MND report on AIM

koxinga

The report by MND is out. I will refrain from commenting on the report for now as I have yet to read through and analysis the contents. But here it is nevertheless.

MND report

trento

Basically no public funds loss, but that was never the issue for the public anyway.

Kiwi8

They coming up with that report is like treating the citizens as idiots. :s22:

ponpokku

heard on the news and it was like no public funds lost?

can they plz elaborate how much the whole developement costs and how much it was sold? and why it was sold when the town councils still need to use it? so far no numbers after such a long investigation?

i can only lol...

Inix

For a review that's done by MND, this is as good as it gets liao lah. I didn't expect anything that would be remotely critical, but what surprised me was the fact that MND actually highlighted the need for TCs to evolve and the never ending tension between TCs and HDB which is a very fair point.

Personally, I had faced with this issue recently where I had the HDB and TC finger point each other. And I'm not living in an opposition estate..

sunzoner

For a review that's done by MND, this is as good as it gets liao lah. I didn't expect anything that would be remotely critical, but what surprised me was the fact that MND actually highlighted the need for TCs to evolve and the never ending tension between TCs and HDB which is a very fair point.

Personally, I had faced with this issue recently where I had the HDB and TC finger point each other. And I'm not living in an opposition estate..

That is just a distraction from the core of the report.

Providence

Now the MND is looking into the town council management issues. Why must the authorities wait till something happens to take necessary actions? This is not efficient. And the government officials are getting paid handsomely every month. Why can't they just review everything in advance?

koxinga

The can of worms finally opened in Parliament yesterday and what a big can.

Bottom line from yesterday is, the rule on conflict of interest does not apply in its entirety as far as TC is concerned. If you read the report, AIM's bid was simply too good to be true and it has been acknowledged that AIM had the backing of PAP to make this offer and WP has been using a company (FM Services) with links to them. If we go strictly by AGO's and IM guidelines, even if there is no material benefits and one is doing a 'social' service, it is still a conflict of interest and the reason for such a strong line against it within the civil service is the probability that it is slippery slope to something more unsavory. Interesting and more interesting.

sunzoner

Bottom line from yesterday is, the rule on conflict of interest does not apply in its entirety as far as TC is concerned. If you read the report, AIM's bid was simply too good to be true and it has been acknowledged that AIM had the backing of PAP to make this offer and WP has been using a company (FM Services) with links to them. If we go strictly by AGO's and IM guidelines, even if there is no material benefits and one is doing a 'social' service, it is still a conflict of interest and the reason for such a strong line against it within the civil service is the probability that it is slippery slope to something more unsavory. Interesting and more interesting.

I wonder how MND's definition goes with CPIB's. Not saying that there is anything wrong, but CPIB's definition seems to be different...

James Tang

I wonder how MND's definition goes with CPIB's. Not saying that there is anything wrong, but CPIB's definition seems to be different...

Many years ago I was told by some speaker from CPIB that it is required (or something along the line) that if I am calling for tender for my company, and I have some relatives working in the companies putting up the bid, I have to declare the potential conflict of interest to my company even if my relative has nothing to do with the bidding process. This is to make sure that there will be no surprises when the bid is awarded

Carnage

So in the end it was a case of pot calling kettle black?

NTB2DO

Tsk.. tsk.. Khaw was still insisting that the AIM deal was "not" politically motivated..

Which to me, it's as believable as (ex-)MM's claim that paying themselves (his own, the PM and his ministers') world's highest ministerial salaries was to "prevent our men from becoming foreign labours and our women becoming maids in other countries"!!!

superman

Khaw have not answered why does the contract have a term which allow AIM to terminate the contract 1 month after there is a change of management of the TC and how does this term benefit residents?

Khaw say that WP can ask for an extension, which is true but the final decision is still up to AIM and why did the previous TC management give them this power.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.