeit-microsd-card-andriod-phone-4753338.html

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.