Mindchamps vs Myfirstskool

lovemuffins

Hi, i was an admin staff from EtonHouse pre school. Trust me when i tell u this it does not matter which school u put ur child into. The only thing that matters is if ur fortunate enough to get a caring n responsible teacher. Do check out Kidz Meadow.
I agree v v much!! It's up to luck

lovemuffins

If you can maintain your lifestyle with your kid going to Mindchamps, I would suggest you enrol your kid in Mindchamps instead of MFS. IIRC, Mindchamps promises their curriculum will include enrichment programmes too. Not sure if it is still the same.

No offence to anyone.

Reasons:

1) Demographics of children and parents
2) Networking
3) Teacher - children ratio
4) Curriculum

I have friends with children going to expensive preschools and normal preschools. We all agree that if it is within means, send them to a good preschool for better exposure.

Case Studies:

1) My friend's boy in PCF was constantly bullied by 1 of his classmate. This classmate even scold vulgarities at him and threaten to beat him outside school. (He probably learned it from his parents.)

2) Another friend's son is in primary school now and he said some of his classmates from PCF cannot do SHOW & TELL in class because they did not do it often in preschool. I can tell you the atas one do SHOW & TELL very often to prepare them for primary school. (I believe this could be due to individual also)

3) Another friend's son said the things they talk about in atas preschool are what cars their parents drive, what kind of house they stay in, where they went for holidays, where they went to eat etc.

My daughter is currently in Pats and we think the money is well-spent. I'm paying about 1.9k after $300 subsidy from MSF.

Pre-covid, they have activities that involved parents participation. Then you can network with other parents who are mostly self-employed or are in management position.

Children do talk and compare about cars and holidays but I think it's fine, better than fighting and scolding each other.

Teacher-children ratio is also lower than that of PCF.

You won't get children who talk about funny things and scold vulgarities due to influence at home. I think this is the most important part of growing up.

Another way is, send your kid to those Christian preschool if you are a Christians, better than PCF and mainstream preschools too.

You should also plan for P1. Primary school makes a lot of difference too. Grassroots now need at least 2-3 years commitment. PVs are difficult to get.

Just my 2 cents.

Case study 1 of yours I encountered before. Its angmoh parents and I was stunned when the father told his child "Why are you standing in the middle of the fxxxing door?" And they dun go to PCF lol my point is that the parents are children's first teachers

lovemuffins

Being from the early childhood field. I would say it depends on luck to find 1 good teacher. In my years of experience I hv seen many who are just making a living but of course there are some who are genuinely fond of children. Do your homework. Atas or branded preschool doesn't mean good. I tried some atas one but ended up I am currently homeschooling my children as it's no difference imho.I don't do worksheets at all. Just arts colouring or penmanship/tracing etc. Playbased/experiential learning even cooking. And play dates with others like cousins/neighbours some days for social skills. Else I actually encourage u to go for church based kindy if u are Christian. I find that good enough. But too bad my area dun hv.

lovemuffins

Hi parents,

I am really at a dilemma here after my son's preschool is going to shut down by end of this year, he is in a preschool (1800$ a month) at the moment ...

My scenario

- MFS just under my block walking distance and i can free up around 1.5k additional savings a month and we are an above average graduate couple.

vs

- Mindchamps which cost 2.1k, they really promise that the kid when he/she reaches primary 1 should be no problem and can cope.

any parents can really share they experience in MFS? or mindchamps? I understand the price different is ALOT and of course there is bound to have many differences.. I hope some parent could share their views and let me know if it does actually make a difference.

My nieces and nephew are from MFS it's pretty ok actually. They hv learnt pretty much from what my bro and sis in law mentioned But then again I would say do your research I suppose branches and teachers defer..ask the sch on their curriculum and timetable. Can ask the current parents to see if they are ok. But in any case, how old is ur child? If dun suit can always go to another sch later on.

lovemuffins

Well..if you can afford it then by all means..MFS also hv show n tell session and have activities that involved parents..With the busy schedule of parents..frankly speaking..i hope not too much activities involved parents .

My POV is at their stage shd be enjoying the progress n process..i meant wat the heck..u scare no chance to be stress at pri school level onwards

Actually church kindy or cc also do show and tell. It depends on who the teacher is and what she/he planned. And as for parents' involvement it's necessary to build trust and it's a chance for you to know how your child is progressing or is doing in sch. We call that home sch partnership. You don't have to get involved but what's the point of having a child in the first place and not get involved or involved a mere minimum. Sorry just my 2 cents as I know a lot of parents these days just wanna send their children to learn in sch and not do anything at home. They prefer to give that responsibility to the sch and teachers just because they paid high sch fees.

mickey88

Actually church kindy or cc also do show and tell. It depends on who the teacher is and what she/he planned. And as for parents' involvement it's necessary to build trust and it's a chance for you to know how your child is progressing or is doing in sch. We call that home sch partnership. You don't have to get involved but what's the point of having a child in the first place and not get involved or involved a mere minimum. Sorry just my 2 cents as I know a lot of parents these days just wanna send their children to learn in sch and not do anything at home. They prefer to give that responsibility to the sch and teachers just because they paid high sch fees.

