Mobile car servicing

lycanboy

Hi guys, anyone tried those mobile car servicing?

They will come to your car instead of you going to the workshop. Planning to do simple things like changing EO, oil filter and maybe spark plugs.

Seen a few of them on Carousell but not sure if they are skillful/reliable.

Any reviews? Thank you!

Sent from a device that is not using GAGT

PrOfAtSiR

CCCustom

What are the legal implications for you, the car owner, for doing such servicing (in particular, the oil change) on non private property, and in case of spillage of oil or improper disposal of used oil?

If you don't know, I suggest you find out ... and I don't mean asking these guys offering the service.

EJB

Sekali they drain the oil and let it drip on the spot... then somebody threw a lighted cigarette... then... ho seh liao.

jury_pack

Sekali they drain the oil and let it drip on the spot... then somebody threw a lighted cigarette... then... ho seh liao.

Nothing will happen de la.. Lol... But hor, all these mobile servicing de, one day sure kena from hdb and nea.

lycanboy

lol. so i guess no one tried it....?

their prices are 40% cheaper though

yanbros

I dare say, some of their prices are even cheaper than jb price. For small jobs and simple replacement, i will get them to do. But if more intensive job, I will go jb or local workshop.

CCCustom

lol. so i guess no one tried it....?

their prices are 40% cheaper though
This is something I noticed only in this forum, not in any of the car make/model specific forums. Can afford car but want to look for all these kinds of nonsense to save money. Srsly, treat your car well and it will serve you well.

You really want to save money, bring your own oil go look for Pak Rahmat at Sin Ming Industrial or any other pakcik workshops, $20-$30 cheap cheap get your oil changed in a proper workshop where your car is lifted on a Bishamon instead of jackstands, and with proper used oil disposal.

PrOfAtSiR

This is something I noticed only in this forum, not in any of the car make/model specific forums. Can afford car but want to look for all these kinds of nonsense to save money. Srsly, treat your car well and it will serve you well.

You really want to save money, bring your own oil go look for Pak Rahmat at Sin Ming Industrial or any other pakcik workshops, $20-$30 cheap cheap get your oil changed in a proper workshop where your car is lifted on a Bishamon instead of jackstands, and with proper used oil disposal.
I done mine at a ah pek workshop.

Labour $10,oil and filter I bring.

Sent from universal studio using GAGT

CCCustom

If TS is still not convinced this is a bad idea, let me just point out ...

If you live in private property you can even do your own servicing yourself if you have the right tools. Just make sure no oil flows out of your private property. But then again if you're living in private property you probably won't even be considering this at all ;)

But if you're thinking to do this in a non-private area, say, a HDB carpark ... once someone walks past and decides to report to HDB and/or NEA, the person they will be reporting is you, not the person doing the servicing ... because they will report by the licence plate. The person who files the complaint probably won't know who the person doing the servicing is or which vehicle belongs to them, but they will know which vehicle is getting the oil changed, etc. If they take photo to send in to HDB/NEA it will be photo of your vehicle.

So ... yeah, don't do stupid things just to save a bit of money, hmm? ;)

yanbros

How about those ah bang that always wash, mod, lepak with their bikes under void decks? Haha.. I spoke to one ah bang before on this. He said, I rather let my son do it under void deck and know what he is doing than let him roam the streets dunno where he is and dunno what he is doing. But I guess, that's another story altogether. He told me the next block got people complaint him before. But I guess nothing happen. Else I won't be seeing him downstairs anymore.

seowbin

Seriously $10 for labour is dirt cheap. I once did it for $20 or $30 and I thought it was damn cheap already.
Autobacs used to have 30 oil change when u bring your own oil + filter

Now no more. Price like double. Sian

lycanboy

If TS is still not convinced this is a bad idea, let me just point out ...

If you live in private property you can even do your own servicing yourself if you have the right tools. Just make sure no oil flows out of your private property. But then again if you're living in private property you probably won't even be considering this at all ;)

But if you're thinking to do this in a non-private area, say, a HDB carpark ... once someone walks past and decides to report to HDB and/or NEA, the person they will be reporting is you, not the person doing the servicing ... because they will report by the licence plate. The person who files the complaint probably won't know who the person doing the servicing is or which vehicle belongs to them, but they will know which vehicle is getting the oil changed, etc. If they take photo to send in to HDB/NEA it will be photo of your vehicle.

So ... yeah, don't do stupid things just to save a bit of money, hmm? ;)
Thank you for your humble sharing!

You must be a real successful person with lots of free time to browse through so many different forums for different car brands to come up with this sharing!

:D

Sent from a device that is not using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.