Minister's Salary averages at 30+ months!

The_Davis

u are wrong.. some did more than 10 person job..
because they are holding director post for another 10 companies..

they are hard working.. can moonlight somemore.. how much work does a minister have.. need to work ot one or not har?
those director roles they only need to attend like a few hour meetings every year (maybe up to five per company)

i wonder if they are paid by the PAP during those few hours (If they don't have to take leave to do so)

cancer81

hmm.... yeah..there is that too... If you really want to talk about that, I can't and won't stop you. =:p

But, my focus is on accountability though. I mean, for MY bonus, I only get if I hit certain target. That's accountability.

How does one calculate THEIR performance bonus? Given that we have been told that their KPI was the GDP, which turns out to be just a component for ANOTHER bonus.

they dun deserve a single of bonus, it is their duty to make our lives better....

accountability? no need for that, we just sack them every 4 years....

isn't the entire point of this "exercise" to get more people to vote for opposition??

jaderman7

this is about salary, not monthly pay. ur bonus not included meh? ur bonus need to pay tax or not? =:p

If you look at the diagram, they came to 36 mths bonus by adding in the 12 months of monthly pay.

I don't know about you but monthly salary is not bonus.

Now of course the annual salary is more important, but THIS whole thread is on BONUS.

Please don't be to hasty to feel you have to be defender of dissident voices. Dissidence without critical thought is a desirable as foot rot.

jaderman7

What really stands out for me is not the funny unexplainable special bonus, but the fixed baseline for the performance bonus.

I.e. An average to poor performer still gets 10 mths performance bonus.

The way i see it, the special allowances and variable (fixed) bonuses related to functions you have to perform and pay for. Fine. But the performance bonus should not be a minimum of 10 mths.

ponpokku

If you look at the diagram, they came to 36 mths bonus by adding in the 12 months of monthly pay.

I don't know about you but monthly salary is not bonus.

Now of course the annual salary is more important, but THIS whole thread is on BONUS.

Please don't be to hasty to feel you have to be defender of dissident voices. Dissidence without critical thought is a desirable as foot rot.

take out the 12 mths it's still a hefty 24mth bonus max. doesnt that alarm u any bit?
the diagram might have wrong wording but there is nothing wrong with the thread. 36mth salary max. work 1 yr rest 2 yrs, good civil servant pay right?

looking at the tree and missed the forest. =:p

lobo76

they dun deserve a single of bonus, it is their duty to make our lives better....

accountability? no need for that, we just sack them every 4 years....

isn't the entire point of this "exercise" to get more people to vote for opposition??

ENTIRE point? no.. like I said, I had a 'focus' for the thread in mind. Even if I had an ulterior motive, an ENTIRE point for the thread it does not make.

moreover, wat's the point of voting in the opposition if they continue to have an unaccountable pay structure. It must be said that most of them seem to already have negative views on this anyway though.

cancer81

well if losing so many seats and seeing their GRC "fortress" fall is not enough to make them adjust and actually change those things....

then the PAP can await the coming of being in opposition very soon.

patience is not a virtue the electorate is supposed to have.
neither is forgiveness

StarSeeker

well if losing so many seats and seeing their GRC "fortress" fall is not enough to make them adjust and actually change those things....

then the PAP can await the coming of being in opposition very soon.

patience is not a virtue the electorate is supposed to have.
neither is forgiveness

Suddenly change from such high pay to more modest level is pretty hard for them to take lah.

Anyway, I know, if you keep poking fun of someone, someday, he will hit you back.

Just check this video.

Link:http://edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/news/584022/Bully_victim_now_hero_to_millions_.html

idkelvin

that was a pretty good slam.. hahah..
wonder when can the MIW get a slam like that for them to wake up..
so many bonus.. damn.. and dun even bother to explain and be transparent about it..
of coz no corruption for them.. system corrupted already to their own liking.. and can increase the amount of the corrupt money they want anytime with some lame reason can laio

cancer81

that was a pretty good slam.. hahah..
wonder when can the MIW get a slam like that for them to wake up..
so many bonus.. damn.. and dun even bother to explain and be transparent about it..
of coz no corruption for them.. system corrupted already to their own liking.. and can increase the amount of the corrupt money they want anytime with some lame reason can laio

either a new government is voted in and they learn while being opposition or they get a big setback and learn from that.

alfy

Anyone watched 'V for Vandetta' yesterday?
How inappropriate for MediaCorp to be playing this movie so close to the election.
:D

ponpokku

How inappropriate for MediaCorp to be playing this movie so close to the election.

well in reality wiping out the incumbents in one go might not be a fool-proof method to cut their salaries... =:p

NTB2DO

either a new government is voted in and they learn while being opposition or they get a big setback and learn from that.

My sentiment too.. It seems to me that their party has been in control for so long that they start to believe that they own the country (like in those old China dynasties) and can just do whatever they want.. regardless of whether the people like it or not..

cancer81

My sentiment too.. It seems to me that their party has been in control for so long that they start to believe that they own the country (like in those old China dynasties) and can just do whatever they want.. regardless of whether the people like it or not..

the funniest thing would be when the voters still vote large numbers of PAP candidates into parliament this coming elections.

so much for "We are ready for change" :s13:

Preacher1010

V For Vendetta

"Ideas are bulletproof" -

"One thing is true of all governments - their most reliable records are tax records."

"People should not be afraid of their goverments. Governments should be afraid of their people."

idkelvin

election very hard to choose leh.. all look equally bad esp they introduce the new comer.. how much salary for the new comer at PAP? haha..

cancer81

election very hard to choose leh.. all look equally bad esp they introduce the new comer.. how much salary for the new comer at PAP? haha..

MP is 10,000 allowance per mth... not sure if is only during parliament in session or not...

plus all the directorships....

*shrug

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.