Unfortunately the gov dun really support much..childcare leave oni 6 days per year..two kids oso same 6 days per year..events in childcare wan parents wan to involved..open house oso wan parents involved and not to mention to take care of them when they are sick..they tink parents god level meh..Now looking at pending at 9 percent gst..we hv to pragmatic that both parents need to work. can oni be selective on the programmes. Beside what the toddlers know abt building CNY stuff.. .and our dear gov can oni complain why birth rate r falling..wtf..hahhaha

darknite84

My baby girl is at playgroup now. Mind champs. The playgroup has like 5 kids only currently. 2 teacher and 1 relief teacher? My baby girl seems to be enjoying her classes.

mickey88

My baby girl is at playgroup now. Mind champs. The playgroup has like 5 kids only currently. 2 teacher and 1 relief teacher? My baby girl seems to be enjoying her classes.

Perhaps that why expensive. paying premium service ba

lovemuffins

Unfortunately the gov dun really support much..childcare leave oni 6 days per year..two kids oso same 6 days per year..events in childcare wan parents wan to involved..open house oso wan parents involved and not to mention to take care of them when they are sick..they tink parents god level meh..Now looking at pending at 9 percent gst..we hv to pragmatic that both parents need to work. can oni be selective on the programmes. Beside what the toddlers know abt building CNY stuff.. .and our dear gov can oni complain why birth rate r falling..wtf..hahhaha
V v sad but true ..although the ecc field pushes for more cc leaves and other incentives to parents as we are also parents ourselves but mostly fall on deaf ears. Thats why I became sahm partly no choice too. Who doesn't want financial independence?

standing

Ya.. I also don't understand why they think that take care 1 kid need 6 days leave.. 2 kids also need only 6 days leave..

They think school event all falls on same day and fall sick sick on same day?

mickey88

Ya.. I also don't understand why they think that take care 1 kid need 6 days leave.. 2 kids also need only 6 days leave..

They think school event all falls on same day and fall sick sick on same day?

Precisely...as if parents also wun fall sick or need to take a break. Now even I also dread of long weekend due to PH..meaning I need to play n entertain them extra one more day.:s13:

If there is a second lockdown due to virus..tink my lifespan will shorten considerably

hwmook

Hi, i was an admin staff from EtonHouse pre school. Trust me when i tell u this it does not matter which school u put ur child into. The only thing that matters is if ur fortunate enough to get a caring n responsible teacher. Do check out Kidz Meadow.

My wife is a early childhood educator and she has worked in many preschool before. The conclusion is same as above, having a good teacher is more important that sending to expensive childcare. The more expensive childcare does have better teacher to student ratio but that's all. Those that have better curriculum are those big chains like PCF, S4K, MFS, Mindchamps etc because they have people overseeing this so they tend to have better curriculum. I myself have a 3 years old attending childcare.

hwmook

Fully agree about the part that a lot of parents do not care about their children education, my colleagues all think like that. Luckily my wife and I think similarly and we love to talk/teach/write/draw together with our son. My parents did not educate me much when I was growing up but I aspire to be a different type of parent to my son.

lovemuffins

Fully agree about the part that a lot of parents do not care about their children education, my colleagues all think like that. Luckily my wife and I think similarly and we love to talk/teach/write/draw together with our son. My parents did not educate me much when I was growing up but I aspire to be a different type of parent to my son.

Your son blessed to have both u as parents! Happy parenting!

mickey88

Totally agreed..my parents era oso hv not provide much interaction or play with me..Not to mention toys..but again sometimes expectation n reality is two different tink..etc..I just receive message from childcare to see if attend zoom meeting on 6th of aug because of national day celebration at 9.45 to 10.15am..hello...i am working..not ba long long at home shake leg..i might have project meeting oso at the same time..expect to join but reality is harsh

shacesc

Hi!

First time parent here with a 10 month old baby girl!

So, I'm currently staying with my in-laws in Jurong, since my MIL is a housewife. And I initially planned to look for a childcare around Punggol area as my husband and I were supposed to be moving there next year. (BTO.) But, due to Covid-19, the constructions was delayed for another 9 more months, so roughly might get the keys by 3rd quarter of 2021.

Since there was a delay, I might not be able to register for childcare next year for my daughter at Punggol since the journey will be crazy!

Jurong > Punggol childcare > then back to Jurong!

My parents who are currently living in Punggol are both working, so they're unable to help look after my daughter. We always go back to Punggol on weekends.

I'm wondering, is it better to register my child next year in a childcare that's in Jurong and then register her again in a childcare that's in Punggol once the house is completed and ready for us to move in?

Or it's better to not register for any childcare first and just wait till the house is completed?

psytxtbk4exam

Hi!

First time parent here with a 10 month old baby girl!

So, I'm currently staying with my in-laws in Jurong, since my MIL is a housewife. And I initially planned to look for a childcare around Punggol area as my husband and I were supposed to be moving there next year. (BTO.) But, due to Covid-19, the constructions was delayed for another 9 more months, so roughly might get the keys by 3rd quarter of 2021.

Since there was a delay, I might not be able to register for childcare next year for my daughter at Punggol since the journey will be crazy!

Jurong > Punggol childcare > then back to Jurong!

My parents who are currently living in Punggol are both working, so they're unable to help look after my daughter. We always go back to Punggol on weekends.

I'm wondering, is it better to register my child next year in a childcare that's in Jurong and then register her again in a childcare that's in Punggol once the house is completed and ready for us to move in?

Or it's better to not register for any childcare first and just wait till the house is completed?

If she is enrolled now, she is in infant care. After 18 months is toddlers group. I think there’s no cons in starting next year compared to starting now for your situation.

mickey88

Wa... Play with words? Touch the ground..

Technically, from 20 stories jump down also can say is touched the ground hor..

lol..go n refer to hwmook wife whose is in educator line..It all abt who u meet in life tat make a difference.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